We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of luxury and privacy”
Review of Brooklands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arundel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brooklands
Ranked #9 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Brooklands Barn was fine, but not at all luxurious. The location was fantastic and Arundel and the area was beautiful. It was a shame the quaility was not up to expectations and I really didn't like the owners popping up everywhere and questioning what we were doing e.g. my 4-year old son was outside their garage attempting to read a sign and they came out and asked what he was doing (he's just reading a sign!); my husband was in the pool dragging the cover over it and one of them came in to tell him to remember to cover the pool! It meant you couldn't really relax and had a real impact on the holiday

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jbo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklandsbarn, Owner at Brooklands, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

We are very sorry to read your review, as the majority of our guests are extremely happy and have a wonderful relaxing holiday at Brooklands.
We do kindly ask that guests return the cover of the pool after swimming as it is heated all year round and it helps to keep in the heat. The guests have free use of the pool all to themselves all day long and we leave them to use it as and when they like, and unfortunately as you hadn't put the cover back after you had used it previously, we kindly asked if you could in the future, we are sorry if you felt this was intrusive.
We live on site and we value our privacy as much as the guests, which is why our accommodation is very separate, not overlooking at all, and during your stay we were summoned two or three times a day, for various requests which we happily responded to, as we are here to make sure our guests are comfortable and have everything they need. We make a point not to disturb our guests at all, likewise our guests normally don't need to disturb us.
Our accommodation is self catering and warrants 5 stars for the property's beauty, surroundings, facilities, and accommodation. It is not the same as 5 star hotel accommodation with concierge and room service, which was perhaps the expectations of our recent guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 53 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

It's impossible to relax at Brooklands under the instant scrutiny of the distrustful owners who live on site and are at the ready to pounce if they suspect anything amiss. Totally the wrong sort of people to be renting out part of their home. Loads of unnecessary rules like no swimming between 12-2 or after 5 which if the pool was one of the reasons you're choosing this property makes it hard to enjoy on your own timings and on one day the pool heating was switched off altogether. The decor was basic and sofas old and uncomfortable and far from the 5 star luxury promised, the kitchen was poorly stocked with very old appliances and dirty crockery. I would not recommend this property as a rental and feel it's 5 star luxury rating is hugely misleading.

Room Tip: The one that leads to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklandsbarn, Owner at Brooklands, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

We were extremely disappointed to read your review and surprised to read that you felt scrutinise.
We make a point with all our guests to welcome them (if we are here when they arrive) and then leave them to enjoy their holiday in peace. We of course always say that we are here to help if they need it.
The reality, was that we were responding to a constant stream of text messages from you with your demands, which I immediately responded to on every occasion, even small items such as a light bulb blown and need more salt, and more kitchen roll. I made every effort to make your stay enjoyable.
In response to your points raised, the pool was left open all day and night and your family swam in it twice every day, and seemed to have a lovely time, as all our guests do and the pool was constantly heated to 28 degrees (I pointed out the thermometer is in the skimmer for guests to see for themselves).
The decoration may not be to your standard or liking but 99% of our guests have commented on the contemporary decor and we have quality leather sofas in both our cottages.
The kitchen appliances are Bosch and are less than 2 years old.
I made a gesture of goodwill to pay for your daily housekeeping (which no other guest has requested) but alas this was not appreciated.
I wish you a happy new year and recommend in future not to stay in self catering accommodation as concierge and daily housekeeping is not the norm.
I also would like to suggest people read our reviews on Holiday Rentals ID 439652, from previous guests who have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Brooklands, who appreciate the property for its beauty and charm being a 19th century barn, with breathtaking panoramic views of the Arun Valley as it really is a property we are very proud of and maintain to a high standard,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are even considering going to this place, i strongly recommend you look at it first - rather than what we did which was to look at the website. In this case pictures definitely do NOT tell the true story!

The place looks like it hasn't been touched in years. The kitchen is about 25 years old with dirty, old appliances and cupboards that are falling off their hinges. It has 2 grotty small fridges that are filthy dirty and a kitchen tap that broke while we were washing up on New Year's Eve. The utensils and crockery/cutlery are all cheap and non-matching and (unlike the picture on the website) there wasn't a table cloth or serviette in sight! We used kitchen towels as our serviettes at our family dinners for 10 people each night - not what i expect from "luxury accommodation"!!
We paid £ 3750 for 1 week to take the family away and couldn't believe it when the owner's husband (who was EXTREMELY RUDE, as mentioned in other reports) turned OFF the heating in the pool to discourage the children from using it. He also had a bad habit of walking in when it suited him and not respecting our privacy.

Avoid this place at all costs - we left early as i couldn't bare to spend another night in the 70's bedroom with the short brown curtains.

Listed below are some of the problems we encountered during our 5 day stay.

Broken light in master bathroom with no natural light (eventually fixed by owner)
Un-usable kettle filled with scales (again, de-scaled by Claire who was sweet and tried to oblige)
Old, broken, dirty, small fridges
No internet access in many areas of house - only main bedroom/living room
Kitchen units broken and utensils broken - even the chopping board had a large split in it.
Kitchen tap broken and squirted water everywhere on New Year's Eve.
Light bulbs missing throughout the house (poorly maintained)
Heating in Pool turned off to discourage swimming
Owner's husband did not respect privacy and walked in when he felt like it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank LondonTraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklandsbarn, Owner at Brooklands, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

This is another review from the same guests, which is unjust especially given that the comments are untrue and these are the first guests for the whole of 2012 to not have had a great time at Brooklands. We are truly sorry that the expectations of these guests were not met but this is a complete shock to us. We have even had a Lord and Lady stay with us for the Lord’s 70th birthday they couldn’t have been happier and they have also recommended another Lord and Lady who are booked for their 70th birthday this year. The guests we have are wonderful and we pride ourselves on keeping our property maintained to a high standard of self catering accommodation.
I feel a detailed response in this case is necessary, as this constant barrage of complaints is so deeply upsetting I feel it necessary to reflect our views accurately.
The guest requested that someone was there to show them around, which I am always happy to do if the guest would like this. I had put away their Ocado shopping delivery for them and had left them a welcome card, bottle of bubbly and tin of biscuits for their arrival.
When the guests first arrived, the son in law quietly said to me “I apologise for my mother in law now”! I couldn’t have expected this level of abuse, especially as I went completely out of my way to accommodate them, but unfortunately there are some people that are never satisfied, perhaps it was the family arguments that the cleaner witnessed that made their stay so unpleasant.
In response to the specific points made:
Firstly the photographs on our website are all up to date and accurately reflect the accommodation and the surrounding beauty, in fact nearly all guests comment when they arrive that the barn is far more spacious and beautiful than the photos portray. 100% of prospective guests that have come along to look at our accommodation have all subsequently booked and enjoyed their stay.
There are two kitchens, one of which is 2 years old the other 9 years old. The appliances including a Bosch double over and electric hob and dishwasher and drinks fridge have all been replaced in the last 2 years. (The guest is referring to a door handle to the freezer that is a bit wobbly when she says the kitchen is falling apart.) The kitchens are always thoroughly cleaned and there are in fact three fridges for our guests which has always until now, provided plenty of space. We do provide table cloths on request, (the guest did not request a table cloth on this occasion), however serviettes are not listed on our inventory as these are more personal items. The cutlery and crockery is not old or cheap, it is all white porcelain with wine glasses and champagne glasses and lots and lots of pots and pans and serving platters suitable for catering for groups of 12. We are very trustful of guests and do not do a detailed inventory everytime, so occasionally things may go adrift but again I always say to our guests if there is anything missing at all please ask and we will try and help.
The accommodation is priced extremely competitively. The total cost works out at just £85 per night per bedroom which compares to other five star accommodation over Christmas of £100 - £150 per night. For this you get your own private home with three separate outdoor spaces, one sunny southern aspect raised garden with patio furniture for 12 and a coal barbecue, a huge 25 square metre enclosed courtyard with seating, - a great space for children to play, and an acre orchard/paddock for activity games etc, plus an indoor heated pool (heated to 28 degrees all year round), free wifi, private parking and you can bring all your own food and booze of course!
The décor is constantly refreshed. Chocolate brown curtains as mentioned by the guest as being 70s are in fact a contemporary colour but people all have their own opinions.
As to the list of problems:
Broken light in the bathroom due to the use of excessive force – the pull light was fixed, we purchased a new one the very next morning, and we waited until they had gone out to lunch as agreed so as not to disturb them.
The fridges are certainly not broken or old or dirty, the complaint was that they were too small! All three fridges are of a good size and ample for all of our previous guests whose average stay is 1 week. In response to this complaint, I offered to keep a couple of their prepaid meals in our private fridge/freezer,which I then brought over when they needed it so this problem was alleviated.
Wifi it accessible throughout the property – we respected their feedback that one of the bedrooms had a weaker signal and even called out our engineer on New Years Eve and ordered a new access point to resolve this problem.
We were never informed about a broken tap and subsequent guests who stayed last weekend for their 60th birthday celebrations (who kindly have put a friendly review on Tripadvisor) did not complain about a broken tap. We’ve checked it and it seems to be working fine so it remains a mystery.
One light bulb blew in the lounge, these things happen. We immediately replaced it and provided an extra lamp for them. There were no other light bulbs that were mentioned to us.
As already discussed on the other reviews from the same people on Tripadvisor, the heating in the pool was never turned off, the fact that they did not put the cover back on affects the temperature. The guest made a comment that it is a manual cover and not electric so perhaps it was too much effort to pull the cover back on.
As owners of the property we respect the guests privacy and so do most of the guests respect our privacy. These guests treated it like a hotel with a 24 hour concierge. We responded to their demands which they now label as intrusive. Sometimes you just cannot win. I can say I have never felt so upset and am devastated that after every attempt to accommodate them they take it further by publishing untruths on this site.
I want to say thank you to all of our wonderful guests and I hope I never have the unfortunate position of having such an unhappy family stay here in the future.
I wonder if there is a website that can advise property owners of guests they would be better off not having? Would that be a fair reflection of how Trip Advisor works from the industry’s point of view?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Twelve members of our family, ranging from 2 to 70 years old have just spent a fabulous long weekend at Brooklands Barn. The older couples had privacy and peace and quiet in the house on one side of the courtyard, whilst the younger families could relax in the other house. Both units had excellent lounges and kitchens and the dining area in the larger house was the perfect setting for our special celebration meal for 14. All the bedrooms were spacious and beautifully presented, with big and very comfortable beds and modern, stylish bath and shower rooms with lovely quality towels and complimentary toiletries. The children were totally safe commuting between the two houses via the central courtyard and ran off their energy and had fun in the large private garden and the indoor pool. A barbecue and ample garden furniture is provided which we put to good use on our first evening, when we gathered on arrival to catch up on family news. The owners, who were very welcoming and helpful, live on site should guests need help or advice, but are in no way intrusive. Brooklands, with its beautiful views and quiet setting, has a real country feel and yet is very close to the main routes to Chichester, Brighton and Goodwood and only a short drive from Arundel or the coast. An outstanding self-catering property which we will recommend to friends and to which we would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklandsbarn, Owner at Brooklands, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your review and pointing out that whilst we live on site we are no way intrusive to the guests as our living and outdoor space is completely separate from the guests so that they are left to enjoy their holiday in complete privacy.
It is a joy to have guests such as yourselves come and appreciate our barn which we take pride in maintaining to a high standard.
We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Another lovely weekend at Brooklands Barn. The accommodation is fantastic, well located, stylish and immaculately presented. Location is great, just a 20 minute walk into the centre of town, or a short taxi ride. One of the best self catering properties I've visited and will be back !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TJW_Woking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have just come back from a short stay at Brooklands Barn, we stayed in the little self catering part, which consisted of a very large bedroon, with two double beds loads of wardrobe and drawer space, a nice sized shower room, a full kitchen with oven, hob, dishwasher and fridge, a dinning area and large lounge area with a 3 seater setee, a 2 seater setee and a 2 seater sofa bed, and very large flat screen tv and dvd player, there is also a small tv in the bedroom.

Everything was nice and clean everything worked.

There is a wonderful heated indoor pool, with changing room and shower, just take your own towels with. Beautiful grounds to sit in and it's in a very peacful setting, yet only a few minutes drive into beautiful Arundel.

I noticed some comments of beds not being made, or bins emptied, well this is self catering, so you don't expect maid service, however I took wasing up liquid,dishwasher pills, J cloth, bleach ect, but it is all provided.

The property is split up into different types of accomadation, and you can take the whole of it I think it can sleep up to 12 people, and they will allow well behaved dogs.

There are lots of places to visit apart from coastal resorts National Trust properties, Amberley Museum is a must.

We will most definatly return.

Room Tip: The little self catering part can accomodate a family for a very a good value break
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacandhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This is a modern and stylish property that has been well looked after, and furnished to a high standard. I could not disagree more with a previous negative comment. My family and I expect and are happy to pay for a high standard and the accommodation achieved this. The needs of my disabled mother were well met, with extremely comfortable and high quality beds and living room furniture. The property layout is ideal for families or Couples. The walls are thicker than what you would experience in a hotel or a modern house so you are not woken up by the young family members in the morning or the late socialising in the evenings. Quality towels, bath products and electrical appliances were all above the normal standard of self catering accommodation. We had no concerns about cleanliness in or around the communal areas. The gardens were well maintained and we enjoyed the luxury of having the pool to ourselves on many occasions.
A beautiful property, in a beautiful setting, run by a friendly, helpful and welcoming family. We could not ask for more and have already recommended the property to friends and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lamboyTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arundel hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,152 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,210 reviews
1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Arden Guest House
Arden Guest House
#1 of 17 in Arundel
181 reviews
2.8 mi away
Woodacre B & B
Woodacre B & B
#3 of 17 in Arundel
92 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands

Address: Brooklands Brooklands Priory Lane, Arundel BN18 0BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklands is a 19 century barn conversion and we offer self catering accommodation with panoramic views of the Arun Valley and Arundel Castle. We have a private indoor heated swimming pool, with private gardens and parking with free wifi, quality linen and towels and Temple Spa toiletries are all provided, for an exclusive relaxing stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing