We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal city hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Second visit. Facilities very comfortable, more than adequate. Staff all very pleasant, food and service in restaurant excellent. Hiccup at breakfast, too many people arrived at same time - but with all staff pulling together, order was soon restored. Would certainly recommend, and intend going again next year.

Room Tip: Have stayed 2nd and 7th floor, cannot advise any preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SuitcaseReadyDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Centrally located, it's a good choice for visitors to Coventry. It's a generic hotel, with facilities, decor and general cleanliness varying depending on a type of room. As I wasn't paying for my room, I can't really complain, and to be honest, it was really OK (it was one of the standard doubles). Clean - no dirt or stains spotted, rather spacious, comfy bed, complimentary tea tray (which was a God-sent after my long trip), ironing board and iron (something that a business traveller will appreciate).

What I disliked: the windows didn't open and the air-con wasn't effective at all, so it was hot and stuffy in the room (I came in June, when it was nice and warm outside). The shower didn't want to cooperate either, with only too hot water running.

A big thank you to the chefs (especially my compatriots) for whipping up really good breakfast every morning! Good choice of bread, full English breakfast option, delicious Scottish oatmeal etc. I usually tire of hotel buffet breakfast fare after 1-2 days, here I enjoyed it until the very end.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malina_z_lublina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights in a suite in Ramada Coventry, spacious suite with a nice view.
Lounge sofas need renovation or deep cleaning, bathroom is ok but must be supplied with more soap, shampoo, etc.

Hotel location close to train station, downtown, and shops.
A nice stay and value for money.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Traveler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The full price for a double room is £199. I sincerely hope no one ever pays this or this hotel as it most certainly sub-standard. I paid £85 and even that seems excessive.

Very tired decor, grubby & poor cleaning e.g. Coffee stains on wall, stain on curtain, dirt in the shower door seal, dirty window, lifts very dirty and smelling of cigarette smoke.

The air com was sluggish and I could barely notice that it was on, and the bed is on wheels, so when you sit up in bed, it shoots away from the wall!

On the plus, the reception lady was very nice, professional and helpful. I also had free wifi working on an iPhone, iPad and laptop simultaneously but saying that, wifi was very slow.

I wouldn't expect to pay anymore that £50 for this room, judging by others places I've stayed in similar areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodiMbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Everyone is really friendly here. The reception staff and restaurant staff are all happy and smiley, but this masks the fact that the rest of the place is pretty second rate. The rooms and decor is tired and very hot and took an hour or so to get the room temp down from roasting to bearable.
Room is OK but not much better than a travel lodge.
breakfast was truly dire. All the food had been out for ages. If you want anything fresh you need to get there early or else be prepared for everything being warm and just kept under a hotplate for 3 hours.
Would I stay here again? not for the price! and they need to make some serious upgrades and get a decent chef who will cook as people are there rather than bung out a whole load of overcooked food and think that its good enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank bcbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have been a regular guest of this hotel for over a year now and have stayed 10+ nights.

Given the awful treatment I was given today, I thought it was about time that I wrote a review about my experience as a regular guest.

The location is great, especially for myself as you can walk to the train station in 5 mins. Whilst not in the centre of everything, everything is pretty much on the doorstep plus a few good restaurants and a convenience store. The Turkish restaurant opposite the hotel is certainly worth a visit.

The building is clean and well maintained. The rooms are quite big compared to other hotels and the facilities are of the industry norm for this level of hotel and this has been consistent throughout my stays.

Looking back upon my stays, it is the staff that really make this hotel lose points. It is a 'pot luck'. If you get a good staff member things will go well and if you don't then, things can get worse.

The standard amongst the hotel staff is do what is needed/expected but let's not try go that extra mile, so if your looking for an "experience" then this is not the hotel for you, more of a forgettable time (in the best possible way forgettable can be). If this hotel were a seat on a plane, it would be the middle seat in economy class..... get were I am going with the analogy ?

The staff do there jobs, they are not friendly but, they are also not unfriendly, they do come across to some as a little rude and condescending, especially when you arrive early and they remind you check in is a 2pm (like you did not know that already) but I put that down to the Eastern European "charm".

The primary attraction of this hotel would be for the business traveller, as I mentioned before, no frills amenities, free wifi, close to the city/train station, food outlets close by and good rates.

However when on business. I need flexibility, having travelled long distance by train or wanting to freshen up / shower before heading to a meeting or lunch and knowing that there is no magic button behind reception that staff members press at 2pm and all the rooms magically come available. I would expect the hotel to make an effort (at least) to accommodate to my needs.

Anyone knows, rooms are cleaned and prepared for the next guest as they are vacated meaning rooms come available throughout the day and not all at once at 2pm. So, it always irritates me when there is a fuss about arriving early (especially when a lot of hotels now, like HI, Ibis let there guests check in at 12).

Now in fairness, I generally do arrive early and in the past there have been times were it has been easy to check in but generally there has been a fuss and true as it maybe they may have been fully occupied the night before, however, I was asked to have a coffee and wait.

I waited from just after 11am until 1.30pm all along with them knowing I was there waiting. I think that is unacceptable and incredibly rude plus factor in that I am a regular guest which adds further insult to injury. After 2 and a half hours. I left and went to a competitor hotel.

So, if your a business traveller, on a schedule or require a degree of flexibility or just expect a little recognition I would be hesitant about choosing this hotel.

The final fault is the reservations department, one you have booked a reservation, if you need to change it, it can sometime prove to be complicated. I have asked for reservation date changes and they have not been actioned and also were the date has been changed but the original date kept also resulting in two reservations.

In conclusion, it is a decent hotel, I have been satisfied in the past enough to return but there are elements of bad organisation, poor hospitality and complicating the simplest of tasks.

Room Tip: Higher up has better views. Away from the elevator is always best. If your a non smoker make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
587 reviews
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,427 reviews
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
496 reviews
3.4 mi away
Citrus Hotel Coventry by Compass Hospitality
3.9 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry

Address: Butts | Earlson, Coventry CV1 3GG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#9 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#12 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: $77 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our award winning* Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry.Choose the contemporary four star Ramada Hotel & Suites for home from home luxury in the centre of historic Coventry and Warwickshire. The Hotel is situated just a short 10-minute walk from Coventry rail station, and with flights landing just 11 miles away at Birmingham Airport, you are just a short journey away to perfect relaxation. We're a perfect location to host meetings and events, centrally located with excellent motorway links and 1 hour from London by train. We can cater for up to 100 people in our 4 bright and modern meeting rooms, all fully air conditioned with complimentary wireless internet access. With 166 bedrooms, 44 executive apartment suites & a secure four storey car park available, complimented by our award winning* onsite sustainable Restaurant - 'Stresa', we are the hotel of choice for both business & leisure guests alike. Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry, is located closer to Birmingham's NEC & LG arena than Birmingham City & within a 40 minute drive radius away from the historic towns of Birmingham, Tamworth, Kenilworth, Leamington-Spa, Warwick, Stratford-Upon-Avon and Oxford.* Awards: 2008 Godiva Award Best Hotel, 2011 & 2012 Customer loyalty Award (Wyndham Hotel Group), 2012 Quality breakfast award (Visit Britain), 2016 Gold 2 star champion sustainability award (Sustainable Restaurant Association). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel And Suites Coventry
Ramada Coventry
Coventry Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing