We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's even a Vulcan bomber”
Review of Midland Air Museum

Midland Air Museum
Ranked #7 of 76 things to do in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Baildon
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“There's even a Vulcan bomber”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Lots of British and American planes. The museum starts inside and then moves outside where you can climb into a Vulcan bomber and a large transport plane. Ex-pilots give an informative and friendly talk inside the planes. Good for enthusiasts and novices alike

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank briangBaildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    134
    21
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good way to spend couple hours”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

This was another Dad & son visit here, son is now 6, we go annually as each year he's ready to learn notice something else.
He loves the been able to touch things, sitting in the Meteor cockpit and having an adventure is is favourite. For me the staff that sit in the Argosy & Vulcan with you and bring things to life are the highlight.

Nice there is a new addition in the Tornado this year.

The cafe is a simple affair but I think thats right the effort/energy goes elsewhere.

Well done to the team which run this place I imagine it hinges on a lot of volunteer work.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 641GXP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hands on air museum”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

What a super day, despite the ageing of the aircraft the hand on and climb on opportunities made this a real museum not all films and buttons.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
349 reviews
287 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is a great museum - it hasn't tried to become 'modern' and is better as a result - models, good explanations and interesting dioramas complement a superb collection of aircraft. Being able to climb up into the cockpit of a Vulcan Bomber and being able to explore the Argosy are two experiences that few other air museums offer as part of the admission fee. Friendly staff and an excellent guide in the Vulcan.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPeterDRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Memories”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Had been here before with my father many years ago. He died in april and while we were in Coventry we popped in. a very enjoyable day we had. Very informative worth a look

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KimB230280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midland Air Museum also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Midland Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing