We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and a great base to go exploring.”
Review of St Mary's Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Mary's Gate Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

A lovely B & B where doggy is welcome too. Room had dated decor but was lovely and comfy. Breakfast was gorgeous and extremely well cooked and presented.
The main pub has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and there are a couple of quiet nooks to settle down, read a book and just chill over a drink. The staff are friendly and helpful and we were made extremely welcome.
The pub is in a great spot for local walks and some gorgeous local shops.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 199 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stopped here for lunch the other day and thought it was that good that it needed to be put on tripadvisor!

They specialise in sausage's and offer a wide choice, and the price was very good! also some good beer of tap!

Place was a bit rough on the edges but that's to be expected with an old pub,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bambatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stopped in Arundel and stumbled upon this cute looking Inn. Quaint inside and out.
Friendly bar staff and made to feel welcome,good selection of drinks.
Open fire place but not functioning, and pleanty of board games to use if you were so inclined.
Menu looked good, but displayed in a tacky folder

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Room was clean and all we needed for a one night stay.
Tea, coffee and tv with free view in the room.
Great for parking in arundel as everything is walking distance away. Especially handy as parking in arundel can be expensive and the council are very strict with parking rules.
Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A perfect location in this beautiful town. Right next door to the R.C Cathedral with its dignified tomb to St. Phillip Howard and just across the road from St. Nicholas (C of E) with the attached Fitzalan(sp?)Chapel. Motel style rooms very comfortable and made parking easy. Our host, very helpful with directions and advice. Enjoyed a pint or two, dinner and breakfast in this very comfortable and affordable inn. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed here on a quick trip to Arundel Castle. We arrived midday and were directly shown to our very cute room. The bedding was of the same quality as a Marriott with pure white comfy sheets and cozy duvets. The room was very clean, and well kept and included everything we needed for our stay. Our dinner was very good and the Sticky Toffee Pudding was amazing. The morning breakfast was wonderful. We will return to this cute B and B when we are back in the UK. A pleasant and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janzmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We recently stayed here for 7 nights and were very pleased. We will definately be returning and recommending it to our friends. Actually, because most of the rooms are set 'motel' style, outside, it would be a great place to go to with a group of friends for a 'getogether getaway'.
Breakfasts are very hearty and cooked to order. Also taken in pleasant surrounding, so that you don't feel 'on show'. Staff very courteous.
Rooms are of a very good size. Plus you can park right outside your room, which is extremely convenient.
There was a live gig on at the pub on one of the nights which we also thoroughly enjoyed. we were able to book the room that allows dogs and left him in there whilst we enjoyed our meal and entertainment. The good news was that it didn't go on until all hours and we were able to retire to our room without being disturbed. Well done St Mary's Gate...we'll be back.....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arundel hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
2.5 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary's Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary's Gate Inn

Address: London Road | (next to castle & cathedral), Arundel BN18 9BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range: $95 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St Mary's Gate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Mary's Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Gate Hotel Arundel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing