We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed - lack of service and facilities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Town House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arundel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Town House
Ranked #7 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very disappointed - lack of service and facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed at The Town House as it looked like a handsome boutique hotel on it's own website. We got there late (about 9pm at night) and were asked to walk through the restaurant to access the stairs leading to the room (no reception) which was difficult as we had cases, so instead went through the side alley to go up 2 flights of stairs to the room we had booked. The room was small, and the cleanliness was average at best. There were nice L'occitane toiletries and tea and biscuits, yet no proper shower (just bath with shower head), no cotton wool etc. The restaurant was good, food was fresh. However it was loud and we found it difficult to sleep.

Another traveller described this hotel as a restaurant with rooms upstairs and that exactly what it was. There was no seating area either, just restaurant and rooms.

There is scarce choice for breakfast, which was included in the rate, just cereal and a cooked breakfast. No fruit/yoghurt/pancakes etc. Additionally, breakfast is only offered between 8.30 and 9.30am, which is a short time frame. Sometimes with small hotels, it can feel as though one is intruding on someones homes..
Check out was 11am, and as we had attended a wedding the night before, we asked if we could have a later check out. This is a reasonable request and generally available at hotels. However we were told the room had to be turned around and we couldnt have this. So we decided to check out and ask if we could leave our bags there so we could tour the area. We were told we couldnt leave our bags at all. We found this most unhelpful and actually rude, so much so we could not recommend this hotel or return to it again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElizabethWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    16
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
81
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

This is a very well located hotel to visit the area. Over the walll from Arundel Castle and great location for the south east coast.. The room was comfortable and well serviced during our 3 night stay. The food in the restaurant was superb. The staff are very helpful and friendly. You can't ask for more from the accommodation. Would love to try it in the off season as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

The whole character of this tiny restaurant with rooms is just perfect. We could not fault the attention to detail of any part of the hotel and we ate one of the best diners ever. My lobster was perfect and the chocolate fondant was sublime.
Definitely the only place to stay in Arundel

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoyntonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

The lunch menu is great! I wouldn't normally have fish but the monkfish was mindblowing!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olliebattams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

We had a fantastic 2 night stay at the Townhouse a couple of weeks ago. Our room had a four poster bed, flat screen tv and tea making facilities as well as a box of home made biscuits (which were very nice!). Our room looked out over the castle - so it could not have been better. Breakfast was superb and we had dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday night and the food is top notch. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and they could not do enough for us. We visited with our 4 months old baby.
Arundel is a great place to visit with lots of nice little shops and lovely scenary - it's well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

We were booked to stay here for a few nights and booked The suite with the four poster bed - room was very nice but bathroom let it down, no proper shower, just an attachment over the bath, which wasnt great. Room was very noisy, directly over restaurant also, so we had really bad night, with noise from a party in the restaurant and the traffic. Food However is EXCELLENT. We had a fantastic evening meal and breakfast. chef is superb. I would definately use the restaurant again, but the rooms werent for me.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

The room was large, nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom was good too. We had a 4 poster bed and were overlooking the main street, opposite the castle. The location is fantastic, but at night it was very noisy with the window open - traffic and people well into the early hours. The food & wine were delicious in the restaurant and the wide choice of breakfast is very tasty. The staff are very friendly.

Ask the owners where to park - there is no hotel parking, but you can park up the hill a bit - there were no parking patrols at the time.

The castle is well worth looking around, if this is your thing. The gardens (especially Inigo Jones's) are better than the inside, in my opinion.

I would stay here again. Arundel is quite busy with tourists.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_Whelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arundel hotels
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
0.6 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House

Property: The Town House
Address: 65 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Arundel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing