We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a dog's breakfast!”
Review of Gaskyns

Gaskyns
Ranked #40 of 59 Restaurants in Arundel
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Gaskyns is a family run licenced cafe. We pride ourselves in our homemade cakes and dishes and the quality of the ingredients which we use, many of which are locally sourced. We have easy access for pushchairs and wheelchairs as well as baby changing facilities, high chairs and toddler chairs. Wi-fi is also availiable and well behaved dogs are also permitted. Many of our menu items and cakes are available to all as we have many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options available. We can also do smaller portions for children.
Reviewed October 25, 2017

We were staying at The Norfolk Arms for a couple of nights, in a dog-friendly room, and had decided to have brunch in town, as the hotel stops serving breakfast at 9.30 a.m., which was too early for us. The hotel provided a basic visitor map for the town and Gaskyns advertised as being friendly “for well behaved dogs and children”.

The café is in a nice historic building, of which there are many in Arundel, just a short walk from The Norfolk Arms, over the bridge. It is linked to the store next door, possibly with the same owners.

There are a wide range of options in the all day breakfast menu. I opted for the Spanish breakfast - chorizo and fried eggs, cooked in the same pan, with cherry tomatoes, on toast. Jacci had beans on toast, a healthier option. The service was prompt and friendly. We enjoyed it so much, that we went back the next day!

We would definitely eat here again, though we heard through the grapevine that the building may revert to residential use at some point.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ged_and_Jacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 75 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2017

Try parking outside as we did by accident when looking for a place to have brunch. We certainly overstayed the one hour time-limit and we enjoyed an excellent selection of dishes, served in a friendly and timely manner. Very relaxed and welcoming café - highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017

We thought we'd try this café as they advertised they were dog friendly,and thought we'd sit in the garden, at the rear, but on going out my heart sank. It looked abysmal, there were piles of leaves by the entrance. dead trees, ashtrays full of cigarette end all in a scruffy appearance. It didn't bear any resemblance to the photo which must have been taken a while ago. Anyway we ordered our sandwich and a ploughmans, thought that can't take long, how wrong we were, forty minutes later it appeared.
That was only after having to ask if it would be long. Also ploughmans overpriced, not value for money.So avoid if you are in a hurry.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doodlemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlyGaskyns, Owner at Gaskyns, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

We are sorry that you felt you had a bad experience with us. Unfortunately we have not had a chance to sort out the garden yet for this season, but rest assured it will be done soon. Obviously the photo was taken during the summer so it will look quite different at the beginning of spring.

With regards to the time taken to prepare you meal. After checking our till system you ordered at 12:44 and paid at 13:31 which means you would have had to eat, drink and get to the till and pay your bill in 7 minutes flat!

Our food is not overpriced. Much of our food is homemade and of excellent quality. We don't use cheap ingredients, the bread is made with organic flour, the cheese is tasty cheddar, the salad leaves are quality variety mixed leaves and even the salad dressing is homemade. If you want cheap, poor quality food with tasteless ingredients out of a packet then by all means lunch elsewhere.

We have had a number of people recently who seem to think they should get something for nothing. Do none of you read the papers! Business rates are squeezing small businesses dry which is why many cannot afford to have lots of staff all over the place. That said we pride ourselves on serving people as quickly as we can. People also seem to forget that food prices have rocketed since Brexit and that 20% of your bill goes straight to the government in VAT which smaller cafes don't have to pay, we do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017

A pleasant coffee shop/cafe with good quality food and drinks. It is also a popular venue for the 'yummy mummies/toddler owners and the place can become very crowded with noisy children and large pushchairs.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank ClaireandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

A great dog friendly venue serving breakfasts lunches drinks etc. Lovely food made fresh to order. A real find with parking close by. Situated in Arundel for sightseeing and by the river.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Dreamer171534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaskyns also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to Gaskyns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing