We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an experience”

Arundel Castle and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Arundel Castle is open from Saturday 1 April to Sunday 30 October 2017. Open Tuesdays to Sundays inclusive, Good Friday, Easter Monday, May Bank Holiday Mondays & all August Mondays. Arundel Castle & The Collector Earl's Garden, Arundel, West Sussex. Ancient Castle and stately home of the Duke of Norfolk, reflecting nearly 1,000 years of history,and commanding the surrounding landscape with magnificent views across the South Downs and River Arun. Fine furniture and works of art in sumptuously furnished rooms. Ancient Motte & Keep. The Collector Earl's Garden. 14th century Fitzalan Chapel. Collection of arms & armour. Personal possessions of Mary Queen of Scots. Varied programme of Special Events.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“What an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My Wife and I found this Castle while lost on our way through england. Wow, what a fortunate mistake. The castle and grounds are breathtaking and if that weren't enough, there happened to be a medievil festival going on as well. There were joust, sword fighting and all manner of theatrics that made for one of the most fortunate mistakes I have ever made. If you're ever in the area check it out, you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,507
    481
    83
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
132 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Everything about this castle is amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Everything about this castle is amazing. It is one of the best preserved castles in the UK and is well worth the visit. It is truly beautiful inside and out. Climb to to the top of the ramparts and see the gorgeous countryside. The castle is rich in history. If you have only time for one castle in the UK this one is it and I have been to many. I am not much of a garden person but the people I have taken to the castle gardens say the are exceptional. The castle and gardens have never been overcrowded because it is off the usual tourist lanes which makes the visit especially pleasant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank willys1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must to visit in this location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

A great afternoon out visiting the castle and grounds and then finishing off with lunch or afternoon tea in the beautiful town of Arundel with its quirky little shops and restaurants.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Menka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Like a fairytale!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I did not visit the castle but the gardens and the surroundings were absolutely stunning! All the beautiful old trees and truly scenic views to the castle. There's a spooky old chapel as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best castle in the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The library and gardens are amazing, but the whole castle is really interesting. The visit is well laid out and you really get the impression that lots of thought has been given to how visitors can best enjoy the castle. I think the library here is a match for Trinity College, Dublin.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arundel Castle and Gardens also viewed

 
Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to Arundel Castle and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing