We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect weekend relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Billycan Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arundel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Billycan Camping
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend relaxation”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend at Billycan and feel very relaxed and refreshed. For us it was a perfect getaway from London. We stayed in a bell tent for 4 people, which was a perfect size for 2 adults and 1 child. It was incredibly cosy and had a lovely view of the medow. The facilities were very good, and as long as you bring everything on the short list you're provided with, then you'll have a comfortable stay. The stew on Friday was really tasty so I'm pleased we beat the traffic for that. I wasn't sure about cooking on the fire by our tent, but we managed a pretty good meal and it tasted all the better for being cooked in the open. There were lots of lovely families there - it's a perfect getaway if you have children, and we felt very safe, but also that we had our privacy. The surrounding area has plenty to explore, so we were well entertained. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bibsterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just returned from a break at Billycan camping and we loved it.

The yurt our family of four stayed in was ace.

We had a BBQ using the fire pit most days. Even when it was raining.

The facilities on site were good.

All the people we came across were lovely.

In short, we have a lovely relaxing time.

Room Tip: We reckon it was worth the little bit extra for a full size bed in the yurt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnbroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This review is based on staying there twice in a month .yes we had a full week there liked itso much we booked to go back
My wife scoured the web for something different , and this ticked all the boxes . It's not glamping but they do provide all that you or your granny would have had and I mean everything . We were welcomed shown around then left to get on with it cooking with wood fire was a learning curve and they have the most industrial communal hotbox BBQ I have ever seen. First week we had 4 kids second just the 2 little ones . The website does not do the experience justice , it is functional but it can't convey all the positives we had the best and worst of both worlds weather for first week was great second one was a little wet to say the least. Like all this type of community based campsites so much is made or lost based on your interaction with others . And we had different experiences both weeks. While the ladies who run pop in for 30 mins but this separation meant that some campers and particularly their children destroyed equipment and plants just for the sake of it . The only negative but it was quite an important one the second week as the weather was poor people used more wood to cook and try to up the dampened spirits and this ran out by wednesday night and couldn't be replenished until Friday we were offered a bag of free charcoal but the wood fire is the main reason for choosing this site the site is perfectly situated the ethos is first class our kids loved it we would go back but the mid weeks are longer than weekends and contingencies need to be proportionate we would recommend to others as this is a young site Md they are constantly evolving but they have to be more proactive in problem solving people are paying a premium price and need a premium service all of the time

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper108686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had a super 4 night stay at Billycan Camping. It was a first for the kids (aged 2 & 4yrs) and a brilliant way to introduce this age to camping. Bathroom and kitchen facilities were spotless. Service on arrival and departure were way beyond what one expects from a campsite. Facilities were eco friendly too which we loved and despite it raining for four days solid we had a fabulous family week away.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stratterspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Billycan Camping is a private campsite a few minutes drive from Arundel in West Sussex. It is "boutique camping" meaning that much of the hard work is already done for you. They supply tents (large, canvas tents already erected), air beds (already inflated), a large lounge-tent with armchairs and tables and a well-stocked campers kitchen with a hamper of food.

It is luxury camping, designed for those who don't own their own camping gear or don't have the time to organise a full-on camping trip.

I recently stayed there with a group of 14 women for a friend's Hen Party. It was terrific and suited us perfectly. We got the benefits of camping (being outside, lots of space, having a bonfire, looking at the stars) without the hassle of too much organising. It is obviously more expensive than 'normal' camping but cheaper than booking hotels or going to a festival.

The toilet block is very 'civilised' although showering is a bit of an adventure. There is no electricity whatsoever, so be prepared.

The women who run the site are helpful and friendly. They settled us in, they left us to our own devices which was perfect.

It is walking distance to Arundel, but certainly much more convenient if you have a car as you'd be a little bit stranded otherwise.

I imagine this would be perfect for a large extended family, or for several families holidaying together. Also could be good for a high-school group or a group of 30-somethings like ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
894 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
586 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
209 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
81 reviews
3.9 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billycan Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billycan Camping

Property: Billycan Camping
Address: Manor Farm, Tortington, Arundel BN18 0BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Arundel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing