We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A FABULOUS PLACE TO STAY !!!!!!!! GREAT VALUE !!!!!!!”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A FABULOUS PLACE TO STAY !!!!!!!! GREAT VALUE !!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Swan for one night, we were charged £80 for the room and breakfast so i was not expecting too much..WELL IT WAS FANTASTIC !!!!!!!..THE ROOM WAS SIMPLY WONDERFUL !!!!...lovely spacious bathroom with a lovely bath and separate shower, large room with everything one could want plus a large tv...a real shock as we were not expecting luxury like this, and the breakfast was to die for, exceptional, i cannot speak more highly of this hotel, we had a wonderful time and will be back, give it a try you will not be dissappointed, but you will be thrilled !!!!!...thank you all at The Swan...............

Room Tip: we only saw our own room but i would be very confident every room was a very high standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardsmith878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    216
    86
    24
    8
See reviews for
87
411
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

myself and my partner stayed here for a weekend away in Arundel. The hotel was lovely and the food was delicious. We would certainly visit again, the breakfast was tasty and all the staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise003CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in May this was our second stay and decided to have a larger room we had room No 9 which was a lovely size, very comfortable bed and a great en suite, Breakfast again was lovely, freshly cooked with great choice we will definitely stay again when in the area

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmBayTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Beate and her team of friendly staff have really made this a perfect place to stay if you're wishing to visit the fabulous town of Arundel, with it's wonderful Castle and shops.
This hotel has been beautifully renovated whilst maintaining the existing history and building features...yes, the rooms are smaller than you would get at a modern chain of hotels, but the charm of this place is that it is totally individual, and although small, the rooms are equipped with everything you could possibly require, including home baked shortbread:) You also have to embrace the fact that the hotel is in the main street of Arundel, and as such, not the quietest, but so handy for strolling. Everything complements, everything is provided, everything is quality, and the breakfast and dinner which we ate in the restaurant was simply delicious.
We really could not fault a single thing here and will definitely be returning. Well done to you all:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applefoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A fabulous Inn with luxury roms and one of the best restaurants in South of England. Go here for a week-end break and enjoy the many antique shops and beautiful surrounding walks.
The staff are very friendly and go that extra mile. The breakfasts are huge and delicious

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Salzuflen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here to visit Arundel Castle (Attention: closed from October until April!), so only stayed for one night.

Positive
Nice location, really close to Arundel Castle. Really friendly and caring staff on the arrival. Reserved a table at the dining area. The room was really good. (We even had received an upgrade for free and without asking for)
Negative:
The staff in the morning - not unfriendly but rather uninterested and not caring.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobias_L2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Swan is in the lower town centre and is ideal for seeing Arundel on foot. It’s really feels more of a pub/restaurant with rooms than a hotel. Check in is at the bar and you will be shown through the dining room to get to the door to the stairs and upper rooms. Our superior room was large, well furnished, comfortable and quite clean. Unfortunately the room was very cold when we arrived and the radiator didn’t work. When we asked for some assistance a member of staff quickly supplied us with an electric radiator that worked well. The room has shutters rather than curtains and I think I would mention a warm room if booking next time in the colder months. The hotel was perfectly quiet at night and we weren’t disturbed by noise from the high street outside or from inside. The dining room was busy on the night we stayed and portions appeared large (pub style). We only had breakfast at the hotel and my bacon and egg was not good. Very overcooked bacon and hard eggs. Perhaps I was unlucky. That said it is a generally agreeable place to stay in Arundel and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Try the superior rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,030 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,039 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
83 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing