We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but............”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Swan
Ranked #7 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I only stayed for one night in the week before Christmas. The hotel appeared to be very quiet. Having said that the hotel was very nice and welcoming and typical "Olde English" type of decor and set up.
My room was at the back of the hotel and there was some noise during the night from either an air con or extractor fan. The room included coffee/tea making facilities and was very spacious. The bed was a large double and very comfortable. My only complaint was that when I tried to have a shower, I let the hot tap run for a good five minutes and the hot water was still only lukewarm.
The following morning, before I showered, I ran the hot water and it miraculously appeared almost immediately! At this point, there was a power blackout and it took a good 10 minutes before any form of power was restored.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel and will come back in the future if I am ever in that particular area again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willymuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 349 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Although it was claimed to be one of Swan Hotel’s best rooms it proved to be a great disappointment. It was small and contained neither wardrobe nor any drawers which meant that we lived out of our suitcases for two nights. Although ostensibly a ‘double’ the bed would be better described as a large single. Moreover the room contained only one chair for its two occupants. A wooden board supported by two trestles served as a worktop/desk but without dedicated lighting it could not be used as such.’ Arundel is well worth a visit, and in other respects the Swan is very central and has much to commend it, with friendly helpful staff and an excellent breakfast menu, but steer clear of room 11 and avoid paying the sort of price (£110) that we were charged.

Room Tip: avoid room eleven
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoreleiladyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for a night on a short visit to Arundel, and were very impressed. The hotel is so easy to find, with plenty of parking (which is a real problem everywhere else in Arundel for small hotels, we have found) and a gorgeous, cosy, comfortable bar area with a lovely warm log fire. The staff are really nice and smiley and go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. Couldn't fault the rooms, they were clean and warm, not too big but not small either. Also Arundel castle and the town centre is not a very long walk away. Will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrinalini10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three days, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was a good size, nice and warm and the initial impression was good.

However, the bathroom was not the cleanest, it was in need of some TLC. The hot / cold symbol was missing from the tap, the radiator on the wall was loose, paint on the coving is coming off, the chrome was all smeared on handles and taps etc. A few small improvements and the bathroom would have been a lot better.

I wasn't overly impressed with the bed, I found it hard and uncomfortable. The bed had a noisy creak when you moved which kept waking me up.

On the plus side the breakfast was good and I also had some evening meals, both were very nice as was the local beer.

Not sure that I would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlistairNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Swan hotel for one night recently.

The room was quite small, and needed a little TLC, but aside from the bathroom tiles being a little grotty it was very clean and comfortable. We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant and was very impressed. The food and service was excellent.

Although I think the rooms are a little overpriced, though this can be excused by small touches like a small flask of cold milk in the room as opposed to those horrible little long life cartons and lovely complimentary toiletries as well as the lovely choice and quality of breakfast.

I would stay there again, it was very comfortable and Arundel was a beautiful town to spend an evening.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a hotel that has lost it's vibrancy. It's just an average hotel with a boring menu and not very friendly staff. We didn't eat here because the menu didn't look very appetising, which was justified as the breakfast was served by the most miserable waiter and was basic at best. The rooms were clean and adequate but the dreaded bathroom fan noise from next door woke us up a few times.

Room Tip: Avoid air con and bathroom fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deneuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Visiting Sussex for the first time we chose this hotel as very central to visit surrounding area. We could not have asked for anything better. The room was large, very quiet and spotless and staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Restaurant served excellent food, very well presented and service very quick even though there was a party of 20 in on one of the evenings. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Back of hotel probably best as busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
1.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
769 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,243 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
226 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
4.7 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Address: 16 Chichester Road, Arundel BN18 0AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range: $64 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its full refurbishment The White Swan Inn is now back on Arundel’s map situated just 5 minutes outside of Arundel and perfectly located for easy travel to Chichester, Fontwell and Goodwood. Now part of Pebble Hotels The White Swan has strived to create a contemporary edge to this traditional property with a blend of oak beams, open fires, bold fabrics and striking artwork. Relax in the fabulous new lounge with free WiFi access or enjoy a chilled glass of wine in the beautiful bar and restaurant where the new menus are served all day. The new look ensuite bedrooms offer all personal amenities, 24 hour room service, broadband internet connection and tea and coffee making facilities. Full English Breakfast is charged at an additional £9.50 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Arundel
White Swan Arundel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing