We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay!”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited here over Easter and had a wonderful stay. Firstly, Arundel is such a beautiful and unspoilt town, we cannot wait to go back again. I would firstly like to address a few of the negatives that others have pointed out in previous reviews! 1) You do not get locked out after 11pm. The pub/bar closes then and you get your own keys for the back door if you want to come in later, it is your choice. 2) The TV does NOT only have 4 channels. We had over 30 and all very good reception. Also maybe we were just lucky but the bed was very very comfy!

The main positive I would like to point out is how pleasant the staff are. We arrived early with luggage and they let us leave our stuff there before check in so we could make the most of our day. Likewise, after we checked out at 10.30am, we had a good 4 hours before our train home and they let us leave our luggage there. The location is also perfect-only about a 10 minute stroll from the station and the castle/shops/riverside are on the doorstep. The room itself is also of a decent size and also there were some nice little touches like free shortbread and hot chocolate!

There were a few small negatives however which prevented me from giving this hotel full marks.

1) The mobile reception was almost completely non-exsistent which was annoying.
2) The TV was tiny!!
3) It WAS noisy but only until 11pm and booking a room at a pub you have to expect this, I don't understand anyone who moans about this when surely they know this would be the case!
4) The breakfast was ok but I didn't like the choice of breakfasts, I had the waffle though and it was delicious. None of the tables were cleared so it was all a bit messy.

Overall all though we had a fantastic stay at the Swan Hotel and would definitely re-visit, especially to see the wonderful town that is Arundel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cher86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    209
    82
    20
    7
See reviews for
83
397
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Having stayed here for many year I always look forward to my return. This hotel I understand is in the process of a refurbishment, however having said that the rooms are fine and offer excellent value for money. Breakfast is always excellent and service is great too. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Arundel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights over Easter - great breakfasts and brilliant location. Very reasonable price too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Have just visited for an Easter day family lunch and was very impressed. Tables were well laid out with little net bags of mini eggs on each place. We were offered a carafe of water for the table as soon as we were seated, which was a good idea. Good menu choices and specials. 3 of our party had the roast pork and a roast beef. All were good portions with a varied vegetable selection and massive yorkshires! Good roast potatoes too. Delicious puddings. Reasonable price for good quality food and service.
Think I have mentioned this in a previous visit but good toilet facilities too!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlyWurlyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Went to this restaurant for a meal on a Sunday and ordered the Lamb roast. Full of Gristle and under cooked unfortunately which meant most was left on the plate. Everything else was quite nice which is shame as the meal was ruined by a careless chef. Mentioned this to the waitress who just said I'll tell the chef. No apology, no offer of anything else. For £10.95 for a roast they are in the upper price bracket and this needs to be dead right. Otherwise a nice small town pub with a good atmosphere with friendly staff. I would probably risk it again as overall it was quite nice.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestHotelInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had a great stay at The Swan Hotel. Our room was a great size - a king with room for a fold out bed for our 4 year old, and plenty of room for our luggage. The bathroom was clean and a good size (and yes, like the other reviewers have said, they really were nice toiletries). We also had a great meal in the pub at night, and breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thurbonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is an atmospheric pub, with good pub grub. There are restuarants in the street, but sometimes in the winter you need good steak with proper chips and good beer - all to be found in the Swan

Helpful?
1 Thank williamawilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,004 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,994 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
84 reviews
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
312 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing