We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room- Great Building-Poor service”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Swan
Ranked #7 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Room was great.
Service was poor, and restaurant very over priced and a chef that doesnt know how to present food or cook a fried egg! A very dissapointing Birthday meal which put a dampner on the next days events

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksd4542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 339 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2009

we held our wedding and reception at the white swan, it was a lovely venue and we were so happy to have chosen this hotel.the staff were very accomodating for all our requests, and every one who stayed thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partridgeWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Room was lovely. Gorgeous decor (recenyly refurbished) Hotel catered to every special request I made and were wonderful. Wi Fi in the hotel lobby but I could connect in my room. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were amazing so friendly and helpful especially the manager and the bar staff. Would recommend stayed at the Hilton the month before but preferred the Swan by far.Will be staying in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speaks32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed here for one night, (we were going to the Goodwood Festival of Speed). The hotel is ok, it is on a busy main road, you couldn't really walk into Arundel for the evening. The staff are very freindly and helpful. Room was fine with comfy beds, though not sure it's £86 worth. Resturaunt is just a normal pub, food did not look brilliant so we gave it a miss and went into town (can recommend Shades Wine bar & Bistro).

As many guests were going to Goodwood, we were told they would serve breakfast at 8am (normally served from 8.30 at the weekend), however at 8am all that was available was toast and cereal served by the Nightporter. We gave it a miss. I think the hotel would do well to serve breakfast earlier, bearing in mind many do use it when attending events at Goodwood.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoot180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MISTY108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clipboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arundel hotels
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,123 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
717 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Address: 16 Chichester Road, Arundel BN18 0AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range: $98 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its full refurbishment The White Swan Inn is now back on Arundel’s map situated just 5 minutes outside of Arundel and perfectly located for easy travel to Chichester, Fontwell and Goodwood. Now part of Pebble Hotels The White Swan has strived to create a contemporary edge to this traditional property with a blend of oak beams, open fires, bold fabrics and striking artwork. Relax in the fabulous new lounge with free WiFi access or enjoy a chilled glass of wine in the beautiful bar and restaurant where the new menus are served all day. The new look ensuite bedrooms offer all personal amenities, 24 hour room service, broadband internet connection and tea and coffee making facilities. Full English Breakfast is charged at an additional £9.50 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Arundel
White Swan Arundel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing