We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't drive past it!”
Review of The Spur

The Spur
Ranked #32 of 53 Restaurants in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Spur Inn is a Family run Traditional Country Pub with a separate Restaurant and a Skittle Alley. The pub has open fires and oak beams with a friendly cosy atmosphere. Serving excellent home made pub food. Well known for our Traditional Sunday Roasts. We are not a Gastro Pub. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Don't drive past it!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Easy to miss The Spur as it is set back from a dual carriageway - set in a great location and on a good day really lovely to sit in the gardens. Prompt service for food but trying to order in the bar was a bit tricky as the two people behind the bar were busy chatting to each other and not really paying much attention to anyone waiting to be served.
The pub food is good and well priced but be aware that on Sundays, because they do a roast meal, the bar menu is very limited - although you can order from the a la carte.
There is also a restaurant in the pub with an interesting and varied menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharjahsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    50
    17
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly mid week meal.”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I went to the Spur for the first time on a weekday evening to meet old friends who I had not seen for ages and we had a good, relaxed and tasty meal there. Service was attentive, the pub/restaurant was spacious and the atmosphere was friendly without being intrusive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumbo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could be SO much better”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great location but food poor and overpriced for what it is. Limited menu and what they do cook they don't do well. Greasy but not crispy and there is very little fresh food. It's a great shame 'cos prime location, nice site but food (and prices) aren't good. Such a waste of a prime site.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sheridan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A good pub. You don't notice it's set right by the main road side”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've had a mixed view of this pub over the year as the food is always good and prompt to arrive but the service has sometimes been a bit up and down. The pub's menu is great and averagely priced for the area and the staff have always been friendly. On a quiet day they are great but when it begins to pick up they sometimes become a bit undone. That said, I would definitely recommend this pub to others and will continue to visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We visited this Pub for a Sunday lunch , and after ordering our drinks and main courses at the Bar, decided to go and sit in the lovely large Garden. We ordered 3 roasts of the day and a coronation chicken salad , and they arrived quickly and were perfectly cooked. The portion size was good and the Service was fantastic . Upon clearing our empty plates ,the Waitress asked if we wanted to see the dessert menu, and then took our order to the Bar , together with an extra drinks order !! The Bill was a little more expensive than we would normally pay, but hey !! if you want cheap, go to Wetherspoons !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spur also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to The Spur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing