We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Christmas Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay Tree

The Bay Tree
Ranked #9 of 54 Restaurants in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best Christmas Lunch”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We decided in August, whilst laying on the beach on holiday that this Christmas we would like to eat out, for the first time.
Having received confirmation that they would open, we were delighted.
All homemade, pre starter cream of Asparagus & Rocket soup with asparagus croute and truffle oil. I followed with blue cheese and mulled pear brûlée, served with a Walnut toast. Main course was Char grilled fillet steak cooked to perfection with all the trimmings. A sorbet of sloe gin and blackcurrent gave us a little respite, to make room for Dessert. I chose Black Forest Cheesecake, with dark rich chocolate sauce and cherry ice cream.
There was a great choice, everything was freshly cooked, steaming hot and the staff as always, we're wonderful.
Thank you everyone for a great Christmas lunch and the gifts for the children were an unexpected treat.
Same again next year?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomsonFamily100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    161
    45
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our evening here. Servers were quite young, but were personable and efficient. My tartlet appetizer with Dover sole to follow, were absolutely wonderful - my husband agreed. He reported that his main course was similarly delicious - took his word for it, as nothing in the world could induce me to eat belly pork. Not for me. Lovely building, too. Good loos. Wine slightly warm, but we lingered before pouring it, and it was very warm in there. Will visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RheaSezPieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We went here after reading the trip adviser review from other customers and were not disappointed. Beautiful roast beef, lovely wine and very friendly staff. Our dog was well looked after in the garden as well! Highly recommended

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Will361977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this restaurant, the welcome we received on entering was just the start to a lovely evening. The staff could not be more helpful and the food was divine I recommend trying the six hour pork belly you won't be disappointed. Tony & Debbie

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Visited this little gem last night with friends for a girlie pre Christmas night out. Atmosphere is lovely in this restaurant, staff are courteous and look after you well. The food? Absolutely.delicious from starters to sweet. The Belly Pork was delicious, my sister had the lamb and commented on how it melted in her mouth. Well worth a visit if you are in Arundel. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Tree also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to The Bay Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing