We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day out”

Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Step back in time at Amberley Museum, a remarkable heritage site in the Sussex South Downs, between Storrington and Arundel, focusing on industrial and transport history. Most days the bus service and narrow gauge railway run, which take visitors to the far end of the site where the electricity, communications and railway exhibition halls can be found. Further exhibits include the working printshop, lime kilns, road steam engines, standard gauge line, stationary engines, greenwood village and more. The Museum is home to traditional craftspeople, such as the woodturners and blacksmith, with a cafe, gift shop, playground, nature trails and picnic areas. It’s well worth a visit and there is plenty to do in all weathers. We are hosting over 50 events in 2017 from children’s activity days to classic vehicle shows; from the amazing Robotslive in July to our new art activity week in August. We open from 8th March to 29th October, seven days a week during Sussex school holidays and on Bank Holidays, otherwise Wednesday to Sunday. Right next to Amberley railway station, with direct trains from London, Bognor and Portsmouth (check before you travel), we have a large, free carpark. Please see our website for further information.
Havant
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Having first visited many years ago this museum has developed into a great site. The railway has been extended, the De Witt. Kilns restored and there is a great cafe. The chance to rife on an old bus should also not be missed. My son loved the old radio display and the print shop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyWorsfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    134
    28
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice Museum, Especially when hosting a special event”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Amberley Chalk pits is a great little museum, The Electricity Hall and the connected Earth Telephone exhibitions in particular.
The exhibition of old radio and TV's also illicit lots of "we used to have one of those" type comments

We visited on a craft and food fayre day, so had the bonus of several stands and stalls to browse. Being a special event it also meant that most of the exhibitions were open and staffed.

All the volunteers we came into contact with were very helpful and knowledgeable.

We have been to this museum a few times over the years and always find something new to see and do.

Be warned though the site is huge, some of the exhibits are up a very steep hill (Use the onsite buses or train to get about).

And don't go if its raining!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tabora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Tired and dusty...”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We went the location but and 11 pounds each found that most of the exhibits were not working.... They were very dusty and grubby and tired.The volunteers though scarce on the ground were very good.
They have a gold mine at Amberley , but they do not make much of what they have.

The restaurant is very expensive.

In alll it was worth a fiver for what was open.
We would not go there again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Knocker874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A full day out for all the family.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This museum is in an old chalk pit which is in a valley . There is something for all ages,young children will enjoy the train rides,playground and the open top bus rides which reminds us older ones of the so called "Good Times" with old fashioned "clipped" tickets!!!! See how many times you say either "I had one of those (electrical/telephones/tools/prints/tv's/home appliances)".Or maybe it belonged to your nan or mum.Also has a very good restaurant on site.Its a day out for all ages.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank shirley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A day out for all Ages”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have visited the Museum twice in August. I was so impressed when I went with friends that I went back a second time taking my 3 grandchildren 10 years old and under. What a fabulous place. There is so much to do and so much to see.Train rides, vintage bus rides, steam roller rides, a childrens' playground and more. A particularly interesting display is the museum of telephones as is the museum of electricity. Oh I could go on and on. If you haven't paid a visit put it on your list of places to go. Look out for themed special days which makes it even more interesting ....and all so reasonably priced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CountChristo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing