We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like walking through a film set”

Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Step back in time at Amberley Museum, a remarkable heritage site in the Sussex South Downs, between Storrington and Arundel, focusing on industrial and transport history. Most days the bus service and narrow gauge railway run, which take visitors to the far end of the site where the electricity, communications and railway exhibition halls can be found. Further exhibits include the working printshop, lime kilns, road steam engines, standard gauge line, stationary engines, greenwood village and more. The Museum is home to traditional craftspeople, such as the woodturners and blacksmith, with a cafe, gift shop, playground, nature trails and picnic areas. It’s well worth a visit and there is plenty to do in all weathers. We are hosting over 50 events in 2017 from children’s activity days to classic vehicle shows; from the amazing Robotslive in July to our new art activity week in August. We open from 8th March to 29th October, seven days a week during Sussex school holidays and on Bank Holidays, otherwise Wednesday to Sunday. Right next to Amberley railway station, with direct trains from London, Bognor and Portsmouth (check before you travel), we have a large, free carpark. Please see our website for further information.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Like walking through a film set”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

What an amazing museum. You can take a ride on a vintage bus (with real conductor and driver), learn how to send a telegram, see what it was like in a bomb shelter, smell the aroma of the working printworks and even print your own name. There really is something for everyone here. I was also surprised to learn it was the film set for a Bond film too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank KateMeasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    145
    30
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great day out”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

really enjoyed the day and lots to do and see. we were luck the water was not too high the day we were there, so had no problems with travel to and from. definitely recommend for the kids in hols.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb day out for family”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just visited on Sunday. Absolutely brilliant. My two and four year old loved it. Steam train, steam roller ride, fire engine, old tram all superb little rides. Lots of other fun, and educational, things to do. in particular really like the electricity display and talk. Educational, and great to watch! If I'm not mistaken this is mainly run by volunteers. They were all extremely pleasant and very knowledgable. On a festive note, the Father Christmas was without doubt the most authentic and atmospheric one I have ever seen. They've made a real effort. in fact, I was left wondering whether it really was the real Father Christmas!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mitchpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“visit the past”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great place to visit,plenty of varied interesting things to see ,extremly educational for both children and adults see how things used to be done,ride the train,ride the bus,there is also a woodland walk and if you want to wear the kids out there is a steep pathway that takes you to the top of the pit where you have a splendid view out over sussex.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pete t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been to this attraction many times as I love it. There is always something new and lots of old artifacts to reminisce over if you are over 30 and even more if you are over 50! Children will love it and you don't need to be an engineer to enjoy the motoring side of the museum. There is a train and bus to ride on and anyone could enjoy that, go back to childhood days, so much to see and do, lots of history. A day's outing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank alienaylings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing