We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed at Avisford Park for a couple of nights over Easter. It was a good experience, the parkland setting and the ex-school building gave it more character than the average modern chain hotel. Nice room, friendly and efficient staff. Only quibble would be that that shower was a bit weak, possibly because the room was on the second floor. OveralI though, I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenttraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in April 2011.

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Easter break with us and the character and history of the hotel appealed to you.

Your comments regarding the standard of accommodation and friendliness and efficiency of our team have been noted and will be shared with the rest of the team.

We have noted your comment about the quality of the shower and, although all our showers are inspected on a regular basis, we apologise for any inconvenience this caused.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the near future.

Yours faithfully


Darren Walsh
Hotel Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,991 - 1,997 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2011

Just thought I'd write a little review as I returned from a 3 night stay today. Contry to other reviews I had a lovely room, a nice size and was clean and well mantaines. Yes, there were a few little bits and pieces withing the corridors which could have done with a bit of tidying up, but generally I thought it was a good place to stay. Good location to visit a lovely area of the country. Breakfast was nice and all the staff were polite and keen to help. (was especially impressed when some kind member of the night staff found my car keys i lost and handed them into reception) Overall I had a lovely stay and would happily stay there again. Thank you to all there!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in April 2011.

We were delighted to note that you enjoyed your three-night break with us and found the location good for visiting the surrounding area.

We were also pleased that your accommodation and breakfast were to your satisfaction and members of our team were polite and keen to help. It was also very pleasing to read that one particular team member found your car keys for you!

Thank you once again for your very positive feedback and kind comments; we look forward to welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the future.

Yours faithfully


Darren Walsh
Hotel Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We have just come back from England and a stay at this hotel; a disgrace under the banner of Hilton. Corporate is not doing quality control. Mistake number one was ignoring previous negative reviews. We were prepared for smaller rooms as we had read that it was a former boarding school. We assumed wrongly that this would be offset by location and the Hilton name and reputation. Location to Arundel was fine. Across from check-in was a small waiting area with 4 armchairs that should be in the garbage. Leather or fake all worn out and wood in terrible condition. Going through the bar area into the sitting area; there was not one seat that was not either stained or ripped or worn. Pick up a menu to order a drink or snack and you had sticky fingers. Where is management to oversee cleanliness? Throughout the common areas and the hotel the woodwork paint was chipped or marred. I asked the reception when was the hotel renovated and was told ten years ago, but the common areas were done eighteen months ago. Hard to believe. Most of the staff were pleasant but we had one ditsy waitress who when asked to bring water asked " You mean out of the tap?" Needless to say we were bought two warm glasses of water which were returned for ice. We picked the hotel because of the Hilton name, again assuming that it was an American company and so they would understand the nuances between cultures; a glass of iced water should not be a question. The other hotels that we stayed at were run by English companies and were great. I had always thought it would be the other way around as in the past American standards were superior to English ones. I am English by birth and American by choice.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ric44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in April 2011.

We are sorry that the standard of furnishings in the public areas did not meet with your satisfaction; this will be addressed during the next phase of our refurbishment which is ongoing together with our maintenance programme. Your comment regarding the cleanliness of the menus has been noted and will be addressed with further training.

We also apologise that there was some confusion regarding the type of water you requested, however we do not feel it is necessary to use derogatory language when referring to our team members.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my wife. It is a strange place - it really shouldn't be a hotel (it was converted from a school). The layout is all wrong, long corridors. The leisure centre is a joke, tiny, crowded and very tatty. Breakfast was OK - but factory production. We couldn't believe how many people were actually staying there ( lots of people on Saga holidays by the look of it)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam100042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in March 2011.

It was disappointing to note that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us. The history of the hotel, which started life as a country manor house in the 18th century, is what appeals to many of our guests as it has an individual character and retains many original features.

Our leisure facilities are currently undergoing refurbishment with the gym being completed with new décor and equipment; we are sorry however that these facilities did not meet with your satisfaction.

We receive many favourable comments regarding our breakfast quality and variety and it was disappointing that this was not your perception.

At Avisford Park we are a popular venue for families, couples, individuals and groups of all ages, our extensive facilities catering for a wide age range rather than one particular age group.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

On arrival we booked into our room, which turned out to be a medium sized shoe box. As my husband started to unpack I noticed half a slice of tomato on the coverlet at the end of the bed, my husband then noticed the bin had some one else's rubbish in it, as we both grimaced at the horribleness that was this 'room' my hubby decided to do the 'hotel inspector thing' & pull back the bed covers........although the bed linen looked clean & pressed......there were black hairs in the bed...!!!! Neddless to say we high tailed it back to reception where we were offered another room, this time a small shoe box that smelt badly of damp,was at the bottom of a flight of noisy stairs with two wooden ramps also very close to our door (these were a real issue for me as every time anyone walked by the footfall noise was incredible & other hotels seem able to carpet gentle disabled access ramps). We were exhausted by this time, moving luggage from one end of the hotel to the other after a long journey & no help was offered in our transfer. The damp smell was coming from the bathroom so we closed the door. Later I got in the shower but the heat from a radiator was so overpowering that I felt faint, there were no temperature controls in the room & we could not reduce the radiator temperature. My husband went once again to reception to report the heat & was assured that they would send some one along to adjust it. The next morning, with the bathroom still belting hot & no adjustment made, I walked into the bathroom & felt my feet almost sizzle as the floor tiles were so hot from the radiated heat, once again asked for it to be adjusted & received yet another empty promise. The hotel overall was very disappointing, quite shabby with render dropping off the outside of the building at the rear & several sites in the grounds that needed some serious attention & tidying, staff in the breakfast room were not at all cheery or attentive & some were bordering on surly. We often take short breaks in this country but have never before stayed in a Hilton, assuming their reputation was excellent was a monumental mistake & we will not use them again.......a motor lodge would have offered a better experience! A customer feedback form was completed, outlining all of the above but almost three weeks later they haven't even bothered to send me an e mail in response.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Sueg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in March 2011.

All customer feedback is very important to us as this enables us to monitor whether or not we are meeting guests’ needs and expectations. Accordingly, whilst we do not formally respond to all guest comment cards these are read on a daily basis and action taken regarding those comments as appropriate. We were very disappointed to note that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and would like to assure you your experience was not representative of our usual high standards.

Due to the age and nature of the building the size and style of our bedrooms varies and we are sorry that on this occasion the standard of accommodation did not meet with your satisfaction.

Your particular comments regarding the cleanliness of the room have been noted and measures have been put in place to ensure rooms are checked more thoroughly before they are passed for occupancy.

It was also disappointing to note that despite your requests for assistance with the radiator nothing was done to reduce the heat. This has been passed to the relevant department and addressed with further training.

As we pride ourselves on being a friendly team it was very surprising that this was not your particular experience with our breakfast team.

Notwithstanding the above, we do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your detailed comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We booked this hotel through last minute.com as one of their secret hotels, so the exact location of where we were going wasn't revealed until we paid.
We were very pleased to find out that we would be staying at a Hilton, especially at the bargain price we paid.
On arrival at the hotel , we were greeted by very friendly, helpful and pleasant staff, both behind reception and in the foyer.
We stayed in a standard double room. I was a little disappointed with the view , as it was onto a wooden fence, but fine for the price we paid and it was only for 1 night.
Although the room was a little on the small side -(my bedside cabinet consisted of the desk/dressing table which I hit my elbow and almost my head on as it was higher than the bed. The proper bedside table on the other side was at the correct height and therefore didn't cause any problems) , there was everything we needed, including a large flat screen TV.
We ate in the restaurant and found the service very good, the food to be excellent and very resonably priced.
We cannot however say that about the drinks prices.........................!!!!!!!
We have stayed in many hotels of this quality and eaten in many restaurants of similar quality. Why the Hilton group feel that they need to charge such astronomical prices for their drinks is beyond me- £22.50 for a bottle of wine left me feeling totally ripped off and that was just the starting prices. They increased from there!!! It kind of took away from our saving on our bargain break.
We both had a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed. We found it to be no more noisy than in any other hotel we have stayed in.
Breakfast was very nice- served buffet style in the restaurant. Again very pleasant and friendly waiting staff who served fresh orange juice to the table along with your tea/coffee.
There was plenty of selection available including pancakes and american style bacon which was a real treat and something we only usually see abroad.
Check out was painless and again the girl on reception was very nice and chatty.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay, had we been more organised we would have booked some spa treatments but didn't get time.
We would probably stay here again and recommend it but would make sure that anyone staying at a Hilton was aware of the over inflated drinks prices.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raqwella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in March 2011.

It was pleasing to note that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us; enjoying an excellent dinner in the restaurant and breakfast the following morning after a good night’s sleep and would recommend to others.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly team and we were pleased that this was your experience during your visit.

Your comments regarding the bedroom, in particular the furniture layout, and price of drinks have been noted and we thank you for your feedback.

We hope that you will return in the future and have more time to enjoy the spa treatments.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

From the time we checked-in this was an unpleasant experience. Surly staff who didn't care typified our experience. Don't be fooled by the hotel description, this is in reality a tired old country house that needs investment. We were unlucky to be allocated a 'Garden Lodge' room; very noisy,in need of some TLC and inconveniently placed away from the main hotel rooms. The hotel does not provide in-room internet access and needs to modernize itself. I am all for keeping some country house character but modern facilities are also important. We also received an unrequested 0300 alarm call just to round off our stay. I'm a HHonors Gold guest and so stay in a large number of Hilton hotels - this was one of the worst. My advice - avoid.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pma262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in March 2011.

It was very disappointing to note that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us. We apologise that the level of service you experienced was not representative of our usual high standards and this will be addressed with further training.

The size and style of our rooms vary and we are sorry that on this occasion the accommodation allocated did not meet with your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments and we do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,210 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
224 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
346 reviews
3 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: $111 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing