We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub hotel & the afternoon tea looked amazing”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband & I stayed here for a night as we were visiting friends near by. The room we had was one of the executive rooms which is supposed to be their best & most spacious rooms. The room was not spacious at all, so I imagine that the other rooms are tiny. However, it was very well appointed, the decor was beautiful and the bathroom was large and really nice. It felt comfortable and a little luxurious. Extras such as home baked biscuits along with the complimentary tea was a nice touch. We arrived & walked through the lovely pub & there were some diners having afternoon tea, it looked amazing and very generous, the scones were huge & I wished that we had not eaten as I would have loved to have tried the food! Breakfast was wonderful, very generous portions and it was a part of the deal that I had booked, so no additional cost. Have to say overall it was great value for money as well. Very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DM45ESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 750 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a great pub with rooms. The staff were really friendly & the standard of the room we stayed in was high with a comfy bed and nice toiletries in the en suite. We even had proper milk in a mini flask - nice touch! The only negative was that the room was a little too warm until we managed to get the window open. The food was excellent with generous portions. The castle, cathedral, shops & cafés are all within easy walking distance. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We arrived mid-afternoon and were shown to our room - an executive twin. The room was a reasonable size and pleasantly decorated, although we did notice peeling damp plaster on one wall which was discreetly covered by a curtain (no double due to the recent heavy rains). The bathroom was a good size and well stocked. We loved the restaurant. Our evening meal was of a high standard - the pollack wrapped in pancetta with a barley risotto was excellent (so much so, we asked for the recipe). Breakfast was also delicious - the full English was very tasty indeed. The staff were helpful and worked hard to keep everyone happy. All in all, a nice place to stay for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Getting the car serviced on the 14th Feb and decided to spend the night here on a whim. Last second deal at £50 per the room B&B was a very good price. Room clean and tidy and robes and slippers thrown in, above the norm for a £50 room. Great shower comforatble bed and great view out of the front, views from the rear facing rooms not so good.

Would stay here again.

Arundel great place loads of pubs and can recomend Kings Arms with their order in a takeaway service. We had an Indian takeaway from the Curry Villa, and that ranked as one of the best takeaways we had ever had.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15, would ask for that one again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abacusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Have just had a lovely time at the Swan Hotel, staying one night in an executive room. The attention to detail and service was excellent. We enjoyed the delights of an themed evening which included a great three course meal accompanied between courses by vignettes from the Drip Action Theatre Company. We have been to the Swan on a number of occasions, including morning coffee, lunch, & dinner and have always been delighted every time. We would certainly stay again to enjoy another themed evening, and will be visiting whenever we are in the area. The location is excellent in the heart of Arundel. They are even dog friendly! Well done to all the team at the Swan Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room as they are a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milo1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last friday as a very rare child-free night treat. We had saved our christmas money and upgraded to the best rooms on offer. Arriving a bit early we were told our room would be ready around 2.30pm so we had a wander round the lovely town at the barman's suggestion and returned at 3.15 but our room was still being cleaned. Eventually we were in, and although theres some lovely toiletries and teas left in the room we thought it looked a bit tired. There was mildew on the ceilings in both room and en-suite, the paintwork was scuffed and scruffy on the walls. To be honest i felt a bit let down for the £135 price i'd paid.
Dinner in the restaurant was DIVINE! We had fish & chips followed by an awesome sticky toffee pud and a glass of beautiful pinot grigio. The lady looking after us attended all the tables on her own and was efficient and friendly. However, this was let down when her friends arrived and she announced she'd given them the nicest room in the hotel - another guest commented on this too. Breakfast was lovely too but yet again, the party of friends received special treatment with replenished toast whilst everyone else got 2 slices...Not to be petty but at least give the full paying guests the same treatment too!
Arundel itself is lovely, and the weather was horrific! I'd definitely visit again but i wouldnt upgrade, the rooms just arent worth the extra cost

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainycake21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Right in the heart of Arundel by the river, this pub is well worth a stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a classic style and have everything you could need, I loved the big, fluffy dressing gown to relax in! The staff are very helpful and welcoming and the breakfast is very good with lots of options and made to your requirements. The pub has a great atmosphere with a large selection of wine and ales to have with dinner.

Room Tip: There is an outside entrance to get to the rooms if the pub is closed so a room away from the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
224 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
346 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
4 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: $117 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing