We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveler rating
476
298
120
42
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
476
298
120
42
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roll top bath the pub fresh milk public car park eggs benedict superior room lovely room lovely hotel lovely food biscuits comfortable bed beautiful town central location one night stay high street evening meal excellent breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 957 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2019 via mobile

Just back from Arundel visit, staying just the one night at this hotel. Beautiful olde world charm, reminiscent of the ‘close-by castle’ days, but rooms inside modern, airy and oh so comfortable. We had 2 rooms, both had been upgraded (for whatever reason), so thanks for that . But clean, comfy and so centrally situated. Morning breakfast in the bar - fresh tasty ingredients and beautifully cooked and presented. Just one gripe - stairs up to the rooms and down to the rear parking (pay and display) were grubby with fluff and dirt and looked as though they had not been vacuumed for days, maybe weeks. Let yourselves down guys, hence the 4 stars from me.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 29mariannec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2019

Hi 28mariannec
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you have enjoyed our location and style of the rooms. I have addressed the issue with the stair wells to the team and have got this rectified. Looking forward to welcoming you back again when visiting Arundel.
Regards Jasmine, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

We called in here for drinks a couple of weeks ago whilst staying in Arundel. The bar was quite busy and the atmosphere was very pleasant. We decided to have dinner and luckily they had a table available. We were served by a very pleasant young waiter and our meal was very good. We would certainly return if we were in the area.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank kimkingett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Dear kimkingett
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you stopped for dinner as well, looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards Jasmine, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2019

Stopped here for one night whilst doing the South Downs Way. Very comfortable room, including sofa, desk and chair with an ensuite boasting a bath and separate shower. Usual tea/coffee making facilities and wifi (a little sketchy on mail send and receive). Our room was not quite ready when we arrived but on our return the bags were all in our room which was helpful as there are stairs and no lift here (very old building). The bed was extremely comfortable.

The bar was quite lively early in the evening on a Wednesday and the restaurant was more than adequate. Decent pub fare. Breakfast was lovely with a wide range of products.

Very good location from which to explore the castle and other attractions.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Dear Barry H
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you have been able to enjoy our location in the heart of Arundel town. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Regards Jasmine, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

I booked one of the swan hotels indulgence rooms for a get together with friends,It was a great time with friends but found hotels version of indulgence and mine very different as the room was dusty there were cobwebs above the breakfast table/rooflight and milk was not provided in our room.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Mattandcally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

Dear Mattandcally
Thank you for your review, I applicate your feedback and will address these comments to the team and look to get this rectified.
I hope I can welcome you back another time when visiting Arundel.
Regards Jasmine, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

Great location and friendly helpful staff. We were meeting with friends and started with a drink in the bar all good but the ladies toilets weren’t the cleanest and started with having to kick dirty toilet paper from the lid no excuse as the pub wasn’t even busy . check in was good and speedy and we were offered help with luggage to our room . We were given a room on the top floor in the eves which got a bit warm but a large fan was provided albeit a little noisey. Beds comfy and clean . Carpet could be cleaner and bathroom not the best but did have a shower and roll top bath . Bathroom could do with a deep clean as skirtings etc were dusty . Shower was ok but large rain drop attachment trickled and the base filled up rapidly so guessing the trap needed a good clean out , the shower door also didn’t shut properly . Towels robes and slippers were provided . Tea and coffee supplied in the room but no milk . When wanting to the leave the room in the morning we couldn’t unlock the door as the lock was faulty , quick call to reception and they came and got us out but god forbid if a fire had broken out in the night as we would have been trapped with no exit from any windows as we were top floor . Breakfast was very good and plenty on offer included in with our room price and service was excellent. The dining room could do with a long duster round the roof windows as large cobwebs hung above us as we ate breakfast.We were told by our friends when they arrived in their room the previous occupants had not vacated the room completely and had left their luggage ,strange if rooms were cleaned before we arrived .
On a final note it was all ok but a bit more attention to detail required . Best bit , staff were welcoming , friendly and helpful .

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank alamhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

Hi alamhi
Thank you for your review, I applicate your feedback and will address your comments with the team. I hope I can welcome you back again if you are visiting Arundel.
Regards Jasmine, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews