We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and friendly staff”
Review of Gaskyns

Gaskyns
Ranked #37 of 56 Restaurants in Arundel
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Gaskyns is a family run licenced cafe. We pride ourselves in our homemade cakes and dishes and the quality of the ingredients which we use, many of which are locally sourced. We have easy access for pushchairs and wheelchairs as well as baby changing facilities, high chairs and toddler chairs. Wi-fi is also availiable and well behaved dogs are also permitted. Many of our menu items and cakes are available to all as we have many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options available. We can also do smaller portions for children.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

A large and airy cafe, Restuarant and take away, plus whole food and interesting item shop.

The morning pre 11.00 seems to be a mums a baby's club with lots of singing, drawing, and playing of instruments which if you like that sort of thing is rather charming.

We had the small breakfast, and they allowed our well behaved dogs to sit with us. He food was very nice especially the sausage and bacon.

Will certainly go back

Thank Onestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 71 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2011

Picture the scene, a quiet New Year's Eve lunch time around 1.30pm, a middle-aged couple enter the cafe and take a seat at one of the empty tables. Two other tables are occupied with customers in the process of being served. Two members of staff walk past several times with orders for the others and return with used crockery, totally ignoring the couple.

The female member of staff wanders around tearing bits off her order pad, tidying magazines and pretending to look busy, but never once acknowledges the couple who have not been served, even though they are looking in her direction, trying to catch her eye.

The male member of staff is just as bad; he has passed the couple several times with drinks in his hands but wanders off to the other end of the cafe to socialise with a group of people in the informal seating area.

After about 15 mins of being ignored, the "invisible" couple get up and leave. There is still no acknowledgement or apology from the staff.

So sadly, the middle-aged couple, who were in fact long-standing local patrons, never did savour the delights of what appeared to be a very vegetarian-friendly menu. In addition, they will not bother again and the establishment has gained their 2011 worst customer service award.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ZhooZhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlyGaskyns, Owner at Gaskyns, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

I am very sorry you had a poor experience on your visit to us recently. The issue has been addressed with the female member of staff you mentioned and I hope you would be willing to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We popped in for lunch and ended up spending a couple of hours relaxing and chatting on the sofa whilst the children coloured in, in the colouring books kindly provided by the very friendly and chatty staff.
The food was lovely and excellent value for money, and when asked if we could have smaller portions for the children this wasn't a problem.
We have since been back for breakfasts at the weekends and this is now my meeting place when getting together with friends. we are looking forward to trying the Friday night evening menu for my mothers birthday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hisblondegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Possibly a slightly slower pace of life than I am used to but we went to Gaskyns for breakfast on a Saturday morning. The cafe is pleasantly furnished, the ambience is good but the service was quite slow. That said...when the food and drink arrived it was very good. Just a little more attention to customer needs would have improved the review considerably.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank erikapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Myself and my wife had lunch here with the kids. The food was outstanding and very reasonably priced. The staff were helpful and they made effort to cater for the kids. Just the kind of place to go with the family. Easy access for the pushchair and they even had kids toilet seats!

Will definitely go again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chrismobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaskyns also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to Gaskyns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing