We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Red

China Red
Ranked #243 of 564 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to celebrate my son's 16th birthday and we were a party of four. The service was prompt and efficient, but a little cold and unfriendly. The food was good and, although I know traditional Chinese cuisine stretches a small amount of meat with a lot of vegetables, I thought the amount of meat we got with our dishes was on the low side considering the cost per head of £14.60. The dishes also had a sameness about them, although that could have been because we mixed too many different ones. Drinks were expensive, £3.20 for a pint of tasteless lager and £2.60 for pints of soft drinks. The acid test: would we go back a again? We wouldn't not go, but for the next time we want a Chinese meal we will probably try the newly refurbished Wing Wah on the Fletchampstead Highway.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    15
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible service wasn't even busy!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went out on a works do for 8 tonight. We were ignored from the minute we got there. The waiter did not understand most of what we were asking for. We ordered crispy duck starter and ran out of pancakes we asked for more twice so that we could finish the duck but they never materialised??? We had to wait 30-40 minutes to order next course even though we were virtually the only people in the restaurant. Drink refills - forget it!!! Food was decent but to pay £18 service charge for a service that was substandard is a waste of money! I will not go there again. The bill was also wrong and the manager was very rude when questioned about it. And I'm not usually one to complain but feel ripped off tonight!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ebwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Visited on a Saturday evening at 18:30 with my girlfriend. Order for starters was taken promptly and arrived 10/15 minutes later. We ordered 4 different starters between us and both enjoyed them.

Then it came to ordering some main dishes....

Again the waitress quite promptly arrived and took our orders and all seemed fine. That was until 45 MINUTES later, another waiter came over and informed us that there had been a "mix up in the kitchen" and our order had some how not made it into the kitchen!

We were offered a free drink on the house and i was more than happy to accept this offer as i had visited here before and knew how good the food could be.

Our mains arrived within 10 minutes and we quickly ate them. We then sat back waiting for the waitress to come back and take our next order - as this was after all an all you can eat buffet. The waitress came back some time later and took ONE plate off the table leaving another 5 or 6 still sitting there.

That was the last we saw of her!

We waited for another 20 minutes but still no one came over.

At this point we got up and left and i had the pleasure of meeting the manager. Lets just say he isn't a people person..... He wouldn't even give me eye contact whilst i spoke to him. By the time i had told him our issues he had our bill on the plate and simply said "What do you want me to do, i gave you a drink".

I really wasn't looking for money off or vouchers etc.. Any respectable manager who cared about his restaurant would take my criticisms regarding customer service and use them to help further develop their staff.

Overall it was hugely disappointing and i fear that i only enjoyed my first visit due to it being a work xmas party as we struggled to count how many bottles of Tsingtao beer we drank between us!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJCC90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I visited China Red, not Chine Red as listed, with my husband at lunch-time, the restaurant was empty except for 2 Chinese girls. We ordered soup which was good, followed by chicken stir fry, a rise dish & a beef curry. The beef curry was awful, virtually all fat which we couldn't eat. The meal was expensive. The staff were pleasant & efficient but we wouldn't return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coventrylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have been here in the past and really enjoyed it. In the past we couldn't rate it high enough. Unfortunately we went last Friday. We waited 20 minutes before a waitress came and asked us if we were ready to order, we said we were, and she walked off, presumably to get a pad to take the order. We were left sitting there for several minutes later before we walked out. A totally disappointing experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Red also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to China Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing