We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely secluded setting, eye-catching building”
Review of Barnacle Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coventry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barnacle Hall
Ranked #1 of 26 Coventry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Arriving mid evening with the surroundings covered in snow added a certain charm to a very welcoming building. The 18th century hall has been tastefully modernised inside to retain the key period features, such as wooden beams and sizeable log fireplaces, but ensuring that comfort and the facilities you'd expect from a B&B/hotel are retained. The hosts were friendly and happy to work around our requirements, and it proved a very quiet place to stay given the limited number of rooms. Drawbacks, if you want to be picky, are that it is out on a limb (around one mile to the nearest small village with basic facilities, i.e. a pub/restaurant) and is difficult to access without a car due to being isolated from the nearby bus routes (which are infrequent). The mattress was a little tired in one of the two rooms we hired, whilst the shower in the other room proved to be somewhat erratic, running cold for several minutes while warming up, and shooting water out into the bathroom whilst checking the temperature. You also have to be fairly trusting because the rooms can only be locked with a small latch from the inside due to the need to retain historic features such as the wooden doors, but it felt a very safe place and the family offers a chance to lock valuables in a safe area if you're going out.

Room Tip: The nearby Shilton Arms pub is the most logical option for a nearby meal, and normally offers two fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allez_Lensois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 120 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

This a delightful farm based B&B with huge amounts of charm and very well run by owners Rose and Dave. We stayed just one night but left on first name terms having been made most welcome to this 18th Century property. Situated in rural farmland, which we saw covered in snow, it is very well located for communications being close to the M6, M69 and the Ricoh Arena in Coventry.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessGiftSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Staying around warwickshire - its a stunning house- warm cosy people. Ever so helpfull and charming. Huge rooms - affordable . Rose and her husband make all their guests feel just - really welcome
Regards chris

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotrubber007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very comfortable and spacious room in lovely surroundings. About 15 minutes from the city centre.
A good nights sleep, great breakfast and a host that caters to your every need.
Just up the road in Shiton there's a decent pub/restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gramareste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I had a 4 day stay here and I was made very welcome by Rose and enjoyed my stay thoroughly
The place is spotlessly clean and there are many thoughtful touches in the rooms.
Bedrooms are large,comfortable and spacious.
Good local knowledge from Rose helped me find some good local places to eat at
A really good breakfast every morning set me up for the day
Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Lovely clean spacious room; fresh milk ready for us each evening when we got back ( no fighting with silly little cartons!); delicious breakfasts cooked to order; Rose is a superb host; all topped off with views across the garden with woodpeckers and goldcrest - what more could you want!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryHLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stay at this fantastic Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast establishment twice per year and I have to say it is THE BEST.
Nothing is too much trouble for the owner.The bedroom is clean,spacious and very comfortable and the breakfast is superb.Always a good selection of cereals,fruit and juices and the cooked breakfast is first class.
A quiet location,which is a must if you have had a particularly long day on the road or working at the nearby Birmingham NEC which ,incidentally, is only 25 minutes away.I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
5.0 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
587 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
1,278 reviews
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,041 reviews
6.2 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,427 reviews
2.5 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacle Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacle Hall

Address: Barnacle Hall Farm Shilton Lane | Shilton, Coventry CV7 9LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Coventry
Price Range: $55 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnacle Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing