We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barnacle Hall
Nearby Hotels
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$72
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$44
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Jacobean Hotel(Coventry)(Great Value!)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
119
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb boak beamsbed and breakfastseparate private bathroomlittle extrashappily stay here againspacious roomone nightfull englishexcellent staytwo nightsbarnacleshostscenturiesconveniencemotorwaynec
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 123 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

A lovely place to stay with a warm welcome and a fantastic old building. The prices are very reasonable and Barnacle Hall is just a little way out of Coventry which makes it very restful. Breakfast is it should be - full English and cooked to order. I cannot recommend it highly enough and I stayed in the room with the bathroom downstairs - no great hardship.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodfanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGrindal, Owner at Barnacle Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for the lovely comments. We are ideally located for anyone wishing to stay in a restful,rural area when working in or visiting Coventry. We are only 3 miles from J2 M6 and The Ansty Business Park,Cross Point and The Walsgrave Triangle, all within a 10 minute drive from here.
The room mentioned in the review has a separate,private bathroom and is £40 per night single occupancy, this includes a substantial breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed at Barnacle Hall the night before an interview in Ryton. I stayed in the single room with a private bathroom.
The bedroom was immaculate with a really comfortable bed complete with extra pillows and blankets if needed, with all the facilities that you may need such as tea and coffee and a TV.
The private bathroom was just down the stairs and again spotlessly clean; with all the little extras you might need, shower gel and bubble bath etc.
The breakfast was beautifully served with plenty of choice of fresh fruits, toast and juices.
Rose really welcomes you and provides a real quality service, and fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGrindal, Owner at Barnacle Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm glad someone has drawn attention to the fact that we are competitively priced whilst maintaining high standards in all aspects of the accommodation. If you require peace and quiet when preparing for an interview this is the place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

a great place, a little outside of Coventry. Convenient for courses at the hospital. A beautiful property, exceptionally clean and well maintained. Superb breakfast. Would certainly visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGrindal, Owner at Barnacle Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for the lovely comments. I always think it is most important when you stay away from home to have a very clean room and a good breakfast. We are only 10 minutes away from The University Hospital at Coventry so if you are on a course,working there or visiting a patient it is easy to get there. Our bed & breakfast is in a rural setting so when you get back from the hospital you can enjoy peace and quiet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

What a great place in every way:

* rooms massive - very comfy bed, very clean and quiet meaning great night sleep.
* building - very interesting mainly 17th century I think and very good location.
* breakfast - everything you want from full English, fruit, yogurt, etc..
* price - wow! Have spent 3 to 4 this amount in other hotels and B&B's and have not been as good as barnacle hall.
* Service - 10/10! Rose is great very attentive and makes sure you have good stay, lots of recommendations on were to go for food etc.. Thanks! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dibeach125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGrindal, Owner at Barnacle Hall, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for the lovely comments it certainly brightens up an otherwise stormy December day. I would like to take this opportunity to wish every that has stayed with us over the past 12 months a Very Merry Christmas and a Happy and Healthy New Year.Perhaps some of you will make a return visit in 2014, you will be made most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have just had the pleasure of staying at Barnacle hall for 2 nights, it was everything that the other reviewers have said.
A beautiful property, Rose was not only a great host, she was passionate about her B&B and the local area, which shone through when talking to her.
Breakfast was excellent, rooms were very well appointed and its only 10 minutes from junction 2 of the M6.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGrindal, Owner at Barnacle Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

It is good to hear that we came up to your expectations.We always strive to do our best.Our aim is to make this a friendly relaxing place to stay.I very much appreciate the comments especially as they were written by a fellow b&b owner who knows exactly what is expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews