We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canute Cottages
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Chichester
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crouchers Hotel(Chichester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nags Head(Chichester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Goodwood Hotel(Chichester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown(Emsworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
36 On the Quay(Emsworth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
16
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 16 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I rented the Old Dairy with our two dogs in March 13 to attend an event at Goodwood Race Track.

The first thing I would say is that the website undersells itself as the cottages are bigger and much nicer than portrayed in the rather small photos.

Furnishings are to a high standard and the heating worked well (personally tested to -5c). The kitchen is well equipped and the beds comfortable. The owner welcomes well behaved dogs, and although the literature mentions a preference for small dogs our two labs felt comfortable and were made welcome.

The cottages are formed out of former farm buildings (probably stables) and form a courtyard with car parking at the far end. Three spaces are under cover. There is a common washing/utility room with very extensive local tourist information laid out and a Barn with some indoor games (Skittles/Ping Pong etc) to keep the children happy on rainy days. Each cottage has a small garden with seating outside.


The coast is a five minute walk away and a pathway around the peninsular allows access to a private path network that is available to guests that offers a delightful walk taking in the coast and some woodland. Great for kids and dogs alike.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and had no complaints. If staying in summer I suspect privacy would be a little limited with the cottages overlooking each other and any noisy guests would not find themselves popular. A rainy day might see demand for the barn games being high if a large number of children were in residence.

The only minus point for me was that towels are charged as an extra at £3 per person. This seemed a little trivial as the rental prices are in the sort of bracket where one would assume that towels and linen are included.

All in all I would recommend Canute Cottages to anyone who is looking for family accommodation and wants an environment that offers something for everyone.

A genuine find that we would not hesitate to return to. Our thanks go to Diana and her staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoeingBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I've been coming to canute for around 8 years, and since my first visit I've been very much in love.

Always a warm welcome from Diana, with an array of goodies waiting on us when we arrive (Cobnor apple juice, short bread)

The setting is lovely, just a short walk from the beach and surrounded by fields, it's like a whole other world.

If you're thinking of booking up, do it !

You will not regret it.

Thank you Diana.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

I booked one of these cottages after seeing their website. I wanted somewhere I could take my Mum who is in a wheelchair and Canute Cottages seemed to offer the approprite facilities. I hoped I had made the right choice as some properties claim to be fully accessible and you find they have only made a small gesture such as a ramp etc. But Canute Cottages is fantastic. I could get the wheelchair around the cottage and surroundings easily. Diana, the owner, was so helpful and provided a fireside chair for my Mum when asked and was anxious to know if we needed anything else - did I want the heating adjusted, was my Mum warm enough? The cottage decor is beautiful - matching pine furniture and very comfortable beds. There is a laundry room and masses of books, games, DVDs etc. It was lovely to sit on the patio outside the cottage for afternoon tea or a gin and tonic later. The biggest bonus of all was the wheelchair accessible path that has been created for about a mile along the sea wall. It is not usually easy to get a wheelchair to such a beautiful unspoiled area. The cottages are located in a truly peaceful and unspoiled spot - but a short drive up the peninusular to the main road are shops and restaurants and access to other lovely places such as Bosham, Dell Quay, Emsworth. I enjoyed my week so much that I have already booked to go again next Spring.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank solotripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We have stayed at Canute Cottages for the past 8 years, and have no hesitation in recommending it unreservedly. It is beautifully situated, impeccably run by Diana, and boasts admirable green credentials. I know that most guests return year after year – some twice a year. I have not stayed at the campsite, but that also appears to be well-appointed, and I know it also has a large group of very loyal regulars. I can only suppose that the previous reviewer must be referring to a different establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SailorS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

We have actually stayed at Canute Cottages about 5 or 6 times and quite honestly I think the person that wrote the previous review has the wrong end of the stick which is such a shame. Am very sorry they had such an awful experience but would like to make clear the owner is (a) not a man and is (b) certainly the most lovely, helpful and accommodating person you could meet! My personal experience is that Canute Cottages themselves are smashing. They're well equipped & spotless, all mod cons, very well maintained indeed and nicely furnished, including beautiful paintings. We particularly liked how easy it was to recycle everything and that we could walk to the one of the best pubs in the world in about 15 minutes. The cottages are set in such a tranquil off the beaten track place you can't help but instantly feel relaxed and be amazed by the scenery, the mass of stars at night as there's no light polution and the unbelievable sunsets with a view across to the Isle of Wight. Just last Sunday I saw, against the backdrop of a sunset by the sea, curlews, egrits and herons plus a complete mass of snowdrops and that was just in the winter! And the owner Diana is both on hand should you need her and unobtrusive. Diana is also the campsite owner so somewhere along the way the previous reviewer has recieved incorrect info. Would I recommend these cottages & campsite? Oh Yes! My cousins are staying there in April!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marleneandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews