We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Daytime luxury but nocturnal discomfort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Daytime luxury but nocturnal discomfort.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

While you might expect a Hilton to charge over-the-top prices,this one is very reasonable. It is set in a magnificent park and boasts excellent facilities including golf,indoor & outdoor pools & tennis. However,it is very much a business meeting-place & most guests seem only to stay one night. When you try the beds,you think you may have discovered another reason for this. " Bed & Board" may have originated here so pack some memory foam! We did not try a suite but
the basic room has clean facilities & enough space for 2 people & a small dog-we are always delighted if ours is welcome & there was no charge for him. There is a £15 per day charge for using wi-fi though,which is fine if you can charge it to a business.
The food is excellent and the breakfast has the widest variety of high quality choices you could possibly imagine.If the hotel is full,it can be an obstacle course fetching it though.
The staff are very friendly & helpful and the hotel is convenient for several local attractions,including Arundel,Petworth House,Goodwood & the S. Coast.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have upper window sealed for security as bars are fitted to lower one. If you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in October 2012.

We are very fortunate to be located in a beautiful setting with extensive leisure facilities as well as being ideally situated for exploring the local area.

We were pleased that the standard of accommodation and cleanliness met with your satisfaction although we note you found the bed a little too hard for you. We were also pleased to note that we were able to accommodate your small dog and trust he enjoyed his pet amenities!

Whilst wifi is chargeable in the bedrooms, it is available free of charge in the public areas and we apologise if this was not explained to you during your stay.

Our breakfasts are renowned for offering an extensive choice of items and were pleased they met with your expectations.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your dog back to Avisford Park.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    578
    498
    262
    140
See reviews for
403
862
41
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

2 night business stay. Gorgeous listed building. Huge grounds, arrived at night-time and felt like I had arrived! Food excellent, so many lovely sitting areas and lounges. Breakfast excellent. Staff cannot do enough to help you. Masses of free parking.

Would go again with family. Gym and pool.

Room Tip: Do not take a garden lodge room if you cannot walk far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sksan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in October 2012.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were away from home on business. We also note that you found the meals excellent and team members helpful.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park with your family to enjoy our beautiful surroundings and extensive leisure facilities.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your very positive feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ockendon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed 2 nights over a bank holiday, staff were preoccupied with a wedding. We had to wait till 5pm to get not our room. Room size was okay but the heating was constantly on regardless of any adjustments. The spa was good, with good facilities. We did get a good deal for the room, so price wise it was good. However I have stayed in other Hilton hotels, with far better results

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sduke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in August 2012.

We are a very popular venue for weddings and functions but that should not mean the level of service given to guests not attending such events is impacted in any way, and it was disappointing to note this was your experience. Whilst check-in is from 3.00 pm we do endeavour to have rooms ready for occupation as near to this time as possible and apologise that you were not allocated your room until 5.00 pm.

We were pleased that you enjoyed our health club facilities and found your stay to be good value.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have stayed in many Hiltons and this is one with a difference. The old prep school set in acres of land is delightful. The lounge and dining rooms provide comfort and the spa is an added bonus albeit a very small pool. The Tastecard makes the well presented and tasty meals very reasonable indeed. It is located close to the A27 and so provides easy access to nearby towns.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in October 2012.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the setting of the hotel and found its location convenient for accessing nearby towns.

Our lounge and restaurant have fairly recently been refurbished and the new furnishings have enhanced the comfort and ambience of these areas of the hotel, and we were pleased to note this was your experience. We were also pleased you enjoyed our leisure facilities.

We welcome Tastecard bookings at the hotel and were pleased that you enjoyed your meals with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I'm a business traveller. I booked this hotel for one night after enquiring if they had Sky Sports, as I wanted to watch a particular program that night. Initially the TV didn't work. They got that sorted, but only Sky Sports 4 available in the room. I wanted to watch Sky Sports 2. The Wifi didn't work - I was told there were technical issues. Eventunally that got sorted. Little sleep, it was hot in the room so slept with the window open, but the room backed onto the plant room - very noisy all night. Got up early to escape - no shaving point! Whilst in the shower I noticed BLOOD STAINS on the shower curtain (not mine)! Had I noticed when having a shower in the evening I would have walked out. The final insult was when reconciling my expenses claim at the end of the week when I realised I had been charged £199.40, not £119.40!

Room Tip: don't bother - go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jinx C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in October 2012.

It was disappointing to note that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We note that you experienced difficulties with your television and wifi which were later rectified and apologise for any inconvenience caused.

There is a shaving point in all our bathrooms located on the light fittings; we apologise if you did not see it in your particular bathroom.

We were very surprised about your comment regarding “blood stains” on the shower curtain. We operate a very thorough cleaning programme, which includes the shower curtains, and are sorry that this particular curtain appears not to have been properly laundered. We would like to reassure you this is not our usual standard and our Head Housekeeper will ensure rooms are more thoroughly checked in future before being passed for occupancy.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arundel hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Room was fine, had everything we needed. The indoor pool had a layer of algae on the bottom - very visible with swimming goggles. The staff already knew about it! Breakfast sooooo SLOW! Waited nearly an hour just to get a table. Overall hotel is rubbish value for money. Go elsewhere like Travel Lodge!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo-flo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in October 2012.

We were pleased to note that the standard of accommodation met with your satisfaction and you had everything you needed.

It was disappointing to note, however, that the service in the restaurant fell short of our usual high standards and we are sorry that you were kept waiting for a table for breakfast.

We have, since your visit, completely drained the indoor swimming pool and it has undergone a deep clean which should address your concerns about algae on the bottom of the pool.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

On entering the grounds of Avisford park it all seems very impressive! It is a beautiful and enormous house and a great deal of effort is put into the surrounding gardens and golf course.

We booked the Park Suite, which is one of the penthouse room, unfortunately it really just felt like a bigger version of a normal double room, no extra attention to decoration or features which was a shame. The thing that bugged us the most was the very average customer service and dinner menu. We were really hoping for something more attentive and engaging in the way of the staff and dinner was just 'posh' pub food really, but at Hilton prices!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in October 2012.

We were pleased that you liked the location and setting of the hotel and grounds but note that the standard of accommodation did not meet with your expectations.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and it was disappointing to read this was not your experience; this will be addressed with further training by the relevant departmental manager. Our restaurant menu changes on a regular basis to incorporate seasonal ingredients and create interesting quality dishes and exciting combinations, at prices comparable to other similar establishments in the area. Our bar menu has more traditional dining options.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Property: Hilton Avisford Park
Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing