We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel, and paid £150 per night for 'deluxe' rooms. The room we were in was large but very plain. Apart from the curtains everything was beige, and was a little drab - not bad but certainly not luxury. Our friends who were in another deluxe room, had a tiny room, not much bigger than the bed, so I have no idea what a standard room would be like.

The hotel seems geared up for golfers or weddings ( there were 3 weddings there on Saturday ), and just about coped with the numbers. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night and the food was good but not spectacular.

I would stay here again if I got a good deal, but will not be rushing back. The area is lovely though, and we had a fantastic time in Arundel, and Bognor was definitely worth a trip. I just think that this is a large hotel, which is a little impersonal, but is fine as a base in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ives5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in September 2013.

Due to the age and former uses of the building, the size and style of the bedrooms vary; your comment regarding the decor has, however, been noted.

We note that you ate in the restaurant on the Friday night and were pleased you found the standard of food to your satisfaction.

We were also pleased that you found the location convenient for exploring the local area and do hope that you will return in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,581 - 1,587 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Actually really enjoyed our stay but it wasn't without hiccups. The positives: Lovely settting, pleasant & helpful receptionists & good restaurant staff. Food was good for what we paid & breakfast excellent. The negatives: On arrival the first thing we noticed was the number of cigarette ends lying on the floor outside near the main door. Definitely hadn't been cleared for a day or two & the patio area near the bar was the same at one table there were butts all over the floor which we assumed was because the standard size flowerpots were full! Clearly hadn't been emptied for some time but although one couple informed a member of staff this remained all day. We had upgraded,which on arrival in the room I was relieved about, if ours was a deluxe double I would not want to risk the standard. Once again poor housekeeping let them down. The room wasn't cleaned properly, hairs in the bathroom - wiped floor with bathmat & not at all clean. Saw some paper under the bed side table/bed turned out to be a card & some wrapping. Opened the desk to find the mirror covered in finger marks & lots of crumbs so pretty unpleasant. I went to reception where I had expected to have someone sent to clean the room. The receptionist (Anita) was really lovely & very kindly had us moved to a suite which was clean. The public rooms are all fine but it seems the housekeeping staff need a push as we heard others complaining too. It was impossible to get a smile out of the barman who appears to dislike his job. All in all we still enjoyed our stay, yes the hotel is tired but we are told it is gradually being re-furbished. We thought there were positives & the location was good so would consider again if the price was right. If we hadn't move to a suite we would have felt it was overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipnjools222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in September 2013.

It was disappointing to note that the level of housekeeping fell below our usual high standards. This matter has been referred to our Head Housekeeper who will carry out further training as appropriate to ensure the correct standards are being achieved.

We were, however, glad to note that Anita was able to move you to alternative accommodation which met with your satisfaction and provided you with professional service.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback and we do hope that you will return for a future stay.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I recently purchased a Groupon offer at this hotel for my mums birthday and was very disppointed. The hotels customer service was very poor apart from the two treatment ladies who made us feel very welcome and the most helpful throughout the day. The rest of the staff need to be trained with customer service skills as nonone smiled or even approached or spoke to you. In the restaurant we werent even asked if things were OK or would you like anything. I eventually asked a staff member who was hoovering can I have some vinegar, she didnt understand as she did not speak good english so sent someone else out!! Also when swimming in the indoor pool was joined by workmen tiling (one guy was very understanding so got us a drink) but it seemed inside the building you were joined by henry the hoover or maintenance works. I would have rather them rang me and put my date back a week once the maintenance had finished. Not a recommendation from me :(

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in September 2013.

It was disappointing to note that our service levels fell short of our usual high standards during your visit to the hotel for a spa day. Your particular comments have been duly noted and remedial action taken as appropriate.

We were, however, pleased that you enjoyed your treatments and the therapists made you feel welcome and were helpful throughout the day.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback and we do hope you will return in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel itself is in a great location (just outside Arundel and about 10 minutes from Chichester, where the Festival is held); it's a lovely building, pretty comfortable and great facilities. It's primarily set up for business meetings and has the advantages/disadvantages of that ie it can get really busy at times. So might be worth checking in advance if you're travelling for leisure but guess what? There are loads of good restaurants in Arundel (five minutes away), plus one right outside the front gate so try one of those.

I don't normally comment on other reviews, because everyone's experience is different but non English speaking staff? Really? There are two reasons why people might not understand you - they don't understand English (which would seem like a quick way to fail an interview) or you're not being/speaking clearly.

The other thing you need to remember (and I get irritated myself at times) but it is a fact that the vast majority of country hotels throughout Europe don't have AC. So I'm always slightly surprised when people comment on it, it's just a reality. I travel all the time and have done for 30 years, I've had maybe 3/4 really uncomfortable nights in that time as a result of lack of this facility.

My criticisms would be that the signage for the hotel is poor (and it matters, because if you miss the turning, you have to go all the way down to the next roundabout, which is five minutes away) and the interior (especially the carpets) is in serious need of an upgrade.

Room Tip: There is no lift and US customers should remember that in Europe, the second floor means two lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mersonfanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in September 2013.

We were pleased that you found the location convenient for Arundel and Chichester and the level of comfort and range of facilities to your satisfaction.

We have also noted your comments relating to other reviews and thank you for your honest opinion.

Your particular comments regarding hotel signage and interior condition, especially carpets, have been duly noted and will be addressed when these matters are next reviewed.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback and we do hope you will return for another stay in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Non English speaking front desk and restaurant staff-very slow bar and food service-poor menu selection-definately avoid hotel if temperatures over 15C as no ventilation or AC. Waiting over 40 minutes for bar service and 1 hour for food service not acceptable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in September 2013.

It was disappointing to note that you experienced some concerns with your stay. Your particular comments have been noted and will be addressed with further training and remedial action as appropriate.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Only the breakfast got a good rating, what a choise and good quality! Room in Garden Lodge was in these summer days not well ventilated, (one) window only to open for 10cm. Rate interesting for this Hilton-hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank RdeSchepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in September 2013.

We have noted your comment regarding ventilation in the bedroom and whilst we do not have air conditioning in our bedrooms, they are all provided with a fan to assist with temperature control.

Our Hilton breakfasts receive many favourable comments and we were glad that you enjoyed the choice and quality of items on offer.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just off the A27 about 3 miles west of Arundel town, the property was an Edwardian prep school (with attached parkland golf-course), now converted into a medium sized hotel with the addition of a new building (not visited). Loads of parking. Staff were all efficient and friendly. deluxe room on top floor of original building was clean, spacious, double aspect, but quite plain and characterless. Bathroom and bed were fine. Breakfast normal Hilton buffet, decent quality and good choice. Bar area and outdoor pool both very nice. Overall a good place to stay in a lovely area.
Note that there are no lifts/elevators or air con.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in September 2013.

The main building of the hotel was indeed a former Roman Catholic boys’ preparatory school and the names of former head boys can be seen on the cedar panelling in the Restaurant.

We were glad to note that you found our team members efficient and friendly and the standard of accommodation and quality of food were to your satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back for a further stay in the future and thank you for your constructive feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,210 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
224 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
346 reviews
3 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: $111 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing