We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired old hotel seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tired old hotel seen better days”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

No porter available when we checked in. When opening the door to our room overwhelming smell of damp. Carpet threadbare and black marks on wall. Decided to try and live with it as going out that evening. Smell still very bad. So next morning asked to be moved, Our complaint was dealt with immediately which was very good and we were given another room. But big problems with damp and water in hallways.
Breakfast was excellent. Room service very prompt and again very good food.
Overall the building itself is tired and in need of decoration outside and curing of damp problems inside. For us the name Hilton says top of the range and this wasn't.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    574
    496
    261
    139
See reviews for
401
859
41
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visting a family member from Bognor Regis. Location wise was fine, the rooms were nice and clean but very small and really uncomfortable beds, also the rooms were far too hot and had no air conditioning.
Really my biggest gripe about this hotel was the customer service in the restaraunts and bar areas! On our first night we ate at the main bar and waited 40 minutes for someone to take our order even though it was quiet, eventually when someone did come over their uniform was covered in stains and they really had 'I can't be bothered attitude', to make it worse it took another 50 minutes to get 3 toasted sandwiches?? With no apology after the long wait they also managed to get the order wrong. The next morning we went down for breakfast and the level of food wasn't great, it was like it had been standing there for ages and didn't look appetizing in the slightest and again, there was so many staff but no one was serving and yet again the waiters uniforms were covered in stains and just generally weren't clean which is disgusting when you are dealing with food.
The whole attitude of the staff in the restaraunt and bar areas was disgraceful, none of them seemed to know what they were doing and it was a real effort to try and be friendly to people and also the level of cleanliness was appalling. This is no where near a Hilton standard and I would definatly not return which is a shame given I have family close by and I was planning on using this hotel on a regular basis but after my experiences never again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orlandoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arundel hotels

london, uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Transferred to this hotel after a dissapointing night at an Inn in the centre of Arundel. I phoned to make the reservation at 8.20 am and they let us check into out room at 9am. The gentleman on reception who checked us was a shining example of brilliant customer service.

We stayed in a deluxe double which was clean and spacious on the top floor. The bed was super comfortable and the whole room spotlessly clean. Crabtree and Evelyn toiltries were lovely and the tea tray was well stocked.

The suana, steam room and pool made for a relaxing way to while away a rainy afternoon. They provide towels at the pool so you just need to take your costume down and £1 for the changing room locker.

Breakfast was a buffet style affair with continental meat / cheese / bread items plus a full english. The serving staff were rush off their feet at 9.30 on a Sunday morning and they could have done with a few more staff. Tea and coffee were slow to arrive but that is the only quibble of the entire stay.

This was our first stay at a Hilton and we wouldn't hesitate to stay with them again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkid21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Booked in for golf break (for the lads) and spa break (for the ladies). The check in was efficient and friendly, rooms were tidy although no mini-bar.
Pros: firendly staff, enjoyable golf and spa/leisure facilities, very nice evening meal included with our package, very nice grounds and buildings with character
Cons: cost of drinks (£11.50 for a G&T and a small glass of wine), service at breakfast

The breakfast had an excellent variety of food on offer, the only issue was with the service - one of our party had to wait 15 minutes for a fried egg once the ones on display (mostly overcooked) had run out, others in our party who preferred poached eggs had to wait 20 minutes for these to arrive, after which time they had eaten the rest of their breakfast - they say you can have eggs anyway you like, but they need to buck up on the service. Also some problems with milk, also expect a long wait if you prefer skimmed milk...

So in summary, we enoyed our stay, with a bit more attention to detail around the breakfast service it would have been better, prepare for high cost of drinks. Would still probably stay there again as the golf break was good value...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetbaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2010

First time we have used Hilton Hotel Chain and were certainly not disappointed with Avisford Park. On arrival we were made very welcome by the staff and our room was lovely. We decided to eat in the hotel and it was just wonderful food and breakfast was equally as good. All the staff were very friendly and made sure everything was to our liking. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nettleham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in September 2010.

We were pleased to note that you had an enjoyable first stay with us and found the standard of accommodation, food and service to your satisfaction.

It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback, and your comments will be shared with the rest of the team.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We were booked into the hotel as part of a large group through my father in law's company and working in hotels I had read up about the hotel on it's website, on arriving at the hotel my first impression was that the website did not do the hotel justice!
We arrived at 10.00am and although our pre-allocated room was not ready the receptionist quickly allocated a clean room of the same room type.
I was involved with a gold tournament which gave me the opportunity to stroll the grounds which were well kept and very extensive.
We attended a function in the evening where the food was fantastic and served by attentive helpful staff. However, I felt the drinks were a little pricey.
Our room was spacious and well appointed with all the amenties you would expect although you did have to open the secret compartment on the desk to discover the mirror and hairdryer!! However the room was very hot, due to heating being on and no airconditioning in the room. The bath room was spotlessly clean and the Evelyn & Crabtree toiletries a nice touch.
Breakfast each morning was a well stocked buffet of both cooked and continental items along with a good selection of juices and items that could be ordered additionally.
All the staff at the hotel were polite and helpful.
As picky as I am being from the hotel industry I was pleasantly surprised and would certainly return to the hotel again. Although hopefully by then they may have upgraded to Wifi in the bedrooms as well as the public areas.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spreadbury584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in September 2010.

We were pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us as part of a large group and found the standard of food, service and accommodation to your satisfaction. We were also pleased that you found the reality better than the website!

Your comments regarding the mirror and hairdryer have been noted – thank you for bringing this to our attention!

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy & USA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I am of British parents but was raised in the States and I am always amazed at how many of the Brit. hoteliers just don't get it... no matter how much they want to.

This COULD be a world class facility.

We were paying over $350.00 USD and we got a small room, no robes or slippers, a lousy TV, no in room wi-fi, no curtains (other than black-out), a sink that dripped, a toilet that runs and a tub that was nicely moldy around the edges. When asked (complained) they did lower the rate, they did not apologize other than to say the normal rate was about $150.00 for that room but there was an event down the road so they raised the rates (the place was far from full).

It is just to bad... if I was Hilton I would be ashamed.

note: I did hear a British man say that it was his favorite place... maybe his expectations are lower or he was paying a much lower 'local' rate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in September 2010.

It was disappointing to note that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us. The particular comments you have made concerning your room are not representative of our usual high standards and we apologise if they were not addressed at the time, although a reduction in the rate was implemented as a gesture of goodwill. Robes and slippers, however, are not supplied as standard unless a deluxe room is requested.

Regarding the rate charge; the occasion of your visit was during one of our busiest times of the year and the rate charged during this time reflected occupancy levels and seasonal event charges.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
587 reviews
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
896 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
970 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#8 of 9 in Chichester
530 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Property: Hilton Avisford Park
Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing