We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Swan
Ranked #7 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my finance we had a wonderful time. The breakfast was delicious and the hotel was fabulous. We stayed in room 7 lovely and cosy. Staff were also great, we would certainly visit again

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Louise003CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 339 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We had our local branch lunch here today and I will certainly visit again
We had a marvellous lunch with plenty of turkey and all the trimmings and it was very tasty, starters was prawn cocktail with plenty of prawns and we had a lovely crumble for desert.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and did everything to help us

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank winegum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Went to a Wedding Reception on Saturday 28th September 2013 and it was excellent, the rooms were very clean, the staff were very welcoming. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic with continental breakfast follwed by an English Breakfast but the menu was very varied with kippers etc on it

Room Tip: If you are booking a room ask for a room thats not on the family side as these can be a bit noisy if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This celebration was superbly stage managed by a very professional and empathic wedding planner by the name of Gail.
After the service we came out of the ceremony room into the anti room to the Buck's Fizz, which was laid out onto the table spelling out the initials of the happy couple such a lovely touch.
The Wedding Breakfast was served and was of a good standard, the staff were quick and polite.
After the all the speeches were made the room was quickly transformed from a beautiful breakfast room to a disco room for the evening.
The buffet food served in the evening looked tempting, however, the means of transferring it from serving platter to plate was fingers only, with the exception of the quiche, there were open sandwiches , sausage rolls, and loaded potato skins sausages with bacon wrapped around them, amongst others, I realise it was a finger buffet! however the term does not including the transfer from serving dish to plate.Please! White Swan please! Address this hygene issue.
The room we had was clean and pleasant, I did expect double glazing in this day and age, and did not expect to find a dead crane fly in the bath.
Break fast the next morning was cooked to order, with plenty of choice, but the tea! After making a 2nd cup which tasted the same as the 1st, of wood smoke, it was extremely unpleasant, a member of staff was spoken to about this and answered that it was the same normal tea they used every day- really!
The price of the rooms for the guests of a wedding are not exactly cheap but it did include breakfast.
if you book this Hotel for a celebration male sure Gail organises your function.

Room Tip: Take your own tea bags if you don't want smoked wood flavours tea for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crisib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A nice location and although a pleasant exterior and decor the rooms are quite dated and rough around the edges. The staff are friendly but probably low calibre.

Basic facilities are not catered for, there is no ironing board in the rooms, the TV is something from the 80's and the advertised WIFI is not accessible in areas other than the bar. On the plus side the bed was comfortable - it was a no frills sleep.

The menu looked great, traditional British pub grub, in reality it was low quality, cooked by a teenager and over priced. My £22 cooked rare T bone steak for example represented the bottom of my shoe.

This place is probably ok for a last resort or trip on a budget - keep your expectations low and you may be surprised. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

A quick lunch on the road is so much better in a place like this. We had a variety of choices from hot to cold food. Sandwiches to full main meals as well as a great offer of afternoon tea for 2.

The staff were great I asked for a change in my meal and this was done with smile.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank TamaraAsling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel met all of our expectations. It is located right outside of the city center. The room was well appointed and clean. It looked a little larger than most European rooms. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom facilities worked. The shower had plenty of hot water. The bar was nice and had a friendly bartender. The restaurant had really good food and friendly waiters. I would definitely stay here again! I would also recommend it to people visiting Arundel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyK835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arundel hotels
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,123 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
717 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Address: 16 Chichester Road, Arundel BN18 0AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range: $98 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its full refurbishment The White Swan Inn is now back on Arundel’s map situated just 5 minutes outside of Arundel and perfectly located for easy travel to Chichester, Fontwell and Goodwood. Now part of Pebble Hotels The White Swan has strived to create a contemporary edge to this traditional property with a blend of oak beams, open fires, bold fabrics and striking artwork. Relax in the fabulous new lounge with free WiFi access or enjoy a chilled glass of wine in the beautiful bar and restaurant where the new menus are served all day. The new look ensuite bedrooms offer all personal amenities, 24 hour room service, broadband internet connection and tea and coffee making facilities. Full English Breakfast is charged at an additional £9.50 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Arundel
White Swan Arundel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing