We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location, great stay”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2011

My partner and I stayed at this lovely hotel in January and found that it was a little gem. We checked in at the bar and were shown to our room. The staff member showed us to our room, he was very friendly and polite, I think he was called Sean. The room was very clean and spacious for our needs. The location is ideal if you are visiting Arundel as the entrance tot he castle is around the corner. The food was lovely as were the beers. I would recommend this little gem to anyone! Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_1985_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 750 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2011

We were greeted warmly on arrival and shown to our room, whist the runnings of the Hotel were explained. The room, although compact was nicely decorated and had a new ensuite. The comprehensive hospitality tray was also laid out really nicely. The hotel is in a fantastic location at the bottom of the High St, next to the river, so a great spot for exploring and sight seeing. Although we visited in winter, when the castle is closed to visitors, there were still many visitors around the town giving it a vibrant feel.
In the evening we were in the bar having a couple of drinks before dinner, when we given a card and box of chocolates as we were celebrating our anniversay, which I mentioned in passing when I made the booking. We were very touched by this toughtful gesture.
There a numerous options of places to eat, Italian, Chinese, English and Indian. The Swan also has a comprehensive menu, we however opted for an Indian.
We ended the night in the Red Lion and danced to a fantastic band.
There was a good variety of cereals, fruit and cooked Breakfast options, all served promptly.
A lovely place to stay, with efficient friendly staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed here in October half term to visit the castle. When we were shown to our room which we had booked over a month before we were taken to a room with 2 single beds, we had booked a double and as we have only been married since Feb we were not amused. We asked for a different room but was told the hotel was fully booked.
We complained and had £9 taken off our bill with a promise that the beds could be pushed together! Later we found this had been done and have to say the beds were comfortable, although we had no appology for the mix up, just a rattled member of staff!
The bathroom was basic and old fashioned with dirty window sills and paper pealing off the walls.
We had also phoned on 2 occasions to request gluten free bread, but at breakfast was met with a flustered, over worked lady (who was serving evryone alone and the hotel was fully booked that night!) who had no idea about the bread. She found the message later on a post it note but this had not got back to the kitchen staff after being promised it would be provided! She did mention the hotel had had 3 managers in as many months so that speaks volumns!
It's a shame as it is well appointed in Arundal and the room was warm and comfortable.
We wouldnt stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davids-girl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We dined in this Hotel, although suroundings seemed quite pleasant, the food in the restaurant was poor and we all agreed something not to be repeated.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

stayed at the swan hotel for 1 night in july room was pre booked .on arrival at the hotel wasnt sure where to check in realised it was at the bar where you order your drinks. was given room no3 tiny double with the bar and kitchens air con outside our window very noisy no air con in bedrooms instead a small fan. small bathroom with bath and only hand held shower. bin in the bedroom had not been cleaned floor had not been hoovered. one good point though breakfast was lovely. hotel lacks attention to detail.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights and whilst the location is fantastic as it is on the High Street and close to all local amenities, the standard of the room was poor, especially for £70 a night excluding breakfast. The room was very small which as we spent most of our time exploring Arundel was okay, however the bathroom was just grotty - filthy tiles, marks in the bath and in general need of an update. There was also an issue with the door to the car park sticking when trying to get in with the key after closing and we were woken up by other guests literally pounding down the door down to try and get in both nights we stayed as there are no staff onsite after the pub closes!! We opted out of breakfast but enjoyed a few drinks in the bar each night - staff were okay but not particularly friendly. There are lots of restaurants in Arundel (Parpadalle is lovely although you will need to make a reservation) and would recommend trying these rather than eating in the hotel as it lacked ambience and the food combinations sounded a bit strange!!
All in all, I'd recommend finding another hotel in Arundel as this one needs a serious re-vamp! Arundel itself though is lovely and well worth a weekend break!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonBezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

The hotel itself is in a lovely location within picturesque Arundel. Our room was on the top floor. The bed linen was lovely, clean and fresh, as were the towels. The en-suite shower room was not in the best of conditions, especially the shower which had mouldy coloured grouting around the bottom. The toilet seat was loose and the cheapest of toilet paper was used. We felt that much of the hotel needed some decoration, especially the stairs and landings - they looked very tired and worn.
The tray for the tea and coffee in our room was made of some wicker and had its' fair share of dust in it and smelt. The quantities of tea and coffee were extremely mean. The windows in the room, again, needed a coat of paint or two.
Breakfast was very disappointing. We waited over half an hour for the breakfast to be prepared and served. The breakfast when it arrived had alot of grease/fat on the plate which wasn't pleasant at all. When my husband asked for a coffee refill the young man bought out another coffee in a cup - no saucer!
On a positive note the staff were friendly and the bar (although very expensive - nearly £5 for a small glass of wine!) was very pleasant and warming - especially with a lovely warm fire in it.
This hotel has the potential to be great - it needs some money spent on decoration and more attention to detail!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGTips64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
224 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
346 reviews
4.2 mi away
No photo provided
4 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: $116 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing