We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything good but bar service awful at peak time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Everything good but bar service awful at peak time!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is in lovely grounds in a beautiful area. The hotel has loads of amenities and we had a lovely room. The food was the usual Hilton quality but nothing extra special.
We have been here before and found it to be noisy with functions, but thought we would try mid-week this time. So - everything was really nice. However, there was a function on in the room nearest to the bar and the world and his wife wanted a drink. The bar area was heaving and I had to stand for about 15 minutes to get a drink because they were buying "rounds" for several people at a time. I commented twice to the bar staff that it was a long wait and was there no extra staff. I got blank looks, understandable in a way as they were very pressured. The last time we stayed here, our criticism was lack of staff at very very busy times. No change there then! Apart from that, which did spoil my mood, it was an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel good views, but might be noisy as all guests pass by in cars and coaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superdooper020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in July 2011.

We were glad to note that you found the standard of accommodation and food to your satisfaction during your stay.

Your comments about staffing levels, particularly during busy times, have been noted and we appreciate your feedback. The level of service we provide to our guests is extremely important to us and it is only through such feedback that we can make improvements.

We note that you have stayed with us on several occasions and do hope that you will consider another visit in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    586
    508
    264
    141
See reviews for
409
877
41
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed two nights in July. Situated a couple of miles outside Arundel, just off a dual carriageway (no noise can be heard). The interior is slightly tired but on the whole is in a good shape, although two bare wires poked out of the wall above the fireplace in reception. We stayed on the ground floor (Rm10) which is at the front of the property near the driveway and although it only has a single-pane sash window (which was unlocked when we arrived) it was pretty quiet. The room itself was a reasonable size and luckily the weather was not too warm overnight as there is no air-conditioning (a desk fan is provided.) Bathroom was clean with a very good shower.
The fitness centre is pretty small but that is not unusual in this type of property. The outdoor pool, situated at the bottom of the gardens, is a good size (larger than the indoor one) and is pleasantly heated.
The breakfast is excellent - a buffet arrangement with seven hot choices + pastries / cheese & meats / yoghurt / fruit / toast / cereal, which made up for the fire alarm going off at 02:58 during our first night!
Overall an enjoyable hotel, clinging on to it's 4th start, which I would recommend, although I would not recommend paying over £100 per night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monobrow236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in July 2011.

Refurbishment work to the lobby, lounge, bar and restaurant has just recently been completed, and the wires mentioned have, since your visit, been connected to new wall lights above the fire place.

We were pleased to note that you found your accommodation reasonably sized, quiet and clean. We also note that you had time to use some of our leisure facilities and particularly enjoyed using the outdoor swimming pool.

It was unfortunate that the fire alarm was activated early in the morning; in accordance with our procedures any such occurrence is treated as a genuine incident until properly investigated. We were, however, glad to note that the extensive breakfast buffet made up for your early morning call!

Thank you once again for your comments and we do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the future.

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We got a cheap two-night B&B 'break' close to London and it was the Hilton Aviston Park. Our room was the most basic, given it was a cheap break, but it was beautifully clean and the towels, bedding, etc. were up to Hilton standards. It was pretty small (double bed; next time we will go for king-sized.) The hotel stands within a larger golf club and the grounds were very well kept. What made this stay a stand-out, however, was the service, not only from the general hotel staff (who were extremely helpful and did a few small services above-and-beyond, clearly out of friendly helpfulness) but the restaurant staff. The day and the evening 'front of house' for the restaurant were both super. The evening chap remembered my partner's coeliac needs and asked the second night if she had got her gluten-free rolls for breakfast! (She had, and said they were delicious, and home-made.) All the staff in the restaurant were good, professional, and gave that courteous service which comes from being good at one's job and being a good person. You can just tell, sometimes. The food was also superior -- not boil-in-the-bag at all, but thoughtful and surprising (and delicious) entrees. We were so impressed with the first dinner that we decided not to go out for our second dinner to a recommended local place but to dine in the hotel, and we weren't disappointed. Buffet breakfast was 'the usual', but with a nice range. I feel that the manager of this hotel has achieved a happy (I hope!) and professional staff, and we the guests get the benefits. We have decided to come back again when we want another short romantic break. (BTW, there are some beautiful country walks, and lovely medieval church 5 minutes away, and the sea is only about 7 miles south!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carocgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in July 2011.

The size and style of our rooms vary due to the nature of the building but we were pleased that the standard of cleanliness, towels and linen were all to your satisfaction.

We were particularly pleased that you found our team members, in particular those working in the restaurant, delivered professional and courteous service. It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and this will be shared with the team.

We are delighted that you have decided to return again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a voucher from an earlier Hilton related incident (turds found in a swimming pool in Italy) which was due to expire, and we decided to go to Arundel to use it. Arundel itself is very nice, by the way. The castle is interesting, the town is very pleasant and there are some good restaurants there (La Campania is very good).

Anyway, the hotel. Check in is quite slow (small check in area and only one member of staff) but not the worst we've seen by any means. The hotel itself felt a trifle run down in the check in area, but there it is. The grounds are pleasant.

The vouchers were for standard rooms, and we had one on the ground floor. Possibly because it was a standard double room it was very gloomy and there was no air con.

The bed was tiny, the maid didn't bother replenishing the body wash stuff, the pillows were uncomfortable - the whole thing was a bit of a disappointment, really.

The gym was modern albeit small and the pool was ok - on the small side and impossible to use if more than 4 people decide to swim at once - but the steam room was effective (although the mosaic tiling was falling away in places, and the whole area looked very tired).

The dining room was entirely lacking in atmosphere. We only used it for breakfast, but that was depressing enough. Getting into breakfast can take some time, as although the hotel wasn't particularly busy the staff don't rush to seat you. So you stand there for 3 minutes waiting for the sole person responsible for seating checking parties in for breakfast, finding suitable searing, which could be the other end of the dining room, and then seating and pouring orange juice for them before the next group and so on. Whilst Saturday's waiting service was adequate Sunday proved different. So, getting a pot of tea was something of a mission on Sunday, as was getting your plate cleared away afterwards.

The breakfast itself is ok - but try this and see if you get the same thing. Put a sausage on a plate and press it with your fork - the amount of grease that comes out is amazing.

At check out the lady behind the desk got sniffy about our vouchers and told me they looked old. When I said they were still in date she got quite aggressive and told me "yes that's why I'm accepting them for you" in a loud slow manner as if I was (1) stupid and (2) the recipient of some enormous favour from the Hilton chain (instead of someone who had the misfortune to swim in a pool full of richards). Anyway, that is probably an experience unique to us, and we didn't have to deal any other staff.

At check out I did discover the room rate (had we paid for it) would have been £174 per night. The place is not worth that.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jas032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in July 2011.

It was disappointing to note that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us. Due to the age and nature of the building the size and style of our bedrooms varies and we are sorry that on this occasion the standard of accommodation did not meet with your satisfaction.

We were pleased that you were able to spend time using our leisure facilities and your particular comment regarding the mosaic tiles in the steam room has been noted.

The level of service experienced at breakfast time and at our reception area was not a true reflection of our usual high standards and your comments will be shared with the relevant departmental managers to ensure other guests do not have a similar experience.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arundel hotels

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with colleagues on a conference. Check in was ok but only one receptionist on, which meant a queue. I asked another member of staff if they could help as I was running late and was told it was only the lady on the desk who could do it. Receptionist was pleasant and the use of the speedy departure option after staying was useful.

Twin room was ok and bed linen very clean and comfortable. Good products in the bathroom. Gripe would be no water supplied in the room unless you wanted to pay £3.95 per bottle, didn't bother.

Other gripe would be only drinks charged to your room could be purchased after 11pm as no cash or card transactions. This was annoying as I was paying for my room on the company card so could not have a drink, hmmm.

Breakfast was as you would expect, usual choices but nothing special. No granary or wholemeal bread left for DIY toast at 8.15am.

Some of the decor is dated and tired, mostly the carpets and chairs in the bar.

This hotel is fine and the staff overall were helpful.

If you are wanting to visit Arundel itself this hotel is not in the town.

Room Tip: Use the speedy departure option if you agree with your bill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greymalkin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in July 2011.

We were sorry to note that you had to wait a while at reception on arrival but pleased when checking in you found the receptionist pleasant. We were also glad that the express check out facility was useful to you on departure.

It was pleasing to read that the standard of accommodation and bathroom supplies were to your satisfaction. Your comments regarding the cost of in-room water, ability to purchase drinks after 11.00 pm and the lack of certain bread types for toast at breakfast have all been noted and we thank you for your input.

Regarding the décor, this is currently being addressed with our refurbishment of the Cedar Restaurant, lounge, bar and reception areas and is due for completion within the next couple of weeks.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Avisford Park for a Birthday weekend in June.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was excellent
The Buffet Breakfast on both days was also excellent.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we would definately stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gray_nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in June 2011 for a birthday weekend.

We were delighted to note that your dining experiences for both evening meal and breakfasts were excellent and you found all our team members very friendly and helpful.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming back to the hotel for a future birthday celebration if not before!

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed here midweek for our wedding anniversary. The hotel staff made our stay special and the hotel was everything it stated to be and more. The room we were given was huge,well appointed and very comfortable.The deal we were given through "Travelzoo" was exceptional and we worked out that after our inclusive dinner on first night and breakfast on both mornings we stayed for next to nothing.I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a restful stress free break. Make sure you have a swim and a sauna.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in June 2011 on the occasion of your wedding anniversary.

We were delighted to note that our team members made your stay special and the hotel more than met with your expectations.

We were also glad that you had the opportunity to use the swimming pool and sauna and found the whole experience restful and stress free.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments and we do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back for a future stay; perhaps another anniversary!

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Property: Hilton Avisford Park
Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing