We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambiance and good food - well worth a visit”
Review of Turmeric Gold

Turmeric Gold
Ranked #5 of 581 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $47
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Turmeric Gold, an award winning restaurant, has been serving great Indian food with a healthy twist for over a decade in the beautiful, historic surrounding of a 700 year old cottage going back to the 13th century. Come and enjoy good food in the charm of our luxury historic setting .Turmeric Gold has been showered with many accolades and awards for customer service and good food, with excellent selection of wines and beers, spirits and champagne.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance and good food - well worth a visit”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited this restaurant having looked at trip advisor reviews and found that the positive reviews already recorded provided an accurate reflection of the service, food quality and atmosphere in this lovely restaurant. As two female business travellers we were given a warm welcome and only had to wait a couple of minutes before being shown to our table. Our initial reaction was how wonderfully warm and cosy the restaurant was with clever interior decor complementing the more traditional but quirky shape of the building. We were not disappointed by the food which was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. The service was excellent with the waiting staff looking after us well and leaving sufficient time between courses so that we weren't rushed. Overall a very enjoyable dining out experience and one which I'd happily recommend..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,174
    286
    112
    56
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, friendly restaurant”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I visited here with 2 colleagues recently whilst in Coventry. The restaurant was warm and very welcoming and set in beautiful, characterful building.

The service was spot on. We all had a starter and a main course and the food was good however my order of tikka masala was a little watery and the lamb shashlick for starter was a bit fatty. My colleagues both enjoyed their meals and would recommend the restaurant. We'll visit again when in town

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best ive ever tasted!!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband had been a year ago & told me he had had the best indian meal so we had the opportunity to stay in Coventry last night & we both went...what can i say he wasnt fibbing!! Fantastic food Excellent service too its a shame it would be a 600 mile round trip or i would be there every week lol

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a nice enough restaurant in Spon St, the best tables are the Maharaja and Maharina ones which can be curtained off from the rest of the restaurant. Food was pretty average I'm sorry to say. Apparently though, the building is haunted, and well known for that!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank anney-marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm, warming and welcoming restaurant”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I visited Turmeric Gold on a cold October evening as a business traveller, eating alone. I was greeted by a very warm welcome, and recognition that I was dining alone with an offer of some magazines as reading material. The decor is great and the atmosphere (thanks in part to the lovely building) is really good, even when the place is half-full. The service was very good, and attentive but not overbearing. The food (almost forgot!) was also very good - strong taste and spices, without the excess of fat often found. Prices were very slightly higher than average but worth it for all of the above reasons. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GuidoSorrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turmeric Gold also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Turmeric Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing