We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get your hands on a vulcan bomber!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midland Air Museum

Midland Air Museum
Ranked #6 of 64 things to do in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Get your hands on a vulcan bomber!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is at first glance a bit of a ramshackle collection of aircraft but then you get into what this museum is all about. As an ex Air cadet and allways wanted to be a pilot but never got the chance, I was in heaven, climbing into a range of cockpits from Hunters to Meteors and then into one of the few Avro Vulcans. Hands on and sit in! It was the home I always wanted! Seeing the parts of ex USAF phantoms waiting to be put back together and on display, for me it was so much better than seeing feature films or documentaries. You can touch and feel the history and with a little imagination you can be part of it. It made a fifty something man feel like a teenager again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank daddycoolKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    130
    21
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A really interesting little museum kids love it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Although a classic ramshackle collection of aircraft and aircraft paraphenalia it is a really interesting museum and many of the volunteers restoring the aircraft are very knowledgeable ex aviation engineers and enthusiastic recalling the days when they were building the aircraft

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good Planes and interesting 2 hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I was expecting this to be a quick browse through a few planes and exhibits but I spent an hour in the jet engine display before I had got any where near any planes. The planes were awesome: I was blown away by the Vulcan. Instead of a 45 minute walk through I must have been there with my teenage son for 2 and half hours, absolutely engrossed in the history of Coventry's aircraft industry and seeing the planes built at Baginton or just collected. Great value, and the people that run it know their stuff without being boring!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank alan b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what a place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

its great that we can go and see the times past as its a great day out for the kids to learn about planes and how they have changed over the years

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fancy a Historical Trip to Aircrafts. The right place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Excellent place to go where you can spend time with the lovely crew they have at the museum. They took us to the old fighter Avro Vulcan B.2 and showed it inside out and explained it in detail.
Very conveniently located and very reasonably priced entry.
Not a very exciting cafe there, but hey, who needs a cafe in a short trip.
Plus, plenty of grounds where you could do a little picnic if the weather's in your favour.

Must say, the veterans over there are just awesome people guiding around what to look and mentioning the history behind it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Purav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midland Air Museum also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Midland Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing