We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Romsey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed between Christmas and New Year, it was warm and friendly and the issue we had with hot water was sorted very quickly. They offer full english breakfast in bed, unlike some places and it was lovely. We were looked after very well, mainly by one lad, I think his name was Jake. Well done to him in times when good customer service is in short supply.
We will go back

Room Tip: We looked at other rooms when we were there, they all looked lovely, newly refurbed. They think room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    183
    68
    20
    7
See reviews for
69
348
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reigate
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We took our 10 week old puppy for a bit of a relax following the Christmas madness, we both thought it would be a bit quiet but thankfully there was enough people doing the same thing for the atmosphere to be top class.
We had a wonder stay, lots of lovely food and really friendly locals and totally accommodating staff. We loved it so much we will be booking our Christmas with them this year!
Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieedwards75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeymooners
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Arundel is a great place to visit for a short break or weekend visit, or even one night stay as we did at the Swan Hotel conveniently located in the middle of the town. We had a lovely time there, breakfast was fantastic. Staff were ever so helpful and were more than willing to respond positively to everything we needed. We'll certainly go back for the food any day we find the chance to visit Arundel again - really good quality locally sourced food.

Room Tip: There are some special suites for those who prefer. All very nice though as recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymooners43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We turned up at the Swan without booking.
The staff people were great, very friendly and gave us a room straight away without needing to
wait for normal check-in time.
The room was large and absolutely lovely, looking freshly refurbished.
The bed was huge and super comfy.
The breakfast was excellent.
Arundel is amazing, was not sure what to expect, but everyone we met was so friendly.
Will definately go back next year and will stay at the Swan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry55Nuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Wonderful staff made our stay at this hotel a real pleasure. Our dog and children were made very welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. The beds were excellent and recent refurb has worked very well. Food is very good and especially so when considering the very reasonable prices. Can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Rooms 10 and 3 are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryF600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

A very nice welcome from the staff upon arrival. We were a bit early so we had some lunch while our room was prepared. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. We were shown to our room and it was lovely. Natural wood smell, newly refurbished and a really nice decor. The bathroom was a bit small and didn't have a bath which for an executive room I would have hoped it would have one as I prefer the choice. But not a big deal, I will specify a room with bath if we return. There was a great choice of teas, coffee, hot chocolate in the room. Nice to have the bathrobe and slippers as well. We had a wedding to go to but would loved to have had dinner at The Swan, the restaurant is also very nice. We had a very good nights sleep, it was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast is exceptional and again the staff were brilliant. I would say this has to be one of the best stays we've had. The service was excellent as was the whole experience. Lots of little touches that make a big difference. Arundel is such a lovely town as well. We would have loved to stay another night. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room with a bath if you prefer this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillof76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a lovely place.
Staff are extremely friendly, polite, knowledgeable and helpful.
We arrived too early to chek in but they were happy to take our luggage.
Some beautifully designed and well thought-out rooms above a busy but peaceful pub.
The main radiator in our original room wasn't working so they were happy to put us in a different room, that was actually better than the first one.
Huge bed and luxurious bathroom.
Apparently, some other guests were making too much noise, though we hadn't noticed, and the staff had sorted that out.
Breakfast served by a brusquely cheerful lady (you know what I mean), whom I suspect is the boss, and the breakfast is top class.
Was amused at check-out when asked, "So the heating didn't work, you had to change rooms and there was noise from the couple next door.......but did you enjoy your stay?"
Definitely worth a visit and Arundel is a beautiful little place, though beware that the castle is closed on Mondays most of the time

Room Tip: I doubt you will be disappointed by any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BPB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade Two listed building in the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with rooms, affording those enjoying the peaceful surroundings of the South Downs to stay a little longer and sample our fine food, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing