We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Museum”

Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Step back in time at Amberley Museum, a remarkable heritage site in the Sussex South Downs, between Storrington and Arundel, focusing on industrial and transport history. Most days the bus service and narrow gauge railway run, which take visitors to the far end of the site where the electricity, communications and railway exhibition halls can be found. Further exhibits include the working printshop, lime kilns, road steam engines, standard gauge line, stationary engines, greenwood village and more. The Museum is home to traditional craftspeople, such as the woodturners and blacksmith, with a cafe, gift shop, playground, nature trails and picnic areas. It’s well worth a visit and there is plenty to do in all weathers. We are hosting over 50 events in 2017 from children’s activity days to classic vehicle shows; from the amazing Robotslive in July to our new art activity week in August. We open from 8th March to 29th October, seven days a week during Sussex school holidays and on Bank Holidays, otherwise Wednesday to Sunday. Right next to Amberley railway station, with direct trains from London, Bognor and Portsmouth (check before you travel), we have a large, free carpark. Please see our website for further information.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

What an excellent place. Not been there for 20 years and its changed so much. Best to go on a special day when all the locos are running. They are fascinating.

My grand children loved the place and can't wait to go back.

The museums are great bringing back so many memories from the past.

The restaurant was great too. So much to see and do, Lots of things for children to get involved with.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick-Zed-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    131
    27
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quirky Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This museum set in an old Chalk Pit, is of historical trades, but is surrounded by Nature. You are likely to spot a rare butterfly in the midst of a pile of old Railway Sleepers. The museum doesn't seem to have a theme but preserves anything locally that is in danger of elimination. So next to the Bodger wood turner you will find an exhibition of recent mobile phones. The railway is a mixture of unusual small quarry engines and trains, running past Network Rails old Hove Booking Office. Totally out of scale with each other - but enjoyably quirky. I love just wandering around with my Grand-children whose favourite occupation is using the old working Dial Telephones to phone each other. Meals are hot and well cooked but a bit expensive unless you are an annual member.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
165 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“An amazing collection of working museums”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This really is an excellent place to visit, for around £10 you can easily spend an entire day visiting here and not be bored. They run trains on the old quarry track and an antique bus to help you negotiate the huge site. The electricity museum is excellent as are the others including printing, blacksmiths, railway, pottery, mining, roads, woodcraft, busses, etc etc it really is amazing and so well run by so many volunteers. There is also a lovely restaurant and a wonderful atmosphere. Well done to all those who help make it a wonderful, interesting and informative place to visit.

Helpful?
Thank Merlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, Kent
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

An excellent day out with plenty to see and do for all of the family. Good restaurant but a little pricy for us (£13 for two coffees, 2 sandwiches and two pieces of cake). Recommended to all for a reasonably priced outing if you take your own lunch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdunkley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice for family Outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is truly one of the places that my husband and myself and two boys loved. I saw things I never would have thought existed in the past. The boys and my husband alike loved the Electricy Hall, Old radios, tv (brought back some memories there) the Telephone area, can't quite recall, but you can't miss it it is right accross from the old train center I think. My older son loved the idea of printing his own name on a card in the old print house. Folks there were pretty friendly. Loved the area where they showed how mail was carried around inthe olden days. My son loved engines so he likes looking at the old buses, cars, fire trucks and train engines. Our sons highlight howeever was traveling on the old double decker bus, they just could not contain themselves (his and my first time). Overall a great experience will return on our next trip:))

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina13246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing