We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sage - CLOSED

Sage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Food for The Soul - locally sourced ingredient lead innovative, nutritional balanced and extremely tasty. Small menu, freshly made changes regularly.Great venue for private events, parties or weddings.
Arundel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A special place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

As a regular visitor to Sage, I can't understand the previous two reviews. One of the great things about this restaurant is the atmosphere. It has always been very special. The food is always excellent, slightly different from the other restaurants in Arundel and certainly not bland, the flavours are what I would describe as subtle. This restaurant is certainly worth visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    19
    8
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a find !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband & I visited Arundel for the weekend, read the reviews on trip advisor & thought we would give Sage a try ... Delighted to find this hidden gem ... Very imaginative menu & beautifully presented... Veggie option creative & loved the micro herbs! Hot orange & pomegranate pud was to die for ....! Excellent coffee too .. Wll definitely be back to try the terrace in the Summer months!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter2013, Owner at Sage, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor, I am so glad you enjoyed the Sage Experience and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Slow and noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just refurbished, but the service was very slow and the food was, at best, average. Pork belly overcooked and bland not a hint of the advertised apple and under seasoned. There are better restaurants within a few yards. Our evening was rounded off by a rendition of "Summer Nights" by an inebriate lady who would have been better suited to a Karaoke bar, she was encouraged by the staff turning up the music, it was just bizarre. Personally I have nothing against Karaoke, but not at £45 a head.
With a little attention to detail and thought about the overall style this could be a great restaurant, but from my experience this evening, it is not. Thank you but no thank you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fatboygto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter2013, Owner at Sage, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor I am sorry you found the service slow, the restaurant was exceptionally busy that night and as the kitchen cooks everything to order there are inevitably some delays during peak times.

With regards to the Pork dish that you ordered all the food at Sage is focused on well being and healthy eating including the minimal use of salt and sugars, though condiments are available for customers who like extra seasoning.

I am sorry if the high spirits at another table spoiled your evening, we are an informal dining venue and every night is different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Planned a nice lunch in Arundel -looked at previous reviews but looked ok on website. Had fish pie as the plat du jour - very bland served with some rather pathetic greens. There are so many eateries in Arundel wish I had spent my money elsewhere. Decor very tired, nice enough staff but any half decent cook could have produced a better meal

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GMH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter2013, Owner at Sage, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Trip advisor. Our Plat du Jour changes daily, and is only a very small part of what we offer at Sage, I am sorry the dish on the day you visited wasn't to your liking. Our full a la carte menu is also available during lunch. We have a refurbishment which starts on the 11th March of the Bar area so I hope you will come back and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and ambience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this place on a one night stay in Arundel. It was valentines weekend and all the restaurants on the main high street were booked up. The food was great, and there was an acoustic guitarist which really lifted the ambience :-). Although it was busy the service was still great!
Perfect for a nice relaxing meal for a special occasion!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter2013, Owner at Sage, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, and we are delighted that you managed to find us, as we are tucked away in Castle Mews off Tarrant Street.

We really hope you come and see us again, our South facing terrace is a real sun trap perfect for lazy Spring lunches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing