We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd time visiting each time fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turmeric Gold

Turmeric Gold
Ranked #6 of 564 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $47
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Turmeric Gold, an award winning restaurant, has been serving great Indian food with a healthy twist for over a decade in the beautiful, historic surrounding of a 700 year old cottage going back to the 13th century. Come and enjoy good food in the charm of our luxury historic setting .Turmeric Gold has been showered with many accolades and awards for customer service and good food, with excellent selection of wines and beers, spirits and champagne.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“3rd time visiting each time fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have earn here three times, the staff are fabulous and the food is first class, a little more expensive than standard Indian restaurant but this is far from a standard Indian, a must visit if you are in the area. We will be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cvh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,132
    266
    109
    53
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian we've ever been to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I realize this review is suspiciously glowing, but it’s genuine review from someone who loves Indian food. I've never reviewed anything on TripAdvisor before, but I really feel this place deserves every customer they get.

My girlfriend and I were pretty lost in Coventry one evening (we’re from London) and ended up asking a couple of policemen for restaurant recommendations; they sent us to Turmeric Gold. We went in expecting a bog-standard Indian meal, and were completely blown away. The atmosphere is good, and the service is excellent, but the food is totally exceptional. This is by far the best Indian we've ever been to - anywhere. Every dish we ordered (we came back the next evening to sample more) was exquisite – above and beyond anything we've had previously. The staff clearly put quality and originality above any other considerations.

We came back the following day without booking and had to wait for a table as it was so busy, but it was well worth it. Prices are a little higher than a normal Indian but that’s only to be expected – the food is fantastic, the presentation is excellent, the portions generous, and the whole experience makes all other Indian restaurants pale into insignificance.

Just go, and you'll soon see what I mean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan_McLeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Really lovely food, with a friendly service and accommodating staff. Food is well priced for the quality which is exceptional

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hja1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal, nice decor and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The title says it all really. Impossible to fault anything about this restaurant. Make sure you book early though. We went on a Wednesday night and the place was still humming with people.
We will definitely be going again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Curly-Finch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Food!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Visited Tumeric Gold with a few of the lads whilst working away in Coventry. To sum my experience up ... It was great... Friendly Staff... Great Food at a Very Reasonable price considering the quality of the dishes... I will defiantly visit again if in the area... CHEERS.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turmeric Gold also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Turmeric Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing