We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and Beautiful. We will be back!”
Review of The Town House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arundel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Town House
Ranked #5 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and i stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and we were not dissappointed! I originally found this little gem by searching for some where special to have a meal and then realised they did accommodation too. We wanted somewhere close to Fontwell Race Course, but not a budget hotel as it was a special occasion. After a quick email to check availability we were soon booked in for dinner, bed and breakfast at a really reasonable rate! We opted for the double room on booking (as i thought my husband might upgrade as a suprise) but it turned out he didnt need to as they upgraded us to the suite anyway. Thanks!! We were also able to check in early to get changed in time for the races, and upon arrival we had a lovely welcome and was pleased to see the restaurant full too! (always a good sign when you are booked in for dinner)
The check in was friendly and we had all the info we needed without being bombarded. The room itself is stunning, lovely high ceilings, four poster bed, free standing mirror, double doors leading to a balcony and best of all, Views of Arundel Castle. So gorgeous! We loved all the little touches, ie sweets on the mantle piece and complimentary toiletries. I loved the bath (as i dont have one at home) but some might miss a shower, although there is an attachment on the bath! Plenty of hot water and warm towels. We popped out for a drink in a local pub before dinner but was soon back for a glass of bubbly and a yummy dinner. The restaurant again was full but this didnt faulter the service or the quality. We both opted for the Chateau briand and it was absolutely mouth watering! As was the rest of our meal and wine. After a great nights sleep we woke up to a hearty breakfast which again was lovely. Obviously local, good quality ingredients are used and Lee and the rest of the staff care about what they do! We had such a lovely and memorable anniversary, its gonna be hard to beat. Thanks again for a wonderful stay and we will definately be back.
Hannah & Terry Hill
N. Yorks

Room Tip: We didnt see the other rooms but the suite is lovely and had a great view! It is on the road so ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanhanhill24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 127 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here 10th 11th October. Interesting delicious food served with a personal touch.
Only 4 bedrooms - choose the suite if its available as our back bedroom was a bit small - however this was more than made up for by the great food and personal service. Simply lovely dining room with an amazing ceiling and a welcoming atmosphere. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: Front rooms are bigger and have a good view of the castle walls and main street but the back rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supergrannyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Looking for a short midweek break in Sussex we stumbled across The Townhouse on the internet. All sounded too good to be true BUT we were not disappointed. We opted for the 3-night offer of B&B and evening meal. The food and wine list superb; very friendly with good accommodation; and very reasonably priced. We have already recommended Lee and co to friends and family and hope to return ourselves one day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosalie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and ate in the hotel for 3 evening meals. The food was home made, exceptionally good and was a real delight for breakfast and evening meal. Great wine choice supported the menu well. The host was genial and gave good advice about the neighbouring places to visit. Our fellow guests were staying for one, or more nights, and we could tell they all loved the place as we overheard many positive comments about the food, the hotel and it's fabulous ceiling!
Our suite was large and comfortable, with ample hot water readily available. We only had to ask for personal tastes to be accommodated such as hardness of pillows. The response was quick and friendly.
I just wish (as nearly all hotels nowadays) that there was better facilities and lighting for my wife to put on her hair and make-up.
Strongly recommend this hotel for a short or longer period of time, it will certainly impress.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just spent 3 days at the Townhouse over Goodwood Revival. Rooms are clean, well appointed and a reasonable size. Bathroom has good quality towels and amenities.

Ate there every night and easily picked out something new each night. Quality of food is excellent with a good wine list to complement. Restaurant is always full and full of atmosphere. Paul very attentive even when clearly busy.

Lee does a fabulous breakfast to set you up for the day and we have a nice entertaining start to the day as we all rib each other.

Parking is a challenge but as stated by another reviewer managable with patience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have been visiting Arundel since 1974 and have stayed in most local hotels,this time we couldn`t get into the Norfolk,nor the Swan and Arundel House was also full.Thinking we`d have to travel out of town we were pleased to find out that the previously ignored Town House had one vacancy.We settled for B&B but Lee said that if we changed our minds he`d honour the BB&Dinner offer.we decided,after a walk round town,to take him up on it.To start I tried the scallops and belly pork my wife the crab with mango salsa,for mains chateaubriand and lobster followed by a cheeseboard.With pre dinner drinks,a bottle of muscadet and 4 large remy martins;our bill for the nights accomodation,dinner with all that alcohol and a smoked salmon and scarmbled egg breakfast was £221!Where on the south coast are you going to get that?combined with friendly and extreme efficient service,nowhere else.We will be back I promise you only this time we`ll book.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lot36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I went to the Town house today on my own as was passing through on business and wanted to go the the Town House for lunch previously, I must say the food was excellent, the bread which is obviously home made is to die for I could of eaten that forever . The quality of the food is excellent and it is very good value for the food of this standard which you would pay a lot more for in london restaurants.
I do not agree with previous comments on the service being pompus, I found the service very professional, atriculate and they made me fee special and welcome

Highly recommend this restaurant

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank noopster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
739 reviews
0.0 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,137 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House

Address: 65 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range: $113 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Arundel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing