We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Experience”

Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 584 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $41
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A Grand Experience”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Family and friends ate a splendid three course dinner time meal in a dedicated room in this large Hotel and Entertainment complex which has retained some of the charm of its past splendor. This was followed by afternoon tea of which there are various choices depending just how hungry you are. Formally an abbey in medieval times its was one that Mr Cromwell knocked about a bit during Henry VIII time. Situated in extensive grounds it is reputed to be haunted with ghostly sites seen on a regular basis. The staff were wonderful and looked after us with enthusiasm throughout the day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveladviser43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    207
    105
    47
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“AFTERNOON TEA”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wow what a place to have an afternoon tea..We arrived at the hotel with plenty of time to spare.As we approached the hotel,are breath was taken away,with all the splender of the Hotel and its grounds.We went to reception.and yet again we were blown away with the interior of the Hotel,very old and in keeping with the age of the Abbey.at the reception we was greeted by a very pleasant young lady,who answered all of our questions with a smile on her face.We were directed to the bar ,where again the staff were very polite and very friendly,we sat with a drink ,and read our papers befor going out to have a wonder around the gardens,we were not disappointed.Our time arrived to have our Tea,Sandwhiches,and Cakes,they just melted in your mouth,and the restaurant staff were second to none.Will we go again.You bet.Fantastic.5 STAR

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phillol_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food good, but the staff let it down.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I just took my mother there for afternoon tea in the conservatory as part of her birthday present. The grounds are beautiful and the setting is stunning, the hotel is very impressive and the conservatory is a pleasant place in which to have afternoon tea. The sandwiches and cakes were fairly good (scones were the highlight - fresh from the oven) but the staff were quite disappointing. To clarify; one female serving was pleasant and polite enough, but several others, all male, were much less accommodating. It was very difficult to catch anyone's eye to ask for service as they rushed about doing not very much while apparently avoiding eye-contact and looking miserable as sin and fairly cross with it. We ordered a glass of champagne each with the lady serving us. Quite some time later a young male member of staff who apparently was in some position of authority came over with a bored expression and said "Just to let you know, we haven't got no champagne." There was no attempt at apology or suggestion of alternatives, he just stood there waiting for us to speak, still with an attitude bordering between apathy and irritation. Not really the customer service you'd expect for a special occasion at such a venue.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel, restaurant and grounds, need to book in advance”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went here for afternoon tea with family and as a treat for our mums. The restaurant was beautiful with lots of origanal features. We were seated in the conservatory which was very busy but the tables are placed well apart so didn't feel cramped. The afternoon tea had a lovely selection of sandwiches, fruit scones cream tea, rocky road, victoria sponge, choux buns and macaroons. The scones were divine!!! There was also a good selection of tea's. I stuck to the breakfast tea as I'm not keen on flavoured tea, green tea or Earl Grey, de caf available too. My mum tried the 'Lemon and Ginger' tea and enjoyed it. We were told that we could try different teas if we wanted, we asked for a second pot of tea each, this was included in the set price. After we had eaten we went for a stroll around the gardens and also visited the visitor centre to find out about the history of Coombe Abbey.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect sunday lunch in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Enjoyable and tasty Sunday lunch with all the trimmings in a good location with interesting architecture. Service could not be faulted and prices were very reasonable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjemtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing