We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas At Avisford”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a family get together for Christmas at this hotel. It is in a pleasant countryside setting in a a building with a grand old exterior. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. The lounger area was a very pleasant area for light refreshment. Our room (Houston Suite) had a good view to the front and was a good size two room suite. The rooms do lack the facility of a fridge (but we knew that) and are pretty much standard Hilton decor. Some of the rooms not in the main original building have quite narrow and winding access.

We had a very pleasant stay, good food and probably worth a visit in the summer to make use of the extensive grounds.

Room Tip: A good base for visits to Arundel and Chichester if you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012.

We were delighted that you chose Hilton Avisford Park for your family get together at Christmas and enjoyed our location.

It was pleasing to note that you found our team members very friendly and helpful and the standard of accommodation to your satisfaction.

Our extensive grounds are certainly worth a summer visit and we do hope that you will return during 2013 to explore them.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,770 - 1,776 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

cannot fault this hotel,stayed here for 2 nights to see in the new year. it maybe a little dated but personally i think it adds to the charm of the hotel and building. christmas decorations were lovely and in keeping with the hotel colours. ALL staff were very friendly, there was an incident with another guest in the hotel and the staff couldnt have been more helpful, caring and proffesional. Breakfast was amazing. car parking was fantastic and right outside the hotel. grounds were well kept. no lift to the top floor but were offered help with our bags on arrival. we will definately stay here again. thank you

Room Tip: stayed on top floor in superior room. very spacious and views of golf course at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012.

We were delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us over New Year. We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and were pleased to note this was your experience.

The building certainly lends itself to being decorated for the festive season and our Housekeeping Department work hard to ensure the decorations and perfectly co-ordinated; we were pleased that you enjoyed them.

Our Hilton breakfasts definitely provide a wide range of items and we note you found them amazing!

We are fortunate to be located in extensive grounds with ample car parking adjacent to the hotel and were glad that you found this convenient.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again during 2013.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it suited our needs as we have 4 kids and we were able to have interconnecting rooms. The rooms are pretty dated and the shower was rubbish. The window frame in the bathroom had no paint left on it etc. The breakfast was good: great choice and the kids bar menu is excellent value and quality. Basically if you need a stopover and need space it is fine, the rooms are a good size and the staff are excellent albeit under the impression that they are working for a top class hotel rather than a past it's best middle ranking chain.
But, if you are hoping for a great quality hotel for a romantic break etc you would be better off going for something in Arundel itself, like the Swan Pub which has rooms and is really beautifully done. I just found it really strange that the staff are so formal and precise but don't have the initiative to turn the heating up in the bar and we are all sitting there with our coats on! I suggest the management spend less time training on the formalities and more looking round and keeping things shipshape, like hiding extension leads lying about/cleaning away visible old marks on doors etc. Having said all that! If you arrive late ish with hungry tired kids you can get yourself a reasonable glass of wine and a good bar snack and all have a bed, not have to leapfrog over loads of rolled out ones in a tiny room to get to get to your own bed! Oh and check your bill! I was nearly massively over charged!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grizedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012.

We were pleased to note that the accommodation allocated to you suited your family’s needs and the standard of food, in particular breakfast and children’s options, were to your satisfaction.

Your comments regarding the shower, window frame, heating, general cleanliness and tidiness have all been noted and passed to the relevant departmental managers for remedial action and further training as appropriate and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused.

We also note there was a problem with your bill for which we apologise.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel has great facilities and we really enjoyed our stay. A beautiful building with plenty of car parking. Our room was on the small side and didn't have an especially inspiring view but was perfectly comfortable; the hotel bar and dining area was very classy. As with all Hiltons we have stayed at in the UK, the bar had a nice range of drinks (I love being able to get a glass of nice bubbly!). The food was very expensive though - we would have considered eating in for dinner (given that the hotel is out of Arundel) but the offerings just didn't seem to match the price. The hotel has an excellent folder with lots of local menus though so it's easy to find an alternative - we just drove back into Arundel and found a pub ourselves (the Red Lion - great food, ok wine).

The breakfast buffet was excellent, again as we have found with Hiltons in the UK.

A slightly random bonus - There was beautiful artwork for sale on the walls of the hotel corridors! A gorgeous touch. Check lift access to the rooms if stairs are a problem for you as there are a few.

A really pleasant stay, if being out of town isn't a problem for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bear_Eskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in September 2012.

We were delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Due to the age and nature of the building the size and style of our bedrooms vary, and we apologise that on this occasion you found the room a little small but perfectly comfortable.

We were pleased that you liked the decor and ambience of the bar and restaurant and enjoyed a drink from our extensive range. It was disappointing, however, that you did not dine in the restaurant on this occasion although you found our Hilton breakfast excellent.

The artwork on display in the corridors is provided by a local gallery offering a range of styles; we appreciate your positive feedback regarding this display.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We decided to have a family break at Christmas and have a relaxing holiday. We chose the Hilton Avisford Park because of the service experienced at our previous visits for charity events.

On arrival, the check-in process went very smoothly. Even though the reception staff were having to deal with many people arriving for the Christmas break, they still ramained calm and helpful. Our rooms were located on the second floor. As there are no lifts in the hotel our baggage was taken up by a porter, who was very helpful and attentive during our stay. The room was a large family room with a decent sized bathroom overlooking the golf course. Our daughters' room was a standard twin room of a reasonable size but unfortunately they had a problem with a noisy extractor fan. Once the housekeeping staff realised it was not easily fixed they were immediately given an alternative room without fuss.

I will summarise our experience as follows:

Hotel

Impressive and spacious period hotel set in lovely surroundings. Free Wi-fi in the lounge and bar area kept our children happy!!

Christmas Package

Overall, good value for money. The entertainment met most people's needs. The Boxing Day Gala Dinner was superb, with good food and entertainment to round off the stay.

Rooms

Reasonable size but in need of an uplift as they are looking a bit tired. Not enough power points in our room (220), but I think this is due to the age of the building and would require a big rewiring job.

Bar

Good service but disappointed with the policy of serving customers premium brand spirits by default. Can make a big difference to the bill if you are buying a round of drinks!! However, I was given a refund for the difference and then made sure I asked for the Gordons and Smirnoff Red.

Restaurant

Lovely dining room. The service was generally slow between courses but couldn't fault the staff for their demeanour. The food was presented well and we had good sized portions. The duck on Christmas Day was superb! Choices for breakfast were very good and the full English filled you up until dinner! However, we were disappointed with the Christmas Day evening buffet as there was not much available when we arrived.

Leisure facilities

No complaints about the gym and pool. The gym had usual equipment, 2 x tread mills, cycle, rower and 2 cross trainers and other equipment and weights. We made use of the pool, sauna and steam room. We'd bought our tennis gear with us and managed to get in a game, in between the rain!! Did not have time for a round of golf but next time maybe.

Staff

The staff were very helpful and friendly and managed to cope with those awkward moments!! Example, my father-in-law wanted to change the dessert for something else but was not happy with the alternative. The waiter smiled and said he would find something else and he was immediately back (like magic!) with a plate of fruit; one happy and impressed father-in-law!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are less noisy! If you are less able, then a room on the ground floor is bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012 for a family Christmas break.

We were pleased to note that your arrival experience and service were to your satisfaction and your accommodation well suited for your family.

Your comments regarding the quality of food provided on the Christmas Day evening buffet and the serving of certain spirits have been noted, and we will ensure further training is carried out so that similar occurrences do not arise in the future. We were pleased to note, however, that generally the food was well presented with good portion sizes and the duck in particular was excellent. Our Hilton breakfasts offer a wide variety of items and we were glad that you found them to be hearty and filling.

You were very lucky to have had some dry weather during your stay to play some tennis! We also note that you had time to use the indoor pool, sauna and steam room and enjoyed these facilities.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team, and we were very pleased that we were able to provide your Father-in-law with an acceptable alternative dessert to those on offer.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your detailed feedback. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Booked this hotel for one night to celebrate my anniversary with my partner. When we arrived and the hotel was lit up and looked brilliant. Check in was good and quick and the lobby area was clean and well lit. Upon entering our room right at the top of the hotel, we realised we had been given a free upgrade, wine, goodies and a card from the hotel wishing us all the best and with their best wishes. It's the little touches like this that can change a good stay into a brilliant stay.
Room was comfortable and well equipped and we had a fantastic view of the golf course.
We will be definitely going again adn would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A2tharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012 to celebrate your anniversary.

We were delighted that you found the standard of accommodation, cleanliness and check-in experience to your satisfaction and you had a brilliant stay.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your positive feedback and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over Christmas so may not be representative of usual standard of service. Large family room, very spacious but in need of a refurb. Room and bathroom clean. Service in bar good. Service in restaurant poor. Ran out of desserts but didn't think to tell us even though we had ordered them at the start of the meal. Waited half an hour. Fair reduction made to the Bill however. Good buffet breakfast but very busy and understaffed. Overall I would look at other options before returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in December 2012.

We were pleased to note that the standard of accommodation, cleanliness and service in the bar met with your satisfaction.

It was disappointing, however, that the level of service in the restaurant fell short of our usual high standards although we note that an acceptable reduction was made to your bill as a gesture of apology. Your comments will be addressed with further training as appropriate in order to avoid similar occurrences in the future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,123 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
221 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
333 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: $95 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing