We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Browns - CLOSED

Browns
Cuisines: American, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Seating
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I visited Browns for the first time whilst in Coventry on business.......we looked at trip advisor where there was favorable reviews for the restaurant, unfortunately the reviews didn't live up to the reality. The staff were unfriendly, 16 of us were pointed in the direction of our pre booked table, no menus given and no explanation of how to order. When I inquired I was told the menu was the rather large blackboard on the wall and to order at the bar.....16 of us were stood in front of the blackboard then queued up at the bar to order......not a good experience...and the food was average when it came! In future we will be going somewhere else when in Coventry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    34
    19
    6
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really grumpy staff but good coffee”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Called in for a Saturday morning coffee. I don't think the the barmaid could have been more unfriendly. The coffee was good but I won't be rushing back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CovCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent vegan food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Love the atmosphere and the vegan food options. Very good choice and plenty offered. Always recommend friends to go here and even meet up with vegan friends here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulStim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I went to browns for the first time looking forward to a nice meal as I've heard good things. I went for the Garlic Prawn Linguine as this is my favourite.

I was very disappointed when my meal arrived. I was expecting this dish to be cooked in some sort of sauce for flavour, example a tomato base.

It literally was pasta, prawns and garlic in OIL. flavourless, it felt like I was eating just a bowl of pasta and oil. Tastless. My meal looked the same when I finished as it did when I first had it.

I didn't touch it and was not even asked why. I will not be going back here for a meal ever.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Daisie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Appalling in every way - do not eat here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I am quite broad minded about food and customer service and understand that perfection is not always possible. However this is in a league of its own for the worst food I have ever had the misfortune to eat and to add to that, terrible service. The food was cold and inedible. The staff are curt and when trying to be jovial, you are met with a cold, mocking stare. Further, whilst attempting to eat I saw quite a few spiders. Therefore do not waste your money as the basics are so lacking it is really quite unbelievable it is still in business.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rater186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing