We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“even better than last time I went”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here a couple of years ago with a friend in a twin and it was great, but it's gotten even better since. They appear to have had a refurbishment since I was last there and the room I was in (a double with single occupancy) was lovely. It was full of nice little touches that made you feel very welcome. What really made the stay though was the quality and friendliness of the staff. I'll be sure to return again. (PS I had fantastic smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast as well).

Room Tip: I was above the main bar (room 7 I think) but it didn't disturb me at all - I liked the décor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Graham,

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us at The Swan. As a returning guest, I'm pleased to hear you like the refurbishment - a great deal of guest feedback went into the planning process! I'm glad to hear the team looked after you well, and that enjoyed your time with us.

Hope to see you soon when you're next in Arundel.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
There are newer reviews for The Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 702 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

An anniversary celebration was made extra special by staying at the Swan Hotel. It is difficult to fault and there are so many nice touches: the superior double was a lovely room (no. 12) with fluffy bathrobes and towels, nice decor, huge bed, little biscuits in a tin and a flask for fresh milk.

Dinner in the restaurant was exceptional - three beautifully cooked courses served by attentive and friendly waiting staff (even the new member of staff on duty was doing a grand job and she was well supported by her more experienced colleague). Breakfast was to a similarly high standard with a small but excellent cold buffet with a fantasic choice of cooked options far beyond the normal full English.

All the way the staff were superb and are a real credit to the hotel.

Top tip for parking on a Saturday night to avoid charges: you can park in the many on street parking bays from 4pm on a Saturday with no charge all day Sunday - beats the council run car parks. The only small quibbles: it was not a power shower :-( and there was no information in the bedroom e.g. copy of menu.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Tim,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us, from the little touches in the bedrooms, to the food and service in our dining area. All of the team truly endevour to put our guests at the heart of everything we do, so I'm pleased you felt well looked after.

Look forward to seeing you again soon in Arundel.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is very nice and if you are ever staying in Arundel I would recommend it.
The Decor is lovely and the ambiance is very nice. We had room 16 which they sell as an Executive room but I personally feel that it is a little small to be an Executive room and should just be a premier room. The bathroom is lovely with a really nice slipper bath. the only critisism is the lack of shelves or coathooks in the room, which could be easily remided. However that is a very small issue and it would not take much to make this place excellent in all areas.
The Breakfast is supberb with lots of choice and very good quality.
We also had dinner which I have also reviewed under the restaurant section of Trip advisor.
We had a very nice stay here and would love to come back again. Next time though I would like to stay in The larger Executive Rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to hear you had a good time, and am very grateful for your comments regarding your room. It's not been long since the refurbishment and we're still tweaking everything and taking comments on board. Thank you for also reviewing your meal with us - again, I'm delighted you enjoyed our locally sourced menu and that my team looked after you well.

I do hope to see you again soon in Arundel.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We recently got married in Arundel and along with our guests needed to find a nearby hotel that was fitting for such an occasion - after lots of research and several visits we decided to go with The Swan Hotel and pretty much booked out all the rooms. Beata and the team did a wonderful job making us feel special; there was a gift waiting for us on arrival, petals and sparkly in our room in the evening - they really exceeded all of our expectations. They even did last minute canapes for us to take to our wedding at the nearby town hall.

The re-furb earlier this year has made such a difference to the rooms which are light, clean, modern and airy. Dont be fooled by the 'pub-like' exterior this place is simply wonderful. We had so many lovely comments from our guests, especially on the breakfasts!

We have such fond memories of our special day and are looking forward to many more anniversary trips back to The Swan Hotel.

Thanks again, Mr & Mrs D xxx

Room Tip: We had room 3 which was lovely, beautiful shutters which overlooked onto the high street - it was on...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Ellie,

Thank you for taking the time to post here on TripAdvisor about your time with us. It was a delight to have your family staying with us for a couple of days and I'm so pleased you had a fantastic time! Our chefs really love to do little functions, canapes and what-not, so they said it was a pleasure to cater for you. Hope you have a fantastic honeymoon and look forward to seeing you both in the not to distant future!

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the Swan to celebrate our 20yr wedding aniversary 29th August 2012. Staff were welcoming and really friendly. Room was lovely and bright. After looking around the town we settled in the bar and had a lovely evening. Breakfast was superb and the dining area more of a top restaurant look! We will definately return and treasure the memory. Cannot fault it - perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyrob42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Andy,

I delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Swan Hotel, and thank you taking time to share your experience. We're really pleased with the refurbishment and are pleased that the majority of our guests are loving it too.

Hope to see you again soon in Arundel.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the Swan for one night on the 27th August, Bank holiday monday. Although it had clearly been a busy weekend with it being bank holiday and festival time, the staff were friendly, ensured we had everything we needed and gave us information on breakfast and evening meals. We'd paid for a superior room and had room 9 which was lovely! Gorgeous bathroom with double shower and roll top bath (which I made the most of!), nice sofa to relax on and super comfy bed and duvet! Nice little touches such as bath salts, bath robes, slippers and you could borrow books from the bookcase downstairs. We couldnt be bothered to go out looking for food so decided to eat downstairs in the pub in the evening. You can't really call it a pub at they have an area sectioned off as a nice restaurant and we had a lovely meal at pub prices!! The breakfast was great too, good selection of 'continental' but we went for the full english which was very good. Would definately recommend the Swan and also Arundel, look forward to returning in the future!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 9
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s77skm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor, and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your getaway with us. We're really happy overallwith how the refurbishment has gone, and it's great to hear that our guests are loving the result too. Room 9 is quickly turning into a favourite room, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Have just spent one night at The Swan and we were not impressed. We would expect something better for £100.We were in room 15 and it was like a cupboard. The shower room was small and dingy with grey grubby grouting. The floor surface was tired and grubby also.The tiles around the toilet were soiled.I admit it would be a difficult area to clean because its so small! The valance on the bed was covered in marks from previous occupants shoes. There was no wardrobe only a small rack for hanging clothes off.The bed faces the door and and the only window is in an alcove behind the bed.
At breakfast were were told that the two dishes we selected were available but there was no hollandaise sauce,eggs benedict and eggs arnold not quite the same without the sauce! We were informed that the supplier hadn't delivered. There is a good delicatesen opposite the hotel and it was open but no one had the initiative to go and get some hollandaise sauce in a jar, obviously there was no chef around to knock some up!
Staff were friendly and the breakfast was average.
Rooms 9 and 10 are lovely and the most recently renovated. I got to look at these and they are very nice.

Room Tip: Only 9 or 10 are on the adjacent street not the main drag and on the first floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,076 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,084 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
328 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
0.4 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: $125 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing