We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Stunning

Fantastic mosaic floors very well displayed under cover. There isa museum as well but when we went... read more

Reviewed yesterday
safariUk
,
Worcester, United Kingdom
Really interesting

Although a bit hidden away, the Fishbourne Palace is a fascinating glimpse of the Roman activity in... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Alanthebairn
,
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Read all 937 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chichester
from $19.82
More Info
from $50.21
More Info
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveler rating
548
310
61
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
548
310
61
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mosaic floors guided tour amazing mosaics introductory film well worth a visit housing estate under cover short film behind the scenes school children small museum hands on activities school trip interesting visit information boards half term cafe on site
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 937 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ok but a tad dull. Probably best for school trips studying the Romans. Plenty of car parking space but be aware of the primary school opening & closing times as parents use the car park to pick children up

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Couchy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

We found this Palace from the internet and were very glad that we did. The guide we had was very good at his job and very informative, The size of this palace was very impressive and we were told it was the largest in the United kingdom and part of Europe. We were interested to learn how it was discovered by a water board employee and how a local archaeologist and benefactor did the amazing thing of buying the site from the developers who had wanted to build houses there. Sadly we can not see the full extent of the palace as a large part is under housing, The guide asked us to guess why the owner offered them to investigate under their gardens and he said it was mostly to get their gardens dug but they do have on display part mosaics found under gardens, The garden has been planted as close as it can be to Roman times. We were very grateful to our guide who pictured life in Roman palace in Roman times and introduced us to the controversy of peacock or Scallops in the design of the mosaics.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

I last visited during my student days whilst studying Roman History & was delighted to revisit & share the Fishbourne experience with my husband. This is history at its best - a remarkable record of the archeology & accidental discovery of this splendid Roman Palace. Our remarkable guide set the scene for us & one could not help getting immersed in his passion for things Roman. He was super knowledgeable & he delivered his presentation with humour & precision. He involved the younger members of the group & held their interest too. His explanation/ translation of the beautiful mosaics was fascinating. What a wonderful resource for local schools with a supporting array of interactive activities to enhance understanding of what life was like at this Roman Palace. I thoroughly enjoyed naming the individual pieces of Roman armour - happy memories of Latin lessons at school! We especially enjoyed the gardens - amazing how many of our present day garden herbs & plants were probably in use at Fishbourne. Would certainly recommend a visit - do allow yourself ample time to see & enjoy everything which Fishbourne has to share!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Looking for something to do on a September afternoon we stumbled across this museum, which was amazing the display is organised in a sequential manner but it is the mosaics that truly take the breath away showing what astounding craftsmanship and engineering and answering the question “what did the Romans do for us?”

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank readman191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

This part of the Palace was found by accident before housing was built over it. Unfortunately this can't be said of the other half of the Palace whose remains lie beneath a road and house. What is on display is so grand and unique that you can't help wondering what that other half would have been like. Thank goodness this section was found. The museum has some well presented and interesting finds . You can get a very good feel of how the Palace worked. There was a free guide at 12 noon who spoke clearly of the history of the site, how the excavation took place and the translation of the mosaics. A brilliant , mind enhancing place.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank 15traveladdict9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews