We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first-class experience in all respects.”

Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 570 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“A first-class experience in all respects.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Tea at Coombe Abbey was a most pleasurable experience. I understand that a new menu was in place and we were asked for our comments by the very attentive lady in charge. The food was first-class, with three finger sandwiches and a small bagel-all different tasty fillings, with a variety of cakes and a scone, the like of which I have never tasted before-freshly baked and still warm. This was served with cream and jam, and we were offered more if required. A lemon posset cleared the pallet, and teapots were refreshed on request. The staff were very attentive, coming past frequently to check and always with a ready smile. I simply don't understand the negative comments, although we were told that things are a bit more hectic at the weekends, as the hotel is understandably a popular wedding venue. I cannot recommend the afternoon tea too highly. My wife and I will be returning for an overnight stay in the future as the building is fully deserving of further exploration.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eatonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    195
    95
    43
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced with below par service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I visited with a group of friends for afternoon tea one Saturday afternoon. When we made our reservation approximately one month before our visit we were told a price for afternoon tea. We booked on this basis. When we visited on the day we saw that the price had risen by £1 per head. We pointed out to the waitress that it was more expensive than what we had agreed. She confirmed indeed the price had just gone up but we couldn't have it for the agreed price because we 'had no proof' I.e we could not show them the email as we had no 3G. We did point out that the email would be in their inbox but they were not willing to check; we would have to pay the extra. One pound is one pound it's not the money that annoyed us all but the principle of agreeing one thing, changing it and then refusing to acknowledge the original agreement 'without proof'. It's totally money grabbing and poor customer service especially for a hotel that claims to be top class; like no other. The afternoon tea was nothing special and not worth the money; we got 4 fingers of sandwich each and the fillings were standard packed lunchbox stuff; cheese, egg and the like. I think when you're paying that much for an afternoon tea you expect something a bit special as a filling. The cakes were nice and plentiful but we ran out of jam and cream, neither of which were replenished. We had all ordered different tea and it was not made clear which was which when they were served so we were fishing around in the tea pots to find the tags on the tea bags. The tea was not readily topped up and we ran out of milk. It was not at all what we had been expecting for a group of people looking for a nice treat. A real let down

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruscillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our 2nd time for afternoon tea at Coombe Abbey and again it didn't disappoint. It is a very relaxing and un rushed experience. The staff were great as was the food, we couldn't even eat all the cakes. Drinks either tea or coffee were constantly refilled. The garden room is lovely. Thank you to all staff including the bar man who provided a different even though more expensive glass of wine at no extra cost as the one ordered was not available.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Touch of class”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Adapted for wheelchair users, café and guided tours available. Interesting gift shop and special exhibitions throughout the year. Staff equipped to handle guests well and provide a well cared for service throughout your time at the Restaurant and Hotel. Nicely themed inside the Hotel; hence No Ordinary Hotel.
Pleasant menu choice and Chefs always attentive to customer feedback.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MinnieIslamabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Glorious afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

What an afternoon tea! The room and service were splendid, we were then able to sit in the garden enjoying the sunshine. A very reasonable experience at £13.95. I could say that the sandwiches weren't the best I've ever eaten - a little squashed, but they didn't distract from what was a lovely occasion! would highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsMoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing