We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portreeves
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Arundel(Arundel)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Swan(Arundel)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Swan Hotel(Arundel)(Great Value!)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Norfolk Arms Hotel(Arundel)(Great Value!)
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel(Arundel)(Great Value!)
$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell(Arundel)(Great Value!)
$44
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (35)
    Filter reviews
    35 results
    Traveler rating
    29
    6
    0
    0
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    29
    6
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslarge gardenhome from homeperfect locationarundel town centreshort walkhigh streetapartmentjoanneaccommodationcastle
    Filter
    Updating list...
    15 - 20 of 35 reviews
    Reviewed January 11, 2014

    Having sampled the delights of a wide variety of places to stay in Sussex over many years, Portreeves remains our firm favourite when to comes to self-catering accommodation.

    We always stay in 'Tarante', which is the self-contained apartment at the rear. It has French doors - opening out from both the bedroom and the lounge - on to the sun deck and large garden. Inside, the property offers everything we need - including a well-equipped kitchen, a comfortable lounge/dining area, a bedroom with an en suite bath/shower room - therefore we feel we are enjoying a real 'home from home', experience.

    As Tarante is 'dog friendly', we stayed in it once again for 2 nights in September 2013 while we were dog-sitting our friends' cocker spaniel. We're pleased to say that owners Jo and Jeremy extended the same warm welcome to our canine companion as they always do to us.

    Then, in mid-December 2013 we returned to Portreeves on our own for a full week's stay as a birthday treat to ourselves.

    Once again we were not disappointed. Jo and Jeremy really understand the need to allow some guests their privacy but to be on hand if guests want recommendations for places to visit, restaurants etc. Our sincere thanks again to them for making our stay so perfect.

    Despite some rather challenging weather conditions some days during our stay, we still managed to sample many of the excellent local restaurants (most notably The Town House) even if, some evenings, we had to resort to using the reliable and efficient local taxi company - Castle Cars - to get to our chosen restaurant without arriving looking like drowned rats ! We also used Castle Cars to take us to and from the excellent restaurant at Burpham Country House Hotel located a couple of miles out of town.

    We did have a couple of sunny days during our week and we used those to explore the nearby Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust where we were rewarded by 2 sightings of a kingfisher - a real treat as that was a 'first' for us.

    We can't wait to return to Portreeves again.

    • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Bajan B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 6, 2013

    Me and my partner just returned from a fantastic two nights at Portreeves. A 2 min walk from the train station and then a few mins away from town. There is a footpath next to the house where you can walk along the river into town as well, which was lovely. Jo was so welcoming and helpful--recommending us places to go to eat! We ate at the Black Rabbit, Pappardelles, La Campania, and Partners cafe which were all lovely. Would recommend La Campania over Pappardelles though!
    The bed is gorgeous, I had the best nights sleep I'd ever had! Thanks so much, and we'll see you again soon!

    • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank SunflowerPortsmouth
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 18, 2013

    We stayed 2 nights as part of a business trip. We booked Tarante and it was absolutely lovely. Very well appointed and a great wee kitchen which is very well equipped. Its very peaceful and minutes walk into the gorgeous Arundel, everything is on the doorstep. If the weather is kind the garden is lovely and big. Jo (and family) were so warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We will definately be back.

    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank jules12Scotland
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 15, 2013

    The Gal that runs the show is the most obliging Gal I have met in many years,she couldn't have been more helpful and the place is relaxed and clean and SOOOOOOO handy for Arundel and the station. The Chinese restaurant in Arundel isn't much 'bottle' though, besides that,we had a good stay.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank BolBill
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 9, 2013

    Looking to stay in Arundel, there were a few options, but I can't imagine many places would have worked out better than Portreeves. From the moment of booking, Joanne was attentive and helpful, and once we arrived she was extremely warm and welcoming. Whilst the flats are part of the main house building, they are entirely self-contained, meaning that you do not at all feel like you are treading on toes. The flat itself was very well appointed with modern decor and excellent bed and bathroom, and Tarante opens out directly onto the decking and garden area. Everything that you could imagine was provided inside the room, and the tourist information provided is more extensive than any tourist office! The location is excellent, a few minutes' walk from the centre of Arundel, which is a really beautiful place. Overall, we were extremely satisfied with our experience and would recommend this to anyone thinking of coming to Arundel -- we will certainly consider returning!

    Room Tip: Tarante is at the back of the house (away from the road), and opens up through patio doors into the large back garden
    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank PozPoz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews