We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good museum”

Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Step back in time at Amberley Museum, a remarkable heritage site in the Sussex South Downs, between Storrington and Arundel, focusing on industrial and transport history. Most days the bus service and narrow gauge railway run, which take visitors to the far end of the site where the electricity, communications and railway exhibition halls can be found. Further exhibits include the working printshop, lime kilns, road steam engines, standard gauge line, stationary engines, greenwood village and more. The Museum is home to traditional craftspeople, such as the woodturners and blacksmith, with a cafe, gift shop, playground, nature trails and picnic areas. It’s well worth a visit and there is plenty to do in all weathers. We are hosting over 50 events in 2017 from children’s activity days to classic vehicle shows; from the amazing Robotslive in July to our new art activity week in August. We open from 8th March to 29th October, seven days a week during Sussex school holidays and on Bank Holidays, otherwise Wednesday to Sunday. Right next to Amberley railway station, with direct trains from London, Bognor and Portsmouth (check before you travel), we have a large, free carpark. Please see our website for further information.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good museum”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Interesting oldie museum, just not much there. Restaurant bit costly and nothing special. Food shop small but still good to visit if in the area

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris21Merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    134
    28
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome views.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Have been many times, old bus ride around the museum is fantastic. The print shop was enjoyed by the children I bought with me. Children's activities were well organised.

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good to see old artifacts saved from extinction, we had a wet day but still very interesting.The staff in the print room and on the bus were very helpful and ready to talk .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Different”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Really enjoyed Amberley lots to see and the food is very good, watch the chilli though it is anything but bland! found the telephone and radio parts of the museum fascinating. Good for at least 2 hours visit

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lots more to see”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

visited amberley about 2.5 years ago and it was really good. so surprised to see they have added loads of interesting areas to the museum. went specifically to a steam and vintage car day and only expected to stay about 2 hours but visited new attractions and made a whole day of it.
Food is pricey as with all attractions, but we were surprised at the big portion sizes and the really good menu.
Decided to come back again in summer 2013 to see what else they have introduced.
Such lovely people to, helpful and freindly and met some Friends of Amberley, old gentlemen who obviously love the place and they were very knowledgable too.
All in all a good day out, second visit and it gets better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jayneship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing