We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a hotel!”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at the Swan 'hotel' in Arundel. However to be clear (unlike the fullers website) this is NOT a hotel, it is a pub with rooms. No lounge-no dining room.
I have stayed at Fullers establishments previously, both hotels and inns, so booked an executive room with confidence, for a special birhtday weekend.
We knew in advance that there is no designated car park-you pay £7.00 per day to park behind the swan.
We were greeted in the bar with a warm smile and asked if we had been told that there was an elvis tribute night, that night? Urmm...no we hadn't been told-and I had spoken to the hotel 3 times before arriving (chasing a confirmation email). Regretably Elvis set up his amps directly under our room and thundered out songs until 23.00hrs-with music then played very loudly through the amp until midnight. If we had been notified of this we would probably have booked elsewhere-as we travelled down straight from work, booked an early supper and planned an early night.
The executive room was a large double aspect room. Shabby armchairs and tired soft furnishings. However the room was clean and the view of the high street, pretty. The welcome tray was well stocked and fresh milk was provided in a small flask. A small flat screen TV completed the room-4 channels only.
The en-suite bathroom, was a window less box in the corner of the room. The mildew and mould around the bath and up the wall was unbelievable-the bath was stained grey/black. The over bath shower was a hose attached to the bath taps and the water pressure was poor.
These rooms are marketed at £100+ a night!
I discussed the rooms and the loud music with the assistant manager, Sean, who immediately offered us alternative 'non-executive' accomodation, with a new bathroom-but no shower at all. He suggested that we could move rooms, or simply use the bathroom-neither options were ideal. We opted to stay put and enjoy our weekend.
Breakfast is a self service cereal/fruit affair with the hot breakfast served by the waitress. Apart from having to wait for bowls and spoons, tea being served as a teabag in a mug (as opposed to a teapot), burnt, brittle and cold toast-breakfast was ok. It is served in an area just off the main bar. On 2 of the 3 mornings we ate breakfast to the aroma of strong disinfectant-as the bar floor was been washed at the same time!
On a positive note, the staff were simply delightful. From checking in til check out-service was accompanied by a smile. Sean, the assistant manager deserves a special mention, he dealt with my complaint promptly, professiionally and did not hesitate to discount the bill accordingly.
Apparently the Swan is having a million pound upgrade in January 2011-this is certainly long overdue, as, at the moment it is undoubtably is the thorn in the fuller groups crown. I really do feel that once upgraded, it should be renamed 'The Swan'-drop the hotel-then it just might stand a chance of 'doing what it says on the tin'!

Room Tip: wait until after the planned january 2012 upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susiewKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 749 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

We booked a table for 15 for my husband's 50th birthday at the Swan. Can't speak highly enough of the service we received. The communication with the manager was excellent - she was extremely helpful and went out of her way to make sure our experience was really special. The bar and restaurant are very warm and comfortable and the food was fantastic. The staff are all friendly and efficient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseTeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed at the Swan Hotel while in town for our friends wedding. You check in at the bar, which is a bit disconcerting, but then you realize it's so welcoming that you want to sit down for a drink immediately! :) The hotel has a very historical feel to it. The rooms are small, but cozy. Definitely don't bring a big suitcase or you won't have a place to stow it, but for a weekend it's perfect. The hotel is in the center of Arundel, which is a very well preserved town with lots of nice restaurants, a farmer's market every 2 weeks on Saturday, and an amazing castle (original construction by William the Conqueror in the 11th century!). And within 15 minutes walk you can be in real English countryside (head along Mill Road to the lake). In nice weather, you can have tea by the river, walk the grounds of the castle, and get to the coast at Littlehampton in just a short drive. It's really a great place to spend a weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jande_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The swan hasnt got its own carpark so we had to park in the street abit of a distance from the hotel but it was a quiet night so all was fine..The room we had was lovely with clean bedding and a comfortable bed which is always a bonus..Lovely toiletries which was a treat...The breakfast menu has some choices which made a nice change from the usual 'full english' ..The smoked haddock and poached egg was beautifully cooked..We had a restful night and a good breakfast which set us up for the day so would definately stay again...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huffyhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Great location with a lovely lady giving breakfast, however staff were completely indifferent to being told that the tv was cracked and only showing a shattered picture. Wonder how many others will find out the same before anything happens

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gsadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

What a nice surprise. Ideally located, clean, well furnished and spacious room. Delicious plentiful breakfast, Lovely hosts and really friendly service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbed4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We had a lovely stay here after a day visit to Arundel Castle. Free parking available not too far past the Castle entrance, no problems with damage to car. The staff were all excellent, the food was good. We had dinner at the hotel and were very happy with the meals for all three of us. Yes it is old and creaky but you are in an old building so expect that. We did not have any problems with smells of any sort. The price was good and the location was perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and we happy with our room for three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet-PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
224 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
346 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
4 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: $85 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing