We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming Hotel”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Swan
Ranked #7 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We spent a night in this Hotel on a very cold January night. Our room looked fantastic until I sat on the bed, to find that the mattress had collapsed. I told reception who came and had a look and immediately changed our room. Unfortunately the toilet in ths room did not flush, so we ended up with the keys to both rooms. As I said it was the very cold spell just after a warm spell and the heating was not working as well as it could, but we were given a heater to suppliment the meagre heat from the radiators.
When we went to down for dinner the receptionist called us over and gave us a voucher for a free night B & B which we thought was really kind of them.
The menu in the restaurant is a bit limited and quite pricey, but the food was good. If you do not normally eat a lot, then look for the choices that have a smaller portion.
Breakfast was very good with a lot of choice.
We went back for our free night in February and had an excellent time.

Room Tip: The rooms through the bar are quieter and warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aitchraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 338 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

stayed here for a friends wedding reception, the room we stayed in was lovely and the bed was super comfy! the staff were nice and the standard of the rooms food and general service were high...the breakfast offered was superb, had a lovely time here, hotel was very easy to find...would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Lovely hotel, not too far from Chichester and the surrounding area. You can walk into Arundel in about 20 mins. The rooms were good, clean and comfortable. The Restaurant & Bar were great, good food & helpful staff. Just what we were looking for. Will definitly be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Arrived Saturday afternoon and although the temperature outside was very cold I was dismayed to find that the bar felt just as cold and not one single fire was lit as shown on the website. Unfortunately the room was even colder - we had to ask for a blow heater. The room was comfortable once it was warm but the TV took at least 10 minutes to come on. I also didn't like the smell of smoke in the corridor outside the rooms belonging to the staff. However on the plus side the staff were very helpful and the food was good. I would have been more disappointed if I had paid the full rate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for a weekend. The hotel is pleasant, warm, friendly and very reasonably priced. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I cant understand the negative points about the distance from Arundel. It's only a 20 minute walk and although its a main road it has a path all the way down. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a beautiful view. We had a tv, tea, coffee, biscuits, clean towels every day and toiletries. I would definately stay here again and would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Very reasonably priced, the breakfast was immense, good fry up, fruit juices, tea coffee, toast. good food menu for lunch and dinner, if I stayed longer, I probably would of ate there as well. The room was very nice, neatly presented, good shower, clean bathroom. Staff very friendly, happy to chat with you while they work!!

good location, if you're lazy and dont want to walk to arundel, then taxi's are only a fiver. Happy days, and staff are happy to call you a cab.

if anyone says this place is naff, they're lying.

enjoy

Room Tip: Go on www.trivago.co.uk. (best prices)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Clean and neat rooms, good value for money and very comfy bed! Only downsides would be the location, as a twenty minute walk down a very busy road to arundel, and having to walk through the bar to the hotel rooms but small grumbles really overall considering the price we paid (54.50 for one nights b n b for a double room).

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyandsophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arundel hotels
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,117 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
715 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Address: 16 Chichester Road, Arundel BN18 0AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range: $100 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its full refurbishment The White Swan Inn is now back on Arundel’s map situated just 5 minutes outside of Arundel and perfectly located for easy travel to Chichester, Fontwell and Goodwood. Now part of Pebble Hotels The White Swan has strived to create a contemporary edge to this traditional property with a blend of oak beams, open fires, bold fabrics and striking artwork. Relax in the fabulous new lounge with free WiFi access or enjoy a chilled glass of wine in the beautiful bar and restaurant where the new menus are served all day. The new look ensuite bedrooms offer all personal amenities, 24 hour room service, broadband internet connection and tea and coffee making facilities. Full English Breakfast is charged at an additional £9.50 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Arundel
White Swan Arundel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing