We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised having read the negative reviews since booking. The staff were very welcoming and a few small problems were speedily put right. We dined at the pub in the evening from the bar menu and the food was excellent as was the service. Breakfast was also great as again was the service with an excellent range of fruits, juices, cereals, etc.. The Greek yoghurt was a nice touch. The room was very clean and comfortable. Well worth a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speedstor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    209
    82
    20
    7
See reviews for
83
397
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Stayed at The Swan Hotel for a couple of nights as a relaxing break after a busy Christmas with the other half. We arrived at lunchtime on Friday and, despite the staff being very very busy, we got checked in sharply and were led up to our room. The lady that took us upstairs explained everything about the hotel, told us about the half-board offer they had on and couldn't have been more helpful. The fresh milk was a lovely touch too.
After an afternoon spent doing some sightseeing, we went back to the pub to sample some of their ales. They had a really good selection of Fullers beers on and a heapful more in bottles - over the course of our two night stay we tried pretty much all, and the barmen were always at hand with a recommendation.
We ate at the pub on the Saturday night of the stay, and while the menu was a bit limited (only one veggie dish), the meals we had couldn't be faulted and once again the waitress was very attentive. On the breakfast side, it again was very tasty - though service did seem a bit slow on the Sunday morning (it was quite busy).
Overall, we were both really impressed by The Swan - we were a bit worried after reading the reviews on here but I guess more people like to complain than compliment!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randomnessity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

My partner and I stayed at this lovely hotel in January and found that it was a little gem. We checked in at the bar and were shown to our room. The staff member showed us to our room, he was very friendly and polite, I think he was called Sean. The room was very clean and spacious for our needs. The location is ideal if you are visiting Arundel as the entrance tot he castle is around the corner. The food was lovely as were the beers. I would recommend this little gem to anyone! Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_1985_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We were greeted warmly on arrival and shown to our room, whist the runnings of the Hotel were explained. The room, although compact was nicely decorated and had a new ensuite. The comprehensive hospitality tray was also laid out really nicely. The hotel is in a fantastic location at the bottom of the High St, next to the river, so a great spot for exploring and sight seeing. Although we visited in winter, when the castle is closed to visitors, there were still many visitors around the town giving it a vibrant feel.
In the evening we were in the bar having a couple of drinks before dinner, when we given a card and box of chocolates as we were celebrating our anniversay, which I mentioned in passing when I made the booking. We were very touched by this toughtful gesture.
There a numerous options of places to eat, Italian, Chinese, English and Indian. The Swan also has a comprehensive menu, we however opted for an Indian.
We ended the night in the Red Lion and danced to a fantastic band.
There was a good variety of cereals, fruit and cooked Breakfast options, all served promptly.
A lovely place to stay, with efficient friendly staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed here in October half term to visit the castle. When we were shown to our room which we had booked over a month before we were taken to a room with 2 single beds, we had booked a double and as we have only been married since Feb we were not amused. We asked for a different room but was told the hotel was fully booked.
We complained and had £9 taken off our bill with a promise that the beds could be pushed together! Later we found this had been done and have to say the beds were comfortable, although we had no appology for the mix up, just a rattled member of staff!
The bathroom was basic and old fashioned with dirty window sills and paper pealing off the walls.
We had also phoned on 2 occasions to request gluten free bread, but at breakfast was met with a flustered, over worked lady (who was serving evryone alone and the hotel was fully booked that night!) who had no idea about the bread. She found the message later on a post it note but this had not got back to the kitchen staff after being promised it would be provided! She did mention the hotel had had 3 managers in as many months so that speaks volumns!
It's a shame as it is well appointed in Arundal and the room was warm and comfortable.
We wouldnt stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davids-girl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We dined in this Hotel, although suroundings seemed quite pleasant, the food in the restaurant was poor and we all agreed something not to be repeated.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2010

stayed at the swan hotel for 1 night in july room was pre booked .on arrival at the hotel wasnt sure where to check in realised it was at the bar where you order your drinks. was given room no3 tiny double with the bar and kitchens air con outside our window very noisy no air con in bedrooms instead a small fan. small bathroom with bath and only hand held shower. bin in the bedroom had not been cleaned floor had not been hoovered. one good point though breakfast was lovely. hotel lacks attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,004 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,991 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
84 reviews
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
312 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing