We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GRUBBY, DIRTY AND ANYTHING BUT 'LUXURIOUS ACCOMMODATION”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Brooklands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arundel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brooklands
Ranked #9 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“GRUBBY, DIRTY AND ANYTHING BUT 'LUXURIOUS ACCOMMODATION”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are even considering going to this place, i strongly recommend you look at it first - rather than what we did which was to look at the website. In this case pictures definitely do NOT tell the true story!

The place looks like it hasn't been touched in years. The kitchen is about 25 years old with dirty, old appliances and cupboards that are falling off their hinges. It has 2 grotty small fridges that are filthy dirty and a kitchen tap that broke while we were washing up on New Year's Eve. The utensils and crockery/cutlery are all cheap and non-matching and (unlike the picture on the website) there wasn't a table cloth or serviette in sight! We used kitchen towels as our serviettes at our family dinners for 10 people each night - not what i expect from "luxury accommodation"!!
We paid £ 3750 for 1 week to take the family away and couldn't believe it when the owner's husband (who was EXTREMELY RUDE, as mentioned in other reports) turned OFF the heating in the pool to discourage the children from using it. He also had a bad habit of walking in when it suited him and not respecting our privacy.

Avoid this place at all costs - we left early as i couldn't bare to spend another night in the 70's bedroom with the short brown curtains.

Listed below are some of the problems we encountered during our 5 day stay.

Broken light in master bathroom with no natural light (eventually fixed by owner)
Un-usable kettle filled with scales (again, de-scaled by Claire who was sweet and tried to oblige)
Old, broken, dirty, small fridges
No internet access in many areas of house - only main bedroom/living room
Kitchen units broken and utensils broken - even the chopping board had a large split in it.
Kitchen tap broken and squirted water everywhere on New Year's Eve.
Light bulbs missing throughout the house (poorly maintained)
Heating in Pool turned off to discourage swimming
Owner's husband did not respect privacy and walked in when he felt like it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonTraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklandsbarn, Owner at Brooklands, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
This is another review from the same guests, which is unjust especially given that the comments are untrue and these are the first guests for the whole of 2012 to not have had a great time at Brooklands. We are truly sorry that the expectations of these guests were not met but this is a complete shock to us. We have even had a Lord and Lady stay with us for the Lord’s 70th birthday they couldn’t have been happier and they have also recommended another Lord and Lady who are booked for their 70th birthday this year. The guests we have are wonderful and we pride ourselves on keeping our property maintained to a high standard of self catering accommodation.
I feel a detailed response in this case is necessary, as this constant barrage of complaints is so deeply upsetting I feel it necessary to reflect our views accurately.
The guest requested that someone was there to show them around, which I am always happy to do if the guest would like this. I had put away their Ocado shopping delivery for them and had left them a welcome card, bottle of bubbly and tin of biscuits for their arrival.
When the guests first arrived, the son in law quietly said to me “I apologise for my mother in law now”! I couldn’t have expected this level of abuse, especially as I went completely out of my way to accommodate them, but unfortunately there are some people that are never satisfied, perhaps it was the family arguments that the cleaner witnessed that made their stay so unpleasant.
In response to the specific points made:
Firstly the photographs on our website are all up to date and accurately reflect the accommodation and the surrounding beauty, in fact nearly all guests comment when they arrive that the barn is far more spacious and beautiful than the photos portray. 100% of prospective guests that have come along to look at our accommodation have all subsequently booked and enjoyed their stay.
There are two kitchens, one of which is 2 years old the other 9 years old. The appliances including a Bosch double over and electric hob and dishwasher and drinks fridge have all been replaced in the last 2 years. (The guest is referring to a door handle to the freezer that is a bit wobbly when she says the kitchen is falling apart.) The kitchens are always thoroughly cleaned and there are in fact three fridges for our guests which has always until now, provided plenty of space. We do provide table cloths on request, (the guest did not request a table cloth on this occasion), however serviettes are not listed on our inventory as these are more personal items. The cutlery and crockery is not old or cheap, it is all white porcelain with wine glasses and champagne glasses and lots and lots of pots and pans and serving platters suitable for catering for groups of 12. We are very trustful of guests and do not do a detailed inventory everytime, so occasionally things may go adrift but again I always say to our guests if there is anything missing at all please ask and we will try and help.
The accommodation is priced extremely competitively. The total cost works out at just £85 per night per bedroom which compares to other five star accommodation over Christmas of £100 - £150 per night. For this you get your own private home with three separate outdoor spaces, one sunny southern aspect raised garden with patio furniture for 12 and a coal barbecue, a huge 25 square metre enclosed courtyard with seating, - a great space for children to play, and an acre orchard/paddock for activity games etc, plus an indoor heated pool (heated to 28 degrees all year round), free wifi, private parking and you can bring all your own food and booze of course!
The décor is constantly refreshed. Chocolate brown curtains as mentioned by the guest as being 70s are in fact a contemporary colour but people all have their own opinions.
As to the list of problems:
Broken light in the bathroom due to the use of excessive force – the pull light was fixed, we purchased a new one the very next morning, and we waited until they had gone out to lunch as agreed so as not to disturb them.
The fridges are certainly not broken or old or dirty, the complaint was that they were too small! All three fridges are of a good size and ample for all of our previous guests whose average stay is 1 week. In response to this complaint, I offered to keep a couple of their prepaid meals in our private fridge/freezer,which I then brought over when they needed it so this problem was alleviated.
Wifi it accessible throughout the property – we respected their feedback that one of the bedrooms had a weaker signal and even called out our engineer on New Years Eve and ordered a new access point to resolve this problem.
We were never informed about a broken tap and subsequent guests who stayed last weekend for their 60th birthday celebrations (who kindly have put a friendly review on Tripadvisor) did not complain about a broken tap. We’ve checked it and it seems to be working fine so it remains a mystery.
One light bulb blew in the lounge, these things happen. We immediately replaced it and provided an extra lamp for them. There were no other light bulbs that were mentioned to us.
As already discussed on the other reviews from the same people on Tripadvisor, the heating in the pool was never turned off, the fact that they did not put the cover back on affects the temperature. The guest made a comment that it is a manual cover and not electric so perhaps it was too much effort to pull the cover back on.
As owners of the property we respect the guests privacy and so do most of the guests respect our privacy. These guests treated it like a hotel with a 24 hour concierge. We responded to their demands which they now label as intrusive. Sometimes you just cannot win. I can say I have never felt so upset and am devastated that after every attempt to accommodate them they take it further by publishing untruths on this site.
I want to say thank you to all of our wonderful guests and I hope I never have the unfortunate position of having such an unhappy family stay here in the future.
I wonder if there is a website that can advise property owners of guests they would be better off not having? Would that be a fair reflection of how Trip Advisor works from the industry’s point of view?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
7
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Twelve members of our family, ranging from 2 to 70 years old have just spent a fabulous long weekend at Brooklands Barn. The older couples had privacy and peace and quiet in the house on one side of the courtyard, whilst the younger families could relax in the other house. Both units had excellent lounges and kitchens and the dining area in the larger house was the perfect setting for our special celebration meal for 14. All the bedrooms were spacious and beautifully presented, with big and very comfortable beds and modern, stylish bath and shower rooms with lovely quality towels and complimentary toiletries. The children were totally safe commuting between the two houses via the central courtyard and ran off their energy and had fun in the large private garden and the indoor pool. A barbecue and ample garden furniture is provided which we put to good use on our first evening, when we gathered on arrival to catch up on family news. The owners, who were very welcoming and helpful, live on site should guests need help or advice, but are in no way intrusive. Brooklands, with its beautiful views and quiet setting, has a real country feel and yet is very close to the main routes to Chichester, Brighton and Goodwood and only a short drive from Arundel or the coast. An outstanding self-catering property which we will recommend to friends and to which we would love to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklandsbarn, Owner at Brooklands, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and pointing out that whilst we live on site we are no way intrusive to the guests as our living and outdoor space is completely separate from the guests so that they are left to enjoy their holiday in complete privacy.
It is a joy to have guests such as yourselves come and appreciate our barn which we take pride in maintaining to a high standard.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Another lovely weekend at Brooklands Barn. The accommodation is fantastic, well located, stylish and immaculately presented. Location is great, just a 20 minute walk into the centre of town, or a short taxi ride. One of the best self catering properties I've visited and will be back !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJW_Woking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
488 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have just come back from a short stay at Brooklands Barn, we stayed in the little self catering part, which consisted of a very large bedroon, with two double beds loads of wardrobe and drawer space, a nice sized shower room, a full kitchen with oven, hob, dishwasher and fridge, a dinning area and large lounge area with a 3 seater setee, a 2 seater setee and a 2 seater sofa bed, and very large flat screen tv and dvd player, there is also a small tv in the bedroom.

Everything was nice and clean everything worked.

There is a wonderful heated indoor pool, with changing room and shower, just take your own towels with. Beautiful grounds to sit in and it's in a very peacful setting, yet only a few minutes drive into beautiful Arundel.

I noticed some comments of beds not being made, or bins emptied, well this is self catering, so you don't expect maid service, however I took wasing up liquid,dishwasher pills, J cloth, bleach ect, but it is all provided.

The property is split up into different types of accomadation, and you can take the whole of it I think it can sleep up to 12 people, and they will allow well behaved dogs.

There are lots of places to visit apart from coastal resorts National Trust properties, Amberley Museum is a must.

We will most definatly return.

Room Tip: The little self catering part can accomodate a family for a very a good value break
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacandhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

This is a modern and stylish property that has been well looked after, and furnished to a high standard. I could not disagree more with a previous negative comment. My family and I expect and are happy to pay for a high standard and the accommodation achieved this. The needs of my disabled mother were well met, with extremely comfortable and high quality beds and living room furniture. The property layout is ideal for families or Couples. The walls are thicker than what you would experience in a hotel or a modern house so you are not woken up by the young family members in the morning or the late socialising in the evenings. Quality towels, bath products and electrical appliances were all above the normal standard of self catering accommodation. We had no concerns about cleanliness in or around the communal areas. The gardens were well maintained and we enjoyed the luxury of having the pool to ourselves on many occasions.
A beautiful property, in a beautiful setting, run by a friendly, helpful and welcoming family. We could not ask for more and have already recommended the property to friends and will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lamboyTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We were amazed to read a previous negative review on Brooklands Barn. We stayed here recently and could not praise the accommodatiion and location highly enough. The bedrooms were beautifully presented and the bathroom equipped to a high standard, there were lovely garden areas to sit in, which we enjoyed in the sunshine and on top of all this a very good sized indoor swimming pool which was kept at a comfortable temperature. Arundel is not only on your doorstep ( a 15 minute walk away) with all the history this lovely town offers, but there are also views of Arundel castle from the property. We stayed on a self catering basis and the apartment was spotless on our arrival, the owners were there if we needed them and that is all we required. I would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting a peaceful and luxurious break away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francis72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed at Brooklands Barn for 3 nights and were very disappointed. During our stay, our bed was never made, the room wasn’t hoovered, the bin wasn’t emptied (despite being full and overflowing), the tea tray wasn’t replenished because we had our own tea bags and bottled water, the bathroom products weren’t replenished and worst of all, the bathroom and toilet were never cleaned. After 3 days it was disgusting and no cleaning products were left in the room so we couldn’t even clean the bathroom and toilet ourselves. On the evening of the 2nd day we went to the Co-op in Arundel especially to buy some costing £8 so we could clean it ourselves. Completely unacceptable, we were paying £100 a night. They did come into the room each day because they left clean cups (though one day they were baby cups and another day were chipped). The room shared an entrance door with the room next door and despite us locking the shared door, the other guests left it unlocked which comprised our security which was a particular worry as Ford Open Prison is up the road. They never told us about the shared entrance. Our room had just an indoor lock on it and all our things were inside. There was no breakfast which we didn’t realise. The walls are thin and we could hear everything going on in the room next door. We didn’t like having to pay as soon as we arrived. After being told to move our car as soon as we arrived, we were allocated a parking space by the owner in the courtyard near our room, but on the 2nd day, the owner’s husband told us other guests were arriving and to move our car to the car park behind the other block. The courtyard was full of his BMW’s which he could easily have moved to the other car park which was next to the back door of his house in order to make way for paying guests. The car park he wanted us to park in wasn’t near our room and it was pitch black at night because there was no lighting and he expected us to walk all the way back to our room in complete darkness. Instead we found a spot in the courtyard in between his two garages where we were not blocking anything. This obviously annoyed him because in the morning he opened one of each of his garage doors and rested them against our car. We had to move these doors away from our car to get it out. When we got home we saw our car was scratched on both sides where his garage doors had been leaning against our car. His sports car was in one of the garages but as only one door was open he wasn’t taking it out. He was working in the other garage with only one door open. We handed him the key as we were leaving and he looked at us like we were trespassers on his property. Do not even think about staying here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Paul_Karen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklandsbarn, Owner at Brooklands, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
The photos that were included in this review are very misleading.
We offer self catering accommodation and this does not include daily housekeeping or breakfast, which I made clear at the time of the booking.
Security has never been compromised, the bedrooms are all supplied with yale locks and the property is secured with gates.
We offer ample car parking to the rear of our property which we and all our guests use and their are security lights all around our property.
We are sorry that they were expecting hotel service. We pride ourselves in offering comfortable self catering accommodation in a peaceful and relaxing environment which we take pride in and want our guests to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arundel hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands

Property: Brooklands
Address: Brooklands Brooklands Priory Lane, Arundel BN18 0BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklands is a 19 century barn conversion and we offer self catering accommodation with panoramic views of the Arun Valley and Arundel Castle. We have a private indoor heated swimming pool, with private gardens and parking with free wifi, quality linen and towels and Temple Spa toiletries are all provided, for an exclusive relaxing stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing