We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Small but perfectly interesting

Arundel museum is small but interesting nevertheless. Displays are understandably local in their... read more

Reviewed September 9, 2018
ChrisMonaghan
,
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
All About Arundel

This small and compact museum dedicated to the history of Arundel is very good. If you've paid for... read more

Reviewed August 24, 2018
Jason J
Read all 134 reviews
  
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
49
61
17
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
61
17
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small space local history well worth a visit informative displays castle ticket on duty opposite the castle little gem gift shop volunteers information collection pounds overview admission arun donation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

So interesting. Details of life in Arundel from centuries ago. Videos, jigsaws for children and dressing up gear.
Details of early fishing port and also many war memories. This was my second visit and certain I will go again to digest all the wonderful history

Thank janwatson632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm123, Trustee at Arundel Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoy visiting the Museum and hope to see you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very well run & stocked little museum full of interesting historical facts & objects from Arundel. Volunteer staff were absolutely brilliant. Very friendly & full of advice of what else to see in the area. Although the space is compact, they have managed to pack a lot in. I especially liked the way that things are arranged in a time line so you follow a historical trail. Dogs are allowed in the foyer area but not in the main part of the museum. Would definitely recommend & hope to visit again.

Thank westcountrybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm123, Trustee at Arundel Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back to the Museum in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Popped in after the Castle it was late in the day so the staff asked for a donation as they were 30 mins from closing. However a lot of information in a fairly small place

Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Museum Supervisor at Arundel Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thank you for your visit, glad to hear you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Arundel museum is small but interesting nevertheless. Displays are understandably local in their content - the river trade and associations with Arundel's seaport Littlehampton feature prominently, but there are other displays of a more general nature. A few interactive displays for the kids. Reasonable entrance fee (I thin it was 3 or 4 pounds)

Thank ChrisMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Museum Supervisor at Arundel Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thank you for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you to the Museum again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

This small and compact museum dedicated to the history of Arundel is very good. If you've paid for a ticket to go to Arundel Castle you'll discover it is only £1 to enter this museum. Not sure what the price would be usually? Come and find out how the town of Arundel came about and how it has changed over the centuries through informative displays and artifacts that have been found around the area. There is also a small gallery showcasing art work made by local school pupils which was of a high quality. A wonderful place to visit.

Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm123, Trustee at Arundel Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

Thank you so much for your review - wonderful that you enjoyed your visit. Glad you enjoyed the A level and GCSE art. Over 850 pieces of artwork were reviewed from 7 schools in West Sussex before choosing the final 85.
The normal price is £3.50 for adults and £2.50 for OAP's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

We spent around three hours in this little museum with our five year d granddaughter. She loved it all from the dressing up, the detective fact file activity to brass rubbings. The balance of interactive activities to museum artefacts is perfect. Well worth a visit...

Thank BeverleyW207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm123, Trustee at Arundel Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. So glad you enjoyed your visit, best wishes, Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

It's a small but well arranged Museum. With historical information. A new education for me. Would love to visit again.

Thank PrideofJah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm123, Trustee at Arundel Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Really glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

This is opposite the Castle entrance and is a beautifully laid out museum. It's small but intimate and well worth a visit.

Thank judyf2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

We got there just before it was due to close, but they did let us go in for a look, as we had discounted tickets because we had visited the castle. It was very well laid out and informative.

Thank happylady02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm123, Trustee at Arundel Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Really glad to hear that you enjoyed your brief visit. I hope that you will be able to come back and spend longer with us. Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Recently we stayed for a week on the outskirts of Arundel . On several occasions we called in at the Museum to ask for advice, which was always prompt and very friendly. We also made a donation for a very worthwhile look around this fascinating archive collection of Arundel in days gone by, Fortunately Arundel still retains old world charm.

Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm123, Trustee at Arundel Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words and your generous donation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Arundel and your visit to the Museum.
We hope to welcome you back to the Museum before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews